We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow......Luxurious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Colonial Beach & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booking Bonus in DR
Ranked #1 of 42 hotels in Puerto Plata
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Wow......Luxurious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Casa Colonial is a tranquil and cooling place to relax in. IT is neatly tucked-away within the Playa Dorada secured complex on the east side of Puerto Plata. Luxury and tranquility is the order of the day. The decor is white and cream which creates a cooling atmosphere. I had a room overlooking the beach, next to the excellent SPA with its gym, swimming pool and rooftop bar/restaurant and infinity pools.....a great way to look out on the Atlantic Ocean and up the coast. The hotel is small so no great noisy crowds swarming around like in many of the AI hotels on Playa Dorada.

The beach is on the doorstep with its white sand, palm and grape trees providing shade.....uncrowded and with extensive security ensuring no hassles from the few hawkers who parade the beach selling their wares......but they do not bother you.

The staff are very attentive and make sure you can relax and take things easy during your stay....very professional in all respects. I would say that staff probably outnumber guests (that was certainly the case or so it seemed during my two-day stay).

My bedroom was massive (no exaggeration) with an excellent and very comfortable four-poster bed (generally cream linens with dark hardwood and tiled floors throughout). A large bathroom and balcony overlooking the ocean.

Now the food is excellent in the restaurant. I enjoyed the Lobster a la Plancha served on a risotto of mango and coconut.......wow! Even the spiced roast pumpkin soup that I started with had its own unique and delightful taste and aroma.

I just know I am coming back to the Casa Colonial......for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent vacation with us! We were thrilled to hear that you were pleased with our guest rooms, pool, restaurants, but more importantly, with the level customer service you received. We are very proud of our staff and it is always nice to receive such kind remarks for their efforts - we will be sure to share them during our next staff meeting. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    48
    11
    13
    12
See reviews for
43
222
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We loved every minute of our time at this beautiful, quiet, private place. We were pampered from the moment we arrived. The buildings and grounds are spectacular and meticulously maintained. The room was wonderful, large and open with a balcony looking over the beach. The pool area is breathtaking. The staff was friendly, accommodating and professional, and they capably walked the fine line between being extremely attentive and allowing privacy. The food was excellent regardless of where we ate - in the restaurant, on the veranda, and poolside. The beach was scenic and fairly private. Everything about the facility was of the highest quality. (We did not take advantage of the spa.) We made a reservation here almost by accident, but we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beach-side rooms have the best view, although the trees block some of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service and we will certainly pass on your compliments! This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Casa Colonial very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Please read my full review here http://archerabi.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/dominican-republic-2/

We stayed at a resort called Casa Colonial. The resort is designed like a colonial villa and is located right on the beach. It is located, along with many other resorts in a walled area called Playa Dorado. The Playa contains everything a tourist would need for the duration of their stay, including a pharmacy, restaurants, shopping center etc. Pulling up at the entrance one will immediately realize that this resort is a class above every other resort in Puerto Plata

