We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a place (with So-so neighbors)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Colonial Beach & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bonus for Luxury
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place (with So-so neighbors)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel and the service are among the very best!
We stayed for a week there. The beach and its views were spectacular, although the sea is not as clear as others in the Caribbean.
The design and care for the details shows throughout the premises in every corner, from the generous spaces to the halls and common areas.
The restaurant and its chef are great. The management is doing something that is very difficult to achieve. People that are truly into making the experience unforgettable.
The only negative point for us was that we wanted to be near a town to be able to walk around it and see the charm of its culture. Not here, Puerto Plata is very poor and unkept. Cabarete is worth a visit if you insist on going somewhere.
Furthermore, the area surrounding the hotel has decayed significantly and the hotels that are still open are less than average all inclusive. Many other buildings are abandoned or closed.
In short, a truly world class hotel. Just don't leave it during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed the resort and the restaurant. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef and the rest of team. Casa Colonial is truly an ‘oasis’ in the Puerto Plata area, and there are some wonderful things to do and see in the area, but we do recommend you explore on a guided tour. We certainly hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    47
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
43
228
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Let me start by saying they are on the wrong island, you travel to the DR for the value the place is a little cocky the average salary in the DR is $200 per month.the average rent is $140 per month. Great place, great food, great service, everything is great..... except the price they think that they are in NYC i am a firm believer in you get what you pay for but they are a bit out of line, this is a person that made 1.2 million last year.as a repeat customer they wanted 100,000 pesos for 8 day stay that's like $320 us a night for a normal room nothing included. at least make it all inclusive, they charged me for coffee:)

Room Tip: i loved the main building unless you want ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love staying at the Casa Colonial. It is an oasis in the midst of all the all-inclusives. It is luxurious and quiet. This stay we had an ocean front junior suite on the second floor. The rooms are enormous and have every creature comfort. The orchids in the gardens are gorgeous. The entire property is spotless and welcoming. Manuel and Jr. are so polite and helpful at the front door. The guards on the beach keep the vendors away that pester you consistently at the other resort beaches which allows you to unwind even more. We actually would give this resort a 4.95 and not a 4. The only thing keeping it from a 5 is the internet access is terrible and has been intermittent at best both stays. This time the hair dryer also had a rotten rubber grip on it that got sticky stuff on your hands. Other than that it is above and beyond any other resort in the D.R.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Oceanfront on the second level seems to be the best value, view, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are pleased that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your complimentary feedback with our team. Thank you also for letting us know about the hair dryer – we will have that replaced right away. We will also look into the internet issue, normally the signal is strong. We very much look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend and it is just wonderful! The rooms have a very nice tub with access to the room! The food and ambiance are excellent as well! The beach is really nice and just steps away from your room! We stayed in the first floor so we just walked to it! The infinity pool located on the rooftop is awsome as well!

Room Tip: Try the Lucia restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family and I had an awesome time at Casa Colonial. You are welcomed with an welcome drink in a beautiful lobby. Check-in is fast and easy. Whenever we needed anything assistance was at room door before we could hang up the phone. Made me feel as tho we had a private butler. Everyone was very welcoming at the hotel. The food is delicious at Lucia's. We had a peaceful time at the beach that was not over crowed like the ones next door. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was a pure relaxation spot. From the second you walk in, you are entering a peaceful oasis of escape from the daily grind of life. The hotel itself is gorgeous. We stayed in a junior oceanfront suite on the first floor of the property. We had a shared patio so if you want something more private, I recommend asking for a higher floor with a private balcony. Everything is very clean and the beds are beyond comfortable. The hair dryer is very powerful and great if you have long hair. I was taken aback by how green and lush all the plants were. While ocean views are always appreciated, it was nice to see some variety with the beautiful trees all over the beach and property. The hotel was covered in orchids, my favorite flower. It was just gorgeous. There are only 50 rooms at the property and even though we saw other people, we truly felt like we were pretty isolated most of the time. It was very quiet. They also have a rooftop pool with four private infiniti edge hot tubs. The pool and hot tubs are open 24 hours so it was great to go there at night and hear the waves crashing, as we overlooked the ocean.

The spa, while small, was very luxurious and relaxing. I had an aroma therapy massage and also an beachfront massage. Both massages were great and helped me relax. You can use the sauna and steam room for free, you just need to book an appt for them.

