We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Colonial Beach & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
DR Early Booking Bonus
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Second visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I last stayed here in 2008 and had a very enjoyable holiday. Returning is not always a good idea. Next door to this hotel is somewhat cheaper all inclusive that have a late night special on the beach on a Friday night. Very very noisy and it goes on late. The Internet connection as others have remarked is poor at best. The staff in the breakfast room and the dining room were absolutely lovely and did everything they could to please. On the dining room menu it would be good to have some simple options, but if you do ask they are prepared for you. I found the cost of dinner including the 28 per cent taxes up there with London prices which Is surprising.

I had a room adjacent to the swimming pool which is a roof top situation. It was fine for the first few days, and then one had the joy of children's beach balls landing on the balcony, knocking over a glass of wine. An apology would have been good but not forthcoming.

In general I found the hotel to be clean but just beginning to show signs of shabbiness. The robes in my bedroom were well past their sell by date.

The Spa was as good as ever and for this reason alone I have marked up my general feelings about this particular hotel. I was due to stay longer,but checked out early and no, I will not be back. It's probably fine for a long weekend and no more.

About me, I am someone who travels the world frequently and am fortunate enough to do so in style.......this place is not value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid room 43 like the plague - next door to the swimming pool, and probably as close as you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are so sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We take our guest feedback extremely seriously, so we looked into what might have caused these issues so that we can ensure they are not repeated. Our neighbor hotel, The Barcelo, did have a party one evening and following your call, we did contact them immediately to request they contain the noise. Our records show that you were offered a room change and an upgrade, but that you opted to stay in your suite. We would also like to ensure you that our robes are all brand new, having all been replaced in January. Our staff did try their utmost to help you have an unforgettable vacation, and again, we do apologize that your stay with us was not everything it should have been. We do hope you will return to the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    47
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
43
226
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was by far the most relaxing vacation we have had. From the minute you walk in the door they make it very clear they are there to take care of you. The rooms are fabulous, the service was good (need a little quicker resonse to americans in need of coffee in the AM). Emanual and Junior are great and ready to get you anything you need. Although the menu was small we never laked choices and it was always delightful. The beach was spacious and security on the beach made sure you were safe, even if you wondered out at odd hours of the night. The rooms and the grounds were always spotless and quite.
I do think food/beverages were a bit over priced, it was more like you were on a beach in California. The web site also states that you can "enjoy the grounds at the sister resort down the beach" however when we arrived no one seemed to know what we were refering to.
The spa was wonderful, lots of services and great staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your feedback with our team, including your suggestion about faster coffee. Your observation about food prices is correct - food prices across the Caribbean have increased, and we try and help guests offset these vacation costs by offering exemplary service. We very much look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel and the service are among the very best!
We stayed for a week there. The beach and its views were spectacular, although the sea is not as clear as others in the Caribbean.
The design and care for the details shows throughout the premises in every corner, from the generous spaces to the halls and common areas.
The restaurant and its chef are great. The management is doing something that is very difficult to achieve. People that are truly into making the experience unforgettable.
The only negative point for us was that we wanted to be near a town to be able to walk around it and see the charm of its culture. Not here, Puerto Plata is very poor and unkept. Cabarete is worth a visit if you insist on going somewhere.
Furthermore, the area surrounding the hotel has decayed significantly and the hotels that are still open are less than average all inclusive. Many other buildings are abandoned or closed.
In short, a truly world class hotel. Just don't leave it during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed the resort and the restaurant. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef and the rest of team. Casa Colonial is truly an ‘oasis’ in the Puerto Plata area, and there are some wonderful things to do and see in the area, but we do recommend you explore on a guided tour. We certainly hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Let me start by saying they are on the wrong island, you travel to the DR for the value the place is a little cocky the average salary in the DR is $200 per month.the average rent is $140 per month. Great place, great food, great service, everything is great..... except the price they think that they are in NYC i am a firm believer in you get what you pay for but they are a bit out of line, this is a person that made 1.2 million last year.as a repeat customer they wanted 100,000 pesos for 8 day stay that's like $320 us a night for a normal room nothing included. at least make it all inclusive, they charged me for coffee:)

Room Tip: i loved the main building unless you want ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love staying at the Casa Colonial. It is an oasis in the midst of all the all-inclusives. It is luxurious and quiet. This stay we had an ocean front junior suite on the second floor. The rooms are enormous and have every creature comfort. The orchids in the gardens are gorgeous. The entire property is spotless and welcoming. Manuel and Jr. are so polite and helpful at the front door. The guards on the beach keep the vendors away that pester you consistently at the other resort beaches which allows you to unwind even more. We actually would give this resort a 4.95 and not a 4. The only thing keeping it from a 5 is the internet access is terrible and has been intermittent at best both stays. This time the hair dryer also had a rotten rubber grip on it that got sticky stuff on your hands. Other than that it is above and beyond any other resort in the D.R.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Oceanfront on the second level seems to be the best value, view, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are pleased that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your complimentary feedback with our team. Thank you also for letting us know about the hair dryer – we will have that replaced right away. We will also look into the internet issue, normally the signal is strong. We very much look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend and it is just wonderful! The rooms have a very nice tub with access to the room! The food and ambiance are excellent as well! The beach is really nice and just steps away from your room! We stayed in the first floor so we just walked to it! The infinity pool located on the rooftop is awsome as well!

Room Tip: Try the Lucia restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family and I had an awesome time at Casa Colonial. You are welcomed with an welcome drink in a beautiful lobby. Check-in is fast and easy. Whenever we needed anything assistance was at room door before we could hang up the phone. Made me feel as tho we had a private butler. Everyone was very welcoming at the hotel. The food is delicious at Lucia's. We had a peaceful time at the beach that was not over crowed like the ones next door. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.