We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill out and eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue JackTar

Save Saved
You added Blue JackTar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue JackTar
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata 57000 , Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 hotels in Puerto Plata
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out and eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I are frecuent visitors to this hotel and restaurant.
We love spending the day resting on their beach beds, along with great music, beverages and tasting food located on one of the most beautifull beaches of Puerto Plata city.

My kids love their kids area full of swings and eating their churrasco pasta.

On Friday and Saturday nights you may be able to find a lounge ambiance either with Dj or live music.
It is definitly some space Puerto Plata was lacking of!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucrecia P, Front Office Manager at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for your comments, Blue JackTar is a family area and we want to offer the best that's why everything we do is designed to keep it together.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
37
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 6 days at this marvelous hotel and we loved it! The service, the acomodations, everything was amazing! The food at the restaurant is delicious and a very wide menu with many different types of food, Perfect place to go with your family and also on a romantic retreat. I highly recommend this place! We didn't want to leave! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucrecia P, Front Office Manager at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We appreciate your review and thanks for recommend Blue JackTar, our team always works to satisfy our guest.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent the Easter holiday in this hotel. The first thing to note is the excellent service from all the staff (reception, waiters, cleaning, security, and management). Continue renewing facilities but does not interfere with the public. Puerto Plata has much to offer.

Room Tip: Next time I'will go for a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for you comments, we appreciate. We are working to give all the best. And as you said, we have so much to offer.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue JackTar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue JackTar

Address: Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata 57000 , Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 hotels in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas is located just 15 minutes from the International Airport Gregorio Luperon, and 3 miles from the touristic town of Puerto Plata. This gorgeous property is been re-designed as a family orientated multi- product property. Located in the recognized Playa Dorada complex, with a wonderful view of the Isabel de Torres Mountain, the Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas has 74 extensively renovated 2012 beautiful rooms. The hotel is also located around the world-renowned Robert Trent Jones 18 holes Playa Dorada golf course.The Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas, offers our clients high standards of accommodation, a la carte breakfast, personalized service by our Club Concierges, and the option for lunch and dinner at the recently open Green Jack Restaurant, where you can enjoy exquisite Dominican fusion cuisine, and also international flavors plus Blue Jack Beach Bar & Snacks. After dinner, enjoy the ambiance of Green Jack, especially in our Saturday live music presentations, or try your luck visiting the world famous Dream’s Casino…the choice is yours. Blue Jack Tar Hotel, Condos & Villas Is the perfect destination to spend time with your family, met new friends or share a romantic vacation. Come, enjoy and experience the well known hospitality of this Caribbean new product! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue JackTar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue JackTar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.