We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue JackTar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue JackTar to your Saves list
Blue JackTar
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata 57000 , Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent 7 night in Blue Jack Tar in January and i have to say the staff are exceptional and cannot do enough for you. The room are very comfortable and cleverly laid out for maximum privacy.
The beach is right next to the hotel with very comfortable beds and a good beech bar.
Having the Green Jacks restaurant on site is also very convenience and the food is good and very reasonably priced.
All in All a great stay,

Room Tip: They are building a block of flats at one end of the hotel and there was some noise from that during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
56
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed here 4 times now and each time it just gets better.

Rooms are lovely, staff are great with Elvis at the swim up bar being the highlight. The food is great with eggs cooked in front of you for breakfast, and great A la Carte restaurants to choose from as well.

Made good use of the spa and had massages twice a week. Lots of trips to go on with the Outback Safari being the best.

Without doubt, great value for money, a job well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Summary:
My fiancee and I are in our mid-twenties and we just spent 7 days at Blue Jack Tar in Puerto Plata. Overall, we were very happy with the resort, the staff, and especially the beach. The food was surprisingly good, and the room was clean + comfortable. Great place to stay if you just want to relax on the beach

Pros:
- The beach is incredible. Blue Jack Tar has 10 or 11 of the white canopy beds you see pictured. They are grouped together between a row of beach chairs and a deck dining area. You can expect people walking the beach from neighboring resorts to gawk with envy as they pass.
- Friendly staff, good service. Right now, the resort has a relatively small group of employees. You will recognize the same bartenders/waiters every day, and they will get to know you as well. Because the resort is still fairly small, it has a nice personal feel. Everybody says hello when they walk by.
- Pretty good food. The menu at Green Jack, the hotel's only restaurant, is simple, but for the most part well-executed. Many of the items are "americanized" for the comfort of the hotel's typical guest. Think burgers, fries, steak, cheese, and bacon. There is a list of Dominican specialties to choose from as well though. I recommend the stuffed chicken breast and the coconut crepe.

Cons
- Inconsistency. From one day to the next, a certain food item or drink may not be exactly the same. As well, due to circumstances not entirely within the hotel's control, availability is subject to change. Do not be surprised to hear "no, I'm sorry we don't have that item today." This is not to suggest rapid swings in quality. Almost everything we ate and drank over seven days was delicious.
- Fitness. I'm a bit of a workout nut, so I was a little disappointed in the hotel's fitness equipment. Maybe I was there while the handyman was away, but it appeared to me as though the gym was not well maintained. The treadmill wasn't running, one of the machines needed cables replaced, and the hotel's only basketball had no air in it (no pump either). However, the cobwebs on the dumbbells suggested to me that I was the only one who ever noticed. After all, who really goes on vacation to work out?


This place is beautiful. I don't know anyone who could bask in sunshine and sea breeze on a king size bed and be disappointed. As I said, it's a great place for anyone just looking to relax. Good for families and couples. Note: the hotel is still expanding, and there are condos going up next door. Blue Jack Tar is rapidly developing, so it will be interesting to see if it can maintain its friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 11 days. The staff was terrific and the rooms and resort were excellent. The beach was first rate and private no legions of annoying beach hawkers. Had an issue with our door at 11:00 pm and they had not less than 3 maintenance men on it. If you want to be treated like a king on paupers budget.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time and would recommend this resort to anyone who had a chance to visit. The staff was wonderful the restaurants were wonderful. The beach is fantastic!!! We happened to stay there because another resort we often frequent was not available. It was a wonderful stay and plan to visit there anytime we have a chance to.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here before our whale watching trip and loved it. The staff was excellent and the restaurant was very very good. I recommend it highly. The beach cabanas were comfortable and what a nice way to spent some time at the beach.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a seven day visit. This place is still under development but the service and restaurant were fantastic. A good value, on the beach, however I don't recommend going into the ocean. Septic tank leakage has contaminated the water. Views of the golf course from most of the patios. Has a nice pool the rooms have good beds, a/c works and while the shower could be more forceful did come out hot. The experience was good enough for the group (70 people) all agreed to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue JackTar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue JackTar

Address: Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata 57000 , Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas is located just 15 minutes from the International Airport Gregorio Luperon, and 3 miles from the touristic town of Puerto Plata. This gorgeous property is been re-designed as a family orientated multi- product property. Located in the recognized Playa Dorada complex, with a wonderful view of the Isabel de Torres Mountain, the Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas has 74 extensively renovated 2012 beautiful rooms. The hotel is also located around the world-renowned Robert Trent Jones 18 holes Playa Dorada golf course.The Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas, offers our clients high standards of accommodation, a la carte breakfast, personalized service by our Club Concierges, and the option for lunch and dinner at the recently open Green Jack Restaurant, where you can enjoy exquisite Dominican fusion cuisine, and also international flavors plus Blue Jack Beach Bar & Snacks. After dinner, enjoy the ambiance of Green Jack, especially in our Saturday live music presentations, or try your luck visiting the world famous Dream’s Casino…the choice is yours. Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas Is the perfect destination to spend time with your family, met new friends or share a romantic vacation. Come, enjoy and experience the well known hospitality of this Caribbean new product! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue JackTar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue JackTar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.