We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at a beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Village & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aqua Village & Spa
Save Saved
You added Aqua Village & Spa to your Saves list
Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Sunnyvale, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at a beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My mom and I stayed one night at Aqua Village & Spa in May 2013 when the resort was running a $39 per night special promotion (food not included). What a deal! The resort is absolutely beautiful, and the staff and security guard are super friendly. We got room #16, which was a standalone 1BR unit that we really liked. It was very clean, and the shower had great water pressure.

The next morning, we walked around the resort, taking lots of pics since it was so pretty. We were very lucky that it was sunny that day! There are small tables around the pool, and they allowed us to eat breakfast there instead of in the dining area. Our entire experience at Aqua Village was a wonderful way to start our 10-day trip to the DR. It's too bad we only stayed there one night, but we had already planned on driving to the Samana peninsula the next day to explore other parts of the island.

If you are staying in the Puerto Plata area, I would highly recommend Aqua Village in Playa Cofresi over the all-inclusives in Playa Dorada.

Room Tip: The resort consists of many "casitas" (little houses). I'm not sure if all the 1BR un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongaines, Director of Sales at Aqua Village & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
we thank you for your comments and hope that on your next trip that you will be able to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
long island, usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

my wife and I needed a hotel that would allow us to bring our dog, a tiny chihuahua. Aqua was the first one we found and to our suprise, it was the greatest decision in our trip to Dominica Republic. The atmosphere is a tropical paradise, the staff is extremely friendly. there are many things to do, horse riding, quads, a farm with many animals and a spa. The private resort is very relaxing. The food is beautiful and delicious. The staff was great, Angelo the driver will bring you anywhere you need to go. Maria can take care of all your food and drink, the chefs are easily 5 star, the best. the grounds are always in perfect condition. The rooms are private and Carmen does the best keeping them clean and tidy. Also there is great security day and night keeping the whole place safe. Aqua is located very close to the main city, Puerto Plata. We will defidently come back to celebrate our 2nd wedding aniversary. Trying anywhere else would be a mistake, thank you Don, Adriana and ALL THE STAFF !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongaines, Director of Sales at Aqua Village & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and please accept our thanks for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My then fiance and i had such a wonderful time when we visited Aqua village and Spa in February for Valentines that we decided to get married there when i returned for vacation.
Wow,i cant begin to explain what a magical romantic wedding it was!! Not only is this place extremely clean and beautiful but Once again the staff surpassed my expectations with the planning of my wedding and reception which took place at the hotel.
Adrianna at the hotel took care of everything prior to my arrival including decorations,photos, cake, food for the reception and flowers. Everyone was so excited about having a wedding at the resort and we were treated like celebrities!!!
What my husband and i love most about Aqua besides the great food and beautiful private rooms is the superior service. They have a salon and spa and they brought a lady in just to apply my make up for the wedding! The ceremony was wonderful, the decorations beautiful and the food exquisite.Aqua Village and spa is the perfect ,relaxing get away you need and now i can add the perfect place for a wedding. Thanks Aqua for making our wedding wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongaines, Director of Sales at Aqua Village & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It is however guests like you and your husband who make our resort what it is. We were so pleased to be of assistance and as you know it was our first wedding. Thanks again and we hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent just 1 day this time but it will be more the next time and I'll even bring some friends. In the DR for business but I had time to myself so why not enjoy it. For less than the cost of a hotel room with no frills I had an absolutely great day doing nothing but relaxing. I was able to mellow out by the pool and even went on a comfortable horse back ride towaards the end of the day. I was pleased with the quality of the rest that 1 day and night gave me. I will be vactioning here in the near future. Aqua Village has everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongaines, Director of Sales at Aqua Village & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are always pleased when we have fulfilled our goal of pleasing our guests. Look forward to improvements when you return ; we constantly try to upgrade our offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ding and I stayed at this resort from Mar 04 - 11, 2013.
It is definitely a beautiful spot. The workers there were extremely friendly and trying to please always. Rooms were comfortable, very clean. Would have liked some sort of cabinet in bathroom to place our toiletries. The stables and the horses were in excellent shape. We got to admire a new foal. Got to see the cockfights which was very entertaining.
We were given a choice to stay or move after one week, which just doesn't ever happen. We did move but simply because it was too quiet and small for our liking. Being able to go to the beach whenever would have been an asset and it is a work in progress.
Our waitresses Maria and Jenny were lovely people and always there for us.
Don was amazing. I think it was difficult to look after such a small crowd, food wise, etc. Thank you Don for the use of the computer at any time. It was much appreciated. Keep up the good work!! Probably will go back at some point, when you've expanded.