The food in both Veranda and Lucia restaurants were very good. For breakfast in Veranda, they have a buffet out. If you want hot items, be sure to order off the menu for things like french toast, pancakes, eggs, etc. Also, they suggest you make a reservation for dinner in Lucia, but I'm not sure you would actually need to do that. There is a main bar in the center of the lobby. I highly recommend the dinner on the beach experience. It truly was a great way to end our trip.

If you have children, this is probably not the resort for you. There are no kids activities and no kids menus, etc and it's more of a tranquil escape for adults than rowdy children. Also, there is NOTHING going on in terms of nightlife at this hotel. Nothing. So do not go there expecting to be entertained at night. It isn't going to happen. There is nothing to do. So be prepared to go in and relax. The staff is super friendly and kind and go out of their way to help you.

All this wonderfulness being said, I do have a few items to point out that kept me from giving this hotel five stars. They do so many difficult things right, that it's just a few simple things that could really push them over the edge that they don't seem to do, despite many guest mentioning it:

Beach service. There is none despite them saying there is. The first day we sat out on the beach and no one came out to us to offer us beverages or anything. We went to the towel guy and he was able to get someone to come over and take our order. We placed our order and heavily tipped and then he never came back after that first round. The second day, a guy named Santiago totally made the day amazing. He came and checked on us all throughout the day. We ordered tons of drinks and food and made it worth his while and it made our day fabulous. Then the next two days, we had zero people come out to us on the beach again. It's just such a simple thing to have a dedicated waiter or even the towel guy to take drink orders and it truly would make people's experiences much better if they don't have to constantly get up to get things and leave the beach.

Another minor thing are the outdoor showers. They only have full body showers, which end up drenching you if you are trying to just rinse your feet. It would be great if they could also add just a foot shower like some places have so you can choose if you want a full body rinse or just to wash the sand off your feet.

And lastly, the bath amenities are amazing but it would be great if a real hair conditioner could be added instead of the combo shampoo/conditioner. For those of us with long, thick hair, we need a real conditioner to do the trick.

Other than those three little things our entire trip was extremely memorable and we can't wait to go back. It was truly a beautiful hotel, great staff and relaxing place.

Room Tip: high floor if you want a private balcony. Ask for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback. We take all guest input into consideration and you made some very good points about the in-room and outdoor amenities which we will definitely look into. We hope be able to welcome back to Casa Colonial again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We read all the reviews for all the local Puerto Plata and surrounding area hotels. Luckily I picked this hotel. After spending a full week at this wonderful place, I'm sure there is no place that competes with this one. We arrived in Puerto Plata and rented a car. It took us about 15 minutes to get to the hotel and when we arrived, we were amazed that we found it! There were no signs to the hotel at all. We had to keep asking. Even the entrance was tucked in and no visible sign to let us know we had arrived. This made us feel very special and private. The hotel entrance is very upscale with the bell men dressed in white and hats. They were all very professional and helped us in anyway possible to get us settled with our luggage. After entering, they offered us whatever we wanted to drink. They showed us to our suite and we were in love!! Our room overlooked the ocean and the lagoon. It had 3 balconies that were all different. One even had a bathtub outside. My husband really enjoy this because the rest of us were hogging the bathroom. The shower was about 6X6. It was a remarkable room and we have stayed in the best of the best. Linens were changed every day and the bed, although hard, very comfortable. The service was unbeatable and we enjoyed the food on the premises very much! Compares to top NY exclusive restaurants. We ate in the hotel every morning down by the beach and loved the choices. The eggs benedict was very good with ham, salmon or anyway you wanted it. The waiters were very accommodating in anything we wanted. Every part of this hotel was 5 star. They really go out of their way to make it right. I had a problem with something on the bill and they removed it right away with no problem! I'm going to go back to Puerto Plata to be at this hotel again. Very easy flight and easy to get to. We felt like it was home. Even though it was a quiet smaller place, the kids really loved it as much as we did. It was close to a go cart park where the kids had a ball for the day. It is also very close to Puerto Plata town where other restaurants are and the cable ride up the mountain is. Caberete is only about 30-40 min drive where the best wind surfing is. We looked in Caberete but didn't find anything this nice there so we didn't mind the drive. This hotel is rather small for a resort but let me tell you, you won't be sorry you went there. It lives big. You will fall in love with it. We all had spa services multiple times and it is very nice. Small but nice. If I had to try to come up with something wrong, I would say that I wish the bar had more legroom when you sit at the bar. That is THE only thing. There are very comfortable lounge sofas and wing chairs though. I recommend this place highly! You will get a nice laid back experience that will surpass your own expectations. Thank you Casa Colonial for everything you did for me and my family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.