We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond amazing in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Colonial Beach & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
DR Early Booking Bonus
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Beyond amazing in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

From the moment I arrived, I felt transported to another world. The staff was very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make me feel at home. The property was quiet, relaxed and very peaceful. Beautiful gardens and a very nice beach area. I spent quite a bit of time at the pool with a stunning view of the ocean. Staff was attentive while allowing me to relax in peace. Room service was outstanding - they were careful to get my order right every time, accommodating my vegetarian requests. Food was flavorful and fresh. I had an excellent experience at the spa...wonderful deep tissue massage and friendly staff. Casa Colonial exceeded all of my expectations...I will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    47
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
43
226
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just wrapping up a three-day stay at the Casa Colonial - an architecturally stunning property with exceptional service, fabulous food, tasteful decor, heavenly linens and bedding and a peaceful spa. From start to finish, the staff here has looked after our every need with warmth and class. No request has gone unheeded. No detail has been overlooked.

Sadly, though, after enjoying blissful days at this five-star property, every night we have been offended by the relentless intrusion of offensively loud music coming from the resort next door. Loud bass beats, tacky DJ shout-outs and absurd faux-sirens persist until 1:00 a.m. every night.

It is such a shame that a world-class property like Casa Colonial has to sit astride such a disruptive neighbor. Would never suggest that guests at the other property should not enjoy their outdoor evening entertainment, but the volume level is far beyond anything reasonable and hopefully Casa Colonial can prevail on local authorities or their neighbors to find an appropriate accommodation.

Room Tip: Get to the northeast corner of this property because the southwest corner is closest to the absurdly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service and we will certainly pass on your compliments! We are sorry to hear that you were bothered by the neighboring noise and understand how disruptive that can be. We will certainly see if there is any sort of understanding we can come to with our neighbors. We certainly hope this will not dissuade you from coming back for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Puerto Plata. We selected Casa Colonial after doing considerable research on the internet. We were delighted with every aspect of the stay. The hotel is very unique. Rooms and common areas are beautiful. The grounds were very pleasant. Everything is well maintained. Our room was very spacious and was exceptionall clean and comfortable. All the employees went out of their way to ensure that all of our wishes were met. The food and service in the restaurants was exceptional. We will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Puerto Plata.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for our honeymoon. Overall, it was wonderful. The staff were excellent, especially the men at the front door and the concierge. The grounds are pretty, the water sublime. Below are my detailed pros/cons of this luxury hotel.

The Good
1. The rooms, even the lower price rooms, are lovely.
2. The staff are very attentive.
3. The view from the rooftop pool is great.
4. You can put everything on your bill for check out, including taxis that you take during your stay. This means not having to worry about change.
5 Beach chairs and palapas are comfortable
6. They left us romantic rose petals and a bubble bath our first night.
7. Close and easy trip for airport.
8. I ended sick and there is a good medical clinic for tourists one minute away that they easily connected us with.
9. Nice spa, small but good workout facility. Lobby is very pretty.

The Not Great
1. The food at Lucia was not very good, many guests complained about it. We heard they lost their former chef so perhaps this is why?
2. We were left great chocolates bedside each night but often these were covered in small bugs when we returned from dinner.
3. We were constantly harassed by salesmen on the beach, every few mins a new one came by bothering our reading and rest in the sun asking us to by clothes, booze, cigars, pedicures etc. It was annoying.
4. We were never approached by the hotel restaurant staff while we were on the beach to ask if we wanted drinks or food. Not sure if they do not offer beach service but we were used to this in other hotels.
5. There was loud music from the hotel next door late at night from their club.

I would go back The good outweighed any negative.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are pleased that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your complimentary feedback with our team. We do our best to provide the absolute best service in all areas of the resort, so we will certainly look into the beach service situation, as well as the chocolate issue – that is no way to end a beautiful day! We are re-working the menu at Lucia, so we hope the next time you visit us you have an even better time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staying at Casa Colonial is like staying at an uncle's Plantation House in the heart of the Caribbean. As a Small Luxury Hotels of the World you can expect well trained staff willing to pamper the request of the small number of guest staying at 50 Luxury Suites.

