We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Colonial Beach & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booking Bonus in DR
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family and I had an awesome time at Casa Colonial. You are welcomed with an welcome drink in a beautiful lobby. Check-in is fast and easy. Whenever we needed anything assistance was at room door before we could hang up the phone. Made me feel as tho we had a private butler. Everyone was very welcoming at the hotel. The food is delicious at Lucia's. We had a peaceful time at the beach that was not over crowed like the ones next door. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    48
    11
    13
    12
See reviews for
43
220
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was a pure relaxation spot. From the second you walk in, you are entering a peaceful oasis of escape from the daily grind of life. The hotel itself is gorgeous. We stayed in a junior oceanfront suite on the first floor of the property. We had a shared patio so if you want something more private, I recommend asking for a higher floor with a private balcony. Everything is very clean and the beds are beyond comfortable. The hair dryer is very powerful and great if you have long hair. I was taken aback by how green and lush all the plants were. While ocean views are always appreciated, it was nice to see some variety with the beautiful trees all over the beach and property. The hotel was covered in orchids, my favorite flower. It was just gorgeous. There are only 50 rooms at the property and even though we saw other people, we truly felt like we were pretty isolated most of the time. It was very quiet. They also have a rooftop pool with four private infiniti edge hot tubs. The pool and hot tubs are open 24 hours so it was great to go there at night and hear the waves crashing, as we overlooked the ocean.

The spa, while small, was very luxurious and relaxing. I had an aroma therapy massage and also an beachfront massage. Both massages were great and helped me relax. You can use the sauna and steam room for free, you just need to book an appt for them.

The food in both Veranda and Lucia restaurants were very good. For breakfast in Veranda, they have a buffet out. If you want hot items, be sure to order off the menu for things like french toast, pancakes, eggs, etc. Also, they suggest you make a reservation for dinner in Lucia, but I'm not sure you would actually need to do that. There is a main bar in the center of the lobby. I highly recommend the dinner on the beach experience. It truly was a great way to end our trip.

If you have children, this is probably not the resort for you. There are no kids activities and no kids menus, etc and it's more of a tranquil escape for adults than rowdy children. Also, there is NOTHING going on in terms of nightlife at this hotel. Nothing. So do not go there expecting to be entertained at night. It isn't going to happen. There is nothing to do. So be prepared to go in and relax. The staff is super friendly and kind and go out of their way to help you.

All this wonderfulness being said, I do have a few items to point out that kept me from giving this hotel five stars. They do so many difficult things right, that it's just a few simple things that could really push them over the edge that they don't seem to do, despite many guest mentioning it:

Beach service. There is none despite them saying there is. The first day we sat out on the beach and no one came out to us to offer us beverages or anything. We went to the towel guy and he was able to get someone to come over and take our order. We placed our order and heavily tipped and then he never came back after that first round. The second day, a guy named Santiago totally made the day amazing. He came and checked on us all throughout the day. We ordered tons of drinks and food and made it worth his while and it made our day fabulous. Then the next two days, we had zero people come out to us on the beach again. It's just such a simple thing to have a dedicated waiter or even the towel guy to take drink orders and it truly would make people's experiences much better if they don't have to constantly get up to get things and leave the beach.

Another minor thing are the outdoor showers. They only have full body showers, which end up drenching you if you are trying to just rinse your feet. It would be great if they could also add just a foot shower like some places have so you can choose if you want a full body rinse or just to wash the sand off your feet.

And lastly, the bath amenities are amazing but it would be great if a real hair conditioner could be added instead of the combo shampoo/conditioner. For those of us with long, thick hair, we need a real conditioner to do the trick.

Other than those three little things our entire trip was extremely memorable and we can't wait to go back. It was truly a beautiful hotel, great staff and relaxing place.

