We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Save Saved
You added The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great property and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly . Great device . The resort had awesome entertainment . The staff was awesome . Every restaraunt was really good. All the food was very fresh. The Italian restaraunt was great . I'm from
New York and was very impressed with the pizza. The drinks was very good also. Would definitely go back to this resort . My wife and I are planning going back in December of 2013. Would recommend this resort to my family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    764
    401
    262
    280
See reviews for
572
933
40
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rooms are very comfortable - beautiful grounds - we loved the beach. Animation staff (look for Choco Choco - Johnny Bravo, Lenny Crabs , George of the Jungle) all were terrrific in engaging everyone - young and old - crazy games, dance, great fun.
Food was average - but something for everyone - make sure to make dinner reservations before 10 am for special restaurants to get a break from the buffet.
We will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I actually went in 2011 not 2012. I booked a trip with friends for 7nights 8days through cheapcarribean.com. We had a great time some of my friends booked earlier and paid under 600 for the trip, I paid about 800 bucks. Airfare was included. We were picked up by a shuttle and did not have to wait around. Staff were helpful and friendly...
Stuff that wasn't the greatest:
Long lines to make reservations for restaurants.
Took get a good spot on the VIP beach people would get up EARLY and wait inline by the gate for that area to open up.
Towel service was limited they would run out early on in the day.

Even with the above negatives I was happy with this trip and resort. The value was incredible for vacationing on a budget...

I did a couple of the excursions: to paradise island which was enjoyable... And an ATV tour which was fun too.. Note driving down there seemed dicey the ATV tour had some time on the roads. There are not drinking and driving laws..


  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just got back from another mini escape to Life Styles Tropical resort and there has been a big improvement over the last year. We went a Cheap Caribbean deal and again certainly got our money’s worth. The grounds as usual were well kept and looked great. The staff very friendly and willing to do whatever was needed.
We did have a problem with our original room 4009 which as a bit bigger than a closet and the bathroom left a lot to be desired. After two nights we asked to be moved and immediately we were moved to 5220, a much bigger and nicer room. They admonished us for not complaining the day before as they could have moved us then. Oh well… The rooms still have not been upgraded to the level of flat screen TVs but they were recently painted and spruced up.
VIP beach was as usual very nice, comfortable and the snack menu as good as ever. The servers and bar tenders attentive and the drinks were pretty good. In fact they made the best Bloody Mary I have had in a long time.
The biggest surprise was the improvement of the food quality. This was found from the buffet to the ala carte restaurants. This was the first time at lunch I could say the food at a buffet was good and in fact much better than expected. We did talk to the executive chef who has been there for just a year and he said he had been trying to improve the food quality. He has met his goal. The Sunday night gala party was as good as any we have been to and the food was amazing from fresh roasted pig, roast beer, lobster, crab legs, lamb, fish and all the salads and sides you could think of. The show was pretty good as well.
All in all a very enjoyable 5 days. For those of you worrying about your “Cheap Caribbean” holiday….stop worrying.
BObK

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good
- Clean rooms, air conditioning up to the task
- The merger of the two hotels since December 2012 (it has allowed us the buffet, beach, swimmingpool, bar, from the other hotel ... ... a lot to explore.
- The food is simple and very good.
- Alcohol is served in quantity and strength no problem.
- There was no chair running in the morning ... it was very good.
- Staff (& John Cena...host of a lot of activities) are impeccable.

Bad:
- The beach is really ordinary.
- The "lifestyle" reserve VIP beach, room, etc ... based "class" social ... is really a negative thing for our society.
- 1 floor floors are filled with moisture ... but no problem to change.
- The activities are interesting but not more than that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shohola, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed Jan. 21 to Jan. 26th. and had a great time. Room was in 3rd building, very quiet. Grounds are well kept, pools are clean, facilities - even the pool side bathrooms - very well kept. Buffet was good, typical foods included pasta bar, pizza, chicken, pork, lamb, seafood. Not a lot of beef, but good local dishes too, plenty of fresh fruit and seafood, and if you can't find something to eat, you must be a very picky eater because every day there had to be at least 20 different dishes to choose from, plus local stuff like rice and beans, and wonderful passion fruits! And ice cream at lunch every day.
The shower is a little funny, no curtain or anything, so if you run the water full blast you will have a flood, but if you only run it half blast you will be fine. Seemed to be more hot water later in the day then 1st thing in the morning.
When we got to our room, the TV was not working and there was no beer in the fridge, we had to call the front desk twice but within a half hour or so it was handled.
When you get to the airport, pay the porter the $3 he wants and you will breeze through the airport and he will bring you right to the Cheap Carribean desk. On the way to the resort, the guide told us not to drink stuff with coconut milk in it because milk, plus booze and sun = sick. The wine is not all that good and they will tell you so; not a lot of grapes in DR, so they make it out of apples and all kinds of other stuff, though the beer is excellent.
Beach? Clean and well kept. Bars? Stocked and friendly. Food? Pretty good. Staff? Awesome.
On a side note; the 2nd day we were there, my bf got sick because he had surgery a few days before, and developed a reaction to the latex they used on him; his entire face was swollen so bad his eye was shut closed. I went to the lobby, right away they brought us to the clinic, the doctor pumped him full of anti-swelling stuff and anti-biotics and they saved our vacation.
Go, you will have a great time plus the VIP beach is very nice but the regular beach is where we spent most of our time, more shade and you are a lot closer to the water.
Marie B and Chris R

Room Tip: We were in room 3010, it was close to the lobby and buffet and being on the ground floor made it eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I can't wait to come back. We had an awesome time. All of the staff was wonderful. Especially the entertainment crew who include. Chocochoco, putytan, john cena, lenny. Cravittz , tairis and. Especially jhony bravo. U all make it hard for us to leave but easy for us to come back
Thank u
Dolores and michael bonaguro

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.