Joan Gorr and Erwin Dunlop,
from Balderson, Ontario, Canada.

Room Tip: Not too close to stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongaines, Director of Sales at Aqua Village & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for coming and we do hope to see you back again soon. The work is progressing on our Beach Club and we expect to have a grand opening of the Beach Club at Aqua Beach in the near future. Follows us on Facebook and we'll keep you up to date.

Thanks from the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The chef Domingo was so sweet and the food was absolutely delicious, made daily and fresh which is a plus!

The rooms are very cute and private, yes it is a small location but it is perfect if you want to clear your mind and get away from reality. The pool is just right, one can actually relax which is difficult to find in any other hotel where there are hundreds of people and you can hear footsteps upstairs when people walk through the halls.
That isn't the case at aqua, you have your own private room almost looks like a small house that is cleaned daily and that is supervised 24 hours.

I truly enjoyed the horses and the cock fights was something different that I never expected I would see before.

People expect Olympic pools, huge casinos, drunk young adults and 24 hour room service of food that is equally greasy as McDonald's but that isn't the case at Aqua, this is something completely different and worth going to and worth experiencing.

I recommend this if you want a real vacation, and vacation meaning time to clear your mind and RELAX!

Another note I would like to add is that I had the pleasure of meeting Mr.Dominguez, very cordial man and willing to make all necessary adjustments for all of his clients to enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongaines, Director of Sales at Aqua Village & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will assure you that we will endeavour to improve for your next visit.

Thanks for having joined us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time to the D.R., so we can only compare this experience to other Caribbean/S. American getaways.

Summary: Great Service, Nice Rooms, Good Food. Needs a lot of kinks worked out to attact a broader group of visitors. The dozen or so guests that were there at the end of Jan with us were largely retirees from Canada. In our early 50s, we were the youngest couple there!

Because our vacation (March 2-9) ended on a bit of a sour note (see Transportation), I waited a few weeks before writing this to ensure the overall review would be balanced.

The first thing that comes to mind with this resort is VALUE.
Apparently this is a newly reinvented resort, and they are stimulating interest with some great promotions (all-inclusive runs approx $39-$50/per person per day, depending on timing/promotion and who you book through). What does that get you? Well it depends, and THAT is one of my biggest gripes.

The website tells you that the following is included: horseback riding, use of 4 wheelers, free transport to and from either airport.
- Horseback riding – great fun, leaves from the resort grounds where they keep trail and special horses (the owners are into horses). Great guides – one in front, one in the rear – made sure everyone was safe as we went through some hilly areas and looked out over the ocean.
- 4 Wheelers – apparently only one of the two options (horseback or ATV) is included. If you want to do both, or do either again, there’s a fee. Very misleading. We opted not to partake.
- Airport Transfers
o a cab driver met us at the airport and led us to his 20+ yr old Toyota rust bucket with no AC. He was a very nice man (Leo?), who stopped so we could buy our first Dominican beers to enjoy on the hot and dusty ride.
o Once we arrived at the resort, we saw BEAUTIFUL vehicles, all clean and shiny. We never saw any leave the resort (except the passenger van that is typically used to shuttle guests around), so I have no idea what they are used for.
o As we were arranging for our return trip to the airport, I reminded them how unpleasant it was to be without air conditioning, and asked that they ensure we got a better vehicle for the 90 min drive back. They said they’d have Juan Carlos take us in the van, but when it was time for us to leave, Juan was out on a beach run with other guests. Eventually, the management called for a taxi. To make a LONG story short, the taxi was an hour and 15 minutes late picking us up! We barely made it to the plane before they locked the doors.