Room Tip: high floor if you want a private balcony. Ask for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback. We take all guest input into consideration and you made some very good points about the in-room and outdoor amenities which we will definitely look into. We hope be able to welcome back to Casa Colonial again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We read all the reviews for all the local Puerto Plata and surrounding area hotels. Luckily I picked this hotel. After spending a full week at this wonderful place, I'm sure there is no place that competes with this one. We arrived in Puerto Plata and rented a car. It took us about 15 minutes to get to the hotel and when we arrived, we were amazed that we found it! There were no signs to the hotel at all. We had to keep asking. Even the entrance was tucked in and no visible sign to let us know we had arrived. This made us feel very special and private. The hotel entrance is very upscale with the bell men dressed in white and hats. They were all very professional and helped us in anyway possible to get us settled with our luggage. After entering, they offered us whatever we wanted to drink. They showed us to our suite and we were in love!! Our room overlooked the ocean and the lagoon. It had 3 balconies that were all different. One even had a bathtub outside. My husband really enjoy this because the rest of us were hogging the bathroom. The shower was about 6X6. It was a remarkable room and we have stayed in the best of the best. Linens were changed every day and the bed, although hard, very comfortable. The service was unbeatable and we enjoyed the food on the premises very much! Compares to top NY exclusive restaurants. We ate in the hotel every morning down by the beach and loved the choices. The eggs benedict was very good with ham, salmon or anyway you wanted it. The waiters were very accommodating in anything we wanted. Every part of this hotel was 5 star. They really go out of their way to make it right. I had a problem with something on the bill and they removed it right away with no problem! I'm going to go back to Puerto Plata to be at this hotel again. Very easy flight and easy to get to. We felt like it was home. Even though it was a quiet smaller place, the kids really loved it as much as we did. It was close to a go cart park where the kids had a ball for the day. It is also very close to Puerto Plata town where other restaurants are and the cable ride up the mountain is. Caberete is only about 30-40 min drive where the best wind surfing is. We looked in Caberete but didn't find anything this nice there so we didn't mind the drive. This hotel is rather small for a resort but let me tell you, you won't be sorry you went there. It lives big. You will fall in love with it. We all had spa services multiple times and it is very nice. Small but nice. If I had to try to come up with something wrong, I would say that I wish the bar had more legroom when you sit at the bar. That is THE only thing. There are very comfortable lounge sofas and wing chairs though. I recommend this place highly! You will get a nice laid back experience that will surpass your own expectations. Thank you Casa Colonial for everything you did for me and my family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely hotel with a professional, polite staff who aspire to cater to your every need. The facility is beautiful with an oceanfront breakfast patio with both a continental buffet and menu items included in your room charge. The 3rd floor pool area bar food was outstanding; try the tiritas and the lime shrimp with linguini-our two favorite meals while we were there. The private beach is daily cleaned and is beautiful. The "all inclusive" resort to the north had a beach that was packed with people and beach chairs. The Casa's beach was very private and with beach chairs always open for us to use. Having a small number of rooms makes all of the hotel's amenities accessible for those of us lucky enough to stay there.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room; marble floors throughout the hotel rooms are quite unless someone is sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about Casa Colonial... what a treat it was to stay here. My boyfriend and I were looking for a tranquil, quiet place to spend a few days away from our hectic lives, and this was the perfect choice.

From the moment we walked into the lobby and were greeted by the resort staff, we could not have felt more welcomed or more at home. Throughout our stay, the friendly staff made every effort to accommodate us by answering questions, making spa and restaurant reservations and even arranging transportation to the airport. Everyone from the concierge to the housekeepers was friendly and courteous, and seemed to care deeply about our experience.

For example: I once left my sunglasses by the pool at the end of the day, and - instead of just throwing them into a lost and found - the pool bar manager figured out what room I was in, and left them with the concierge so that I could retrieve them at my convenience. Now THAT is service.

Just as importantly... the place itself. It's designed beautifully... refined and casual yet sophisticated, and very clean and modern without feeling stuffy or cold. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the bathrooms are practically a spa unto themselves.

And the rooftop pool, with its Infinity pool, sleek wooden furniture and four small hot-tubs, is the kind of place you see in a magazine and say, "Sometime in my life, I'd love to visit someplace like that."

The grounds are gorgeous, as well... lush, manicured and clean, and with enough tropical plant-life to remind you that you are far from home. And the Bagua spa is as nice as any spa I've visited in the States...

The service at meals can be a bit slow, but - if you're using your visit to Casa Colonial as an opportunity to take a break from life - just enjoy the opportunity to sit around for a bit and know that you've made a wise decision.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I went here for President's Day weekend with my wife and 20 month old son. The property is very nice and has a modern feel to it. The rooms are clean and simple. Our beachfront room was perfect for easy access to the beach with the little one. The beach is a lot less crowded than some of the surrounding properties and the staff is very friendly. The drink/food service on the beach is pretty lacking, but the place is so small its not that big of an inconvience to simply walk over to the bar or pool top restaurant. The pool and spa are both very nice. The food at the "fancy" restaurant we honestly found to be a bit disappointing and left the property for dinner 2 of the 3 nights, but for breakfast and lunch the food is just fine. All in all a very nice trip and good weekend getaway. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Gorgeous, spacious and clean rooms. Select one that overlooks the sea. Staff attentive, smiling, and gracious. Enjoyed the thatch umbrellas with chaise lounges and even table and chairs on the beach. Guests spread out so enjoyed the serenity. Excellent lunches at the roof top bar and also on the beach. Breakfasts plentiful and delicious. A place designed for relaxation.

Room Tip: Junior suite ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Amex, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.