Room Tip: Oceanfront Lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved the dining room and chef John Carlos(spelling may be wrong).Being there at low season gave us the advantage of speaking with him each night for recommendations and what wonderful dishes they were,both delicious and presented beautifully.He is a very talented chef.We dined looking out at a gorgeous garden with orchids winding around a tree outside the window.We also enjoyed the breakfast/lunch restaurant on a deck overlooking the beach and the ocean.Ramon,Noel and Augustin were friendly,competent servers and made it very pleasant.At both restaurants,since everything is cooked to order,prepare to enjoy the ambience and conversation.
The suite we stayed in was lovely and comfortable.The service was excellent.The beach is beautifully maintained and security is always present.I enjoy beach shopping so the occasional vendor was not problematic.Being a beach person,I spent no time at the pool but it is stunning and the view from the roof is delightful.
The biggest negative we encountered was that the resort is not well set-up for those with a walking disability.There are a number of 2 or 3 step staircases and these do not have banisters.The ramps are too steep too walk with a cane or walker.However,the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback and we will definitely pass along your comments to Chef Giancarlo Fiori. You are correct that the hotel is not set up for guests with disabilities, and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused, but we are pleased to hear that the staff was able to provide assistance. We certainly hope be able to welcome back to Casa Colonial again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Casa Colonial has the right recipe - great design, superb service, dedicated staff, top line products (Frette bedding/robes), and fantastic location. Upon arrival, your welcome sets the stage for a truly relaxing and indulging getaway. This is the type of small, boutique property that pays close attention to every detail and truly wants to satisfy its guests. The hotel management is very visible throughout the property - welcoming and engaging guests. Basilia, the GM, is a lovely individual who truly cares and expects the very best of her staff to ensure that guests and the hotel are well tended to. Casa Colonial really takes the guess work out of booking taxis (done and charged by hotel), finding tours and restaurants. There's top shelf offering at all bars with very well trained bartenders ready to pour a delicious drink. The beach area is impeccably maintained offering very comfortable cushioned teak chairs with uniformed staff monitoring your needs and keep tight security on the property's beach perimeter. Yes, you still get the local vendors - but they don't linger as much. At night, security is heightened even more to offer guests the opportunity to enjoy a moonlit stroll on the beach. The food was delicious - albeit the service is sometimes a bit slow - you know Caribbean time.
Our room - ocean front junior suite - offered all the luxurious amenities that we love and the balcony was large enough to relax and offered comfy seating areas. It was perfect for two adults and a child. The soaking tub was enjoyed by all! Nightly water/ice and cookies service was that special treat that brought a smile to our faces before going to bed.
Our only suggestion is for Casa Colonial to consider adding a large, comfy game room area of some sort - like offer board and table games so that visiting families can enjoy a bit of a break. It would be truly lovely if this hotel offered a top notch kids' club so parents can enjoy a quiet early dinner or lunch on their own.
We cannot wait to return and spend time here. Thank you for making our stay so special! See you again soon!

Room Tip: The best are ocean front junior suites.. but the garden views are also quite lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Four of us stayed here in two beautiful rooms over looking the ocean. We all loved the place. The spa was wonderful, the dinner at the restaurant was amazing and the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel make this a place where we are sure to return. Unlike other people, we had no problem with the wifi...I was able to watch March Madness on my slingbox from home.

As a tip, if you are dining at the restaurant on premises, get the mushroom risotto and the ahi tuna tartar. Both are fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I last stayed here in 2008 and had a very enjoyable holiday. Returning is not always a good idea. Next door to this hotel is somewhat cheaper all inclusive that have a late night special on the beach on a Friday night. Very very noisy and it goes on late. The Internet connection as others have remarked is poor at best. The staff in the breakfast room and the dining room were absolutely lovely and did everything they could to please. On the dining room menu it would be good to have some simple options, but if you do ask they are prepared for you. I found the cost of dinner including the 28 per cent taxes up there with London prices which Is surprising.

I had a room adjacent to the swimming pool which is a roof top situation. It was fine for the first few days, and then one had the joy of children's beach balls landing on the balcony, knocking over a glass of wine. An apology would have been good but not forthcoming.

In general I found the hotel to be clean but just beginning to show signs of shabbiness. The robes in my bedroom were well past their sell by date.

The Spa was as good as ever and for this reason alone I have marked up my general feelings about this particular hotel. I was due to stay longer,but checked out early and no, I will not be back. It's probably fine for a long weekend and no more.

About me, I am someone who travels the world frequently and am fortunate enough to do so in style.......this place is not value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid room 43 like the plague - next door to the swimming pool, and probably as close as you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are so sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We take our guest feedback extremely seriously, so we looked into what might have caused these issues so that we can ensure they are not repeated. Our neighbor hotel, The Barcelo, did have a party one evening and following your call, we did contact them immediately to request they contain the noise. Our records show that you were offered a room change and an upgrade, but that you opted to stay in your suite. We would also like to ensure you that our robes are all brand new, having all been replaced in January. Our staff did try their utmost to help you have an unforgettable vacation, and again, we do apologize that your stay with us was not everything it should have been. We do hope you will return to the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.