What's cool about this hotel is that it is hidden within the Playa Dorada Complex, a popular destination for Canadians and New Yorkers in the late 80s. Since some the hotels of that period where transforms in Condo Appartments, Casa Colonial will give you the Shocking Look that you get in Italy when you go around places of low profile, not dangerous at all, but not flashy at all, until you get into it's gates and there it is Paradise.

In fact the must romantic dinner I have ever had, was at this place. I strongly encourage you to book a dinner at the beach and, when I say at the beach it is literally a table for you, at the beach with waiter and chef just serving you. Book ahead since it is highly requested and it might not be available if you don't booked at least one day ahead or as soon as you arrive.

The hotel is an ocean front property, the beach is good, but what I like more is the service you get from the hotel. I have tried with my wife and also with my daughters and they still remember the family dinner at the beach too, as well as the indulgence of the Spa with great products to pamper you.

You probably don't want to leave from the hotel once you are there. The guest I have found seams to be handpick too, a happy cosmopolitan small crowd that also make the stay pleasant, but since the place is big, you can also have your own space if you don't want to mingle. If you are staying at other hotels in the region, such as Cabarete, you might be aware that if by the timing you are visiting there is a national holiday in the DR, the beaches and roads get crowded, but that never affect the place (during my previous visits) because it is like a private Chateau o House as we said before.

Good places to see near by are Cabarete, after Sosua, let's say 30 minutes away. Cabarete is the regional Capital of the Windsurf and KiteSurf. If you go there, try eating at Papi's Restaurant, he is such a character, is like Foxy's at Just Van Dyke, you have to visit the place, except that here the attraction is the Food instead of the drink. If you approach a bar there, try a Jar of a Bar-Fly if you are in a group or by the glass. That's the Painkiller of the place.

In a nutshell, friendly staff, great place, spacious rooms, very private atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try a room facing the ocean and book dinner at the beach before you arrive or as soon as you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to DR and after much research selected CC. Cannot even begin to tell how unique and exquisite this place is, from the moment we checked in, treated like royalty. Every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel special without all of the high pressure of the surrounding resorts. If you are wanting entertainment and lots of activity, this is not the place for you. If you want a quiet, relaxing, beautiful, private, elegant place to relax, this is it. We walked thru 3 of the surrounding inclusive resorts just to see what they were like and couldn't wait to return to our haven at CC. The lobby at CC is beautiful in dark wood, marble and simple yet elegant furniture with live orchids everywhere. The rooms are very spacious with a very comfortable bed, tub big enough for two and a roomy shower as well. Air conditioning worked perfectly as well as a new flat screen tv and nice safe. The room service was amazing with turn down service which included a surprise each night. Breakfast each morning was delicious, just about everything you would want from oatmeal to fruit to Danish to a full American or DR breakfast. Again service was great. The ladies in the Bagua spa were wonderful, enjoyed 3 massages. Pool area was great with 4 very large jacuzzis, nice restaurant with great piña coladas, fish tacos and Cobb salad. The staff there also was great, ready to serve you whatever you need. Dinner at Lucia each night was a special treat. You must try roasted cappuccino soup...we ordered this each night...delicious! We will definitely return here. It has been like finding our own paradise. Even though there were other people on property, it was never crowded or loud. The property is absolutely beautiful with exotic birds everywhere, and kept very well maintained. Most rooms have a very spacious porch with table and chairs to enjoy the beauty of the property. Like I said at the beginning, I hate to leave a review for the word to get out about this property. Wish we could keep it our secret.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and for sharing your secret! This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests and we will certainly share your review with all of the staff. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Casa Colonial very soon. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyunyoung
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After my first visit, we had to come back. The hotel and the rooms were as beautiful as ever. And the service was impeccable. The staff was friendly, helpful, and would bend over backwards for any request. I would not stay anywhere else in Puerto Plata.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.