We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond all Expectations and Then Some!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Colonial Beach & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beyond all Expectations and Then Some!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As a bit of a hotel snob, it's not easy to impress me but Casa Colonial did just that. My husband 7 month old son and I went for 6 nights over Thanksgiving and I can easily say that everything at Casa Colonial was perfect; from the elegant decor to the food to most of all the service.

We traveled from California and it was a major haul to get there but it was definitely worth it and we plan to return. There really isn't another hotel to consider in Puerto Plata.

As I said we traveled with our 7 month old and I was nervous to leave him with someone new (really nervous) but the babysitters at the hotel Anibelle and Marisol were wonderful with him and very respectful of my anxiety. We were also extremely impressed with their restaurant and maid staff.

As part of our package (through Luxury Link) we enjoyed a romantic dinner on the beach. It was magical; something not to be missed.

Also the spa treatments and spa facilities are simply fantastic.

I could just go on and on but suffice it to say that if you are looking for a mellow getaway...the vibe at Casa Colonial is very low key...this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Dona Rosa was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    49
    13
    13
    12
See reviews for
50
257
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

One of the best hotels I have been to. Room is gorgeous (stayed in waterfront junior suite). Recommend ocean front rooms - great for sipping coffee on the terrace in the mornings and listening to the water breaking shore.
~Room - beds are amazing, bathroom has shower and big tub for two.
~Service - impecable from check-in to check-out
~Food - delicious, plenty of selection for non meat-eaters, like us, restaurant has fresh squeezed juices, prices are reasonable by US standars
~Drinks - amazing! The pina coladas are made the right way in a blender with original ingredients, not slushy style
~Beach - very comfy lounge beds and umbrellas, towels provided at beach, water is nice (some seaweed around)
~Entertainment - none, really. They have a bar and restaurant, but no cheesy activities or pools, so it's perfect for a quite getaway. Bring a book or your iPad to read, free internet.
~Special treat - get the $199 private romantic dinner at the beach for two. My bf surprised me with it and proposed there (men - take note, this is a marvelous way to do it), it was so private and romantic, and there is an extra special surprise at end of night.

Overall, an amazing experience!!! Strongly recommend it! We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Definitely take oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Casa Colonial – congratulations on your engagement, we are honored that we could be part of your special day! Our team works very hard to provide an exceptional vacation for every guest, and it sounds like you had one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and my 1 year old son had an amazing 4 days at this small luxury hotel. The property is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food is fab and I couldn't say anything bad about this hidden gem in Puerto Plata. Only a 15-20 min drive from the airport. They hotel also coordinated our airport transfers (a added expense but not a problem). A must for everyone! Especially those who love boutique hotels.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. They all adored our son which was so cute!

We shall return!

Room Tip: The room we had was on the 2nd floor near the spa and also with the view of the garden. I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I got off at the wrong airport in DR and spent half our honeymoon in a jungle treehouse, and the other half at the 5 star resort, Casa Colonial.

The property is stunning.

Breakfast on your terrace with full silver service, the food is incredible. Our room couldn't be more beautiful, junior suite overlooking the property and beach. The staff is great, Kennedy seems to be everyone's favorite and we can see why-whatever request you have, it's taken care of.

Highly recommend the candlelit dinner on the beach, very romantic-will be the highlight of your stay. Rose petals and candles strewn around the room when we returned, just lovely.

Rave reviews-don't hesitate to go.

Room Tip: if you can spring for the suite, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the Spa and the new complimentary wifi system all around the hotel I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wow, this place is off the beaten path, tucked in way way way behind condos after condos off the main road, but once you get there you know you have arrived. Elegant stone entry, valet at the ready, concierge greats you. Welcome drink on the way before you even finish checking in. A tour of the facilities on your way to your room. The room we had was a Jr Suite. We had a view of the Ocean (albeit there are trees between you and the water, you can still see the ocean) and the beach below. We were just down the stairs from the GORGEOUS rooftop pool and 4 jacuzzi's located right at the edge of the roof's edge. We had a great lunch on the roof. We have a great balcony, sitting area, king bed, large bathroom and a great safe. The bathroom has that weird thing where the wall is open to the bathroom, not sure I get this set up and have seen it a few times lately. The toilet area is private thought. We booked the spa for treatments and are having dinner in the restaurant. Will update as we experience more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. The bathroom layout is designed so you can soak in our big tubs while still enjoying the great view off of your balcony….. just one of those little quirky extra touches! I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you can afford it - and this hotel is expensive - stay for just one night, longer if possible! The rooms are exquisite (though maybe a little dark and gloomy), the attention to detail everywhere is excellent, the staff have got everything just right (not too much fuss but attentive and extremely polite) and the gardens are a wildlife haven.
The hotel could make so much more of the gardens and the stunning birds that use them (some found only in the Dominican Republic). They are full of trees and shrubs with lawns and a small lake, all excellent for birds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

In an area know for only fairly cheesy all-inclusives, this place was a beautiful oasis. It is not cheap but we found a nice deal on-line during the off season through luxury link. There was barely anyone there so we felt we had the whole place to ourselves. The breakfast was great. Dinner is so-so, to be honest. You are better off adventuring out for the other meals. We had massages at the spa which were excellent.

The service is great and they emphasis that you can ask for anything you want. You can have your meals anywhere you want too (no additional charges) so you can eat in your room, on the beach, next to the pool, wherever!

Room Tip: We had an ocean-front junior suite which was very nice. I love the huge bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.