Some other notes of interest:
- Laundry – free, just tip your maid
- Cock Fight – interesting; opens once a week to maybe 100 or more locals with birds and $ to gamble. VERY lively crew; the staff made sure we had safe seats out of the fray.
- Beach – there is a ‘private’ beach for the resort. You need to arrange for a ride but that IS included and convenient. The beach is lovely, the water is swimable, and there’s a restaurant/bar that’s part of the all inclusive. Also decent tourist shops and a less than decent bathroom. VERY nice way to spend the days.
- Casino – although there was a room on the resort that is intended to be a casino, it was never open/there are no dealers or anyone to run the few tables. I guess one could bring their own cards or dice, but with so few guests on site, there was no one to play with. We went to the big casino down the road and that was ok. Very cheap tables (25 peso blackjack) and free drinks. It was the quietest casino I’ve ever been to, until the dance show was being performed overhead.
- Pool – very small pool with moderate seating area between the bar and restaurant. Only one umbrella other than the center hole/non-adjustable type. Not a problem since there were so few guests and iffy weather.
- Dining – B+ Good variety and quality, although repetitive and very few deserts. Very nice dining room and wonderful service. Buffet 3x/day, with the option to order off the menu at dinner (plan ½ hr wait). We actually never ordered off the menu because there were always plenty of options on the buffet. We did ask for omelet’s at breakfast and that was no problem.
- Spa – we booked 1 hr massages at the spa. You pay at the office, where we were charged $75/hr instead of being given the half price special that other guests were offered. Even when we showed the manager the flyer, we were not refunded the difference. Instead of feeling badly or like they inconvenienced us, the manager and the sales leader seemed to argue about who offered who what. The massage, by the way, was excellent.

- Rooms
o Nice size, you walk into a rectangular sitting area then through to the round bedroom with attached bathroom.
o Bed and pillows are comfy, AC is great (quiet and responsive). Room included a fridge with water/soda, an ipod speaker system, TV and safe. Suggestions for managmement: Rearrange bedroom furniture so the giant free standing closet doesn’t block window. Add shelves in closet or a dresser – all there is is hanging space.

- Bar – there is one small bar (6 stools) but since there were so few guests, it wasn’t a problem. While "top shelf" wasn't part of all inclusive, they ran out of low end brands quickly and we enjoyed top shelf thereafter.

- Cigar Bar A+- Extremely comfortable, TV has broad satellite offerings (more English choices). Great place to hang out with a drink.

- Grounds - pretty, well maintained, not big enough to take a meaningful walk (maybe ¼ mi loop?). This should improve when they continue building out towards the beach.
- Service – Excellent! Maria and Janet served both the Restaurant and Bar – A++. Also many thanks to Juan Carlos, the driver, as well as Francisco and Gabriel.

Bottom line – Although we are not likely to return to the DR or this resort, the vacation was a great value, and the resort is likely to improve month over month as the expansion plans come to fruition. In the meantime, make sure you know exactly what is included, and bring your friends because there are so few guests to socialize with (mostly retirees from Canada during our stay).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongaines, Director of Sales at Aqua Village & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking th time to point us in the right direction. We do have a lot of improvements that we are working on. I am glad that you recognized that we are a work in progress and that you would expect to see us improve month to month. It has been a month since you were here and yes there have been a number of improvements following your suggestion while you were here. We have been especially working on keeping everyone here on the same page with our various offers. I appreciate this feedback so at least we know how to make your stay and others a much better one. If you follow us on facebook "Aqua Village & spa" you will see that we are taking your suggestions seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Village & Spa

Address: Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private club complex that delights in offering Gourmet Dining at all-inclusive prices, Cigar Lounge, Wine Cellar, Spa treatments and beyond. Whether you come with your family or single and come with a friend either male or female you will be welcome and can be assured of having a great vacation. Imagine being able to go to the stable on site and choose the horse you want for your morning ride or being able to go to the garage and choose the Quad bike that you will see the sights on. NO MINIMUM STAY, 24 HOUR RECEPTION,ALL UNITS HAVE PRIVATE BATHROOM. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Village & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.