We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you go elsewhere?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Save Saved
You added The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Why would you go elsewhere?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My sister and I took a 5 day trip and stayed at Lifestyles. I have to say-- the online ratings I saw beforehand do NOT do this place justice-- neither do the pics. The resort was clean, beautifully landscaped, and staffed with tons of very friendly and helpful people. The guys that work at the main pool were so much fun-- playing games all day, the drinks were flowing, music playing. There is stuff going on every night too. This place has something for whatever you are looking for. The selection of excursions is impressive and surprisingly reasonably priced compared to what I have seen at other resorts.The crowd was a mix of couples, families and groups of adults so we felt very comfortable and safe. The food was excellent too and neither of us got sick. We ate the Blue Lagoon seafood place, Bellinis the italian place, the mexican place, and the buffet. You do have to get dinner reservations in the AM - and if you are persistent, you will... no problem. The VIP beach is beyond gorgeous - you do have to save a bed in the morning, but it is an easy process and people abide by that unwritten rule - our stuff never got moved. If you go expecting 3.5 stars (which I did) you will be thrilled with what this place had to offer. I am so sad to be back in the snow!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 3 on the 2nd floor. Not the quietest spot, but clean and great maid service da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    783
    407
    268
    286
See reviews for
605
949
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Unfortunately, this was just an "okay" vacation. The weather was great, but the resort was not. The food, customer service, liquor, and cleanliness were lacking. After the first day my husband and I both got sick from something we ate. We booked out vacation through RCI and will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hi just got back from 10 days at the Tropical Lifestyle Vacations Resort and Spa. Its the first time me and my partner have been further afield on holiday as we usually head for spain or the Canaries and we were worried what to expect after a 10 hour flight but we couldn't of been more pleased. The room was excellent it was cleaned everyday and the towels were also changed every day . The food in the buffet restaurant wasn't up to much but we ate in 4 of the many themed restuauants and the food was excellent in there. Watch out for the men with the clip boards asking you to go on a VIP tour they are just trying to sell you a scheme that gets you to upgrade to wearing a gold bracelet and getting VIP treatment. But to be honest the staff treated everybody like a VIP they couldn,t do enough for you every member of staff went above and beyond the call of duty from the bell boys who carried your bags to the waiters and waitresses and bar staff. But we would like to say a special thank you to the entertainment team that with boundless energy and humour kept us highly entertained throughout the day from early in the morning to last thing at night especially George of the Jungle, Johnny Bravo who I nick named Bruno Mars and Lenny Kravatz who I nick named LMAFO as they were dead ringers for them we then acquired the nick names sexy mammy and pappy. The highlights of the whole trip were the mega extreme day which consisted of waterfall jumping, zip lining amd horse riding it was a brilliant day and also the welcome party that they have every sunday night were there were singers, dancers, fireworks and endless food and drink.One more word of warning take plenty of insect repellent because you do get bit. But all in all we had a great holiday its a shame its so far away.

Room Tip: wear something on your feet in the rocky parts of the sea put plenty of insect repellent on as you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first time at the Lifestyles Resort in Puerto Plata. It was difficult to get to but worth it. The Tropical Beach was very clean but noise can be a distraction in the corridors which are open at both ends. Other locations on the property have better accommodations but are options for members and their guests or those who are willing to pay extra. The grounds are well maintained and all of the staff are super friendly and aim to please your every need. Most of the staff speaks English and the activities staff is outstanding. I specifically want to mention Barbie, Puty Tan, Caramelo, Caramelo, Choco Choco, John Cena, Lenny Cravitz, and Jhony Bravo. They are terrific in providing activities around the pool area. George, who works at the pool Towel Counter, is also super and the music he plays is great. The beach is only average but the cabanas make up for it. And there is no problem with local vendors trying to sell you something on the beach. We were given four optional restaurants to try for dinner when we checked in via RCI Guest Services. That feature was a pleasant experience. We did not try to switch dates or exchange restaurants, so everything worked out fine. the buffet was good. It reminds me of the type of food you typically get at the buffet on cruise ships. There is a show every night and they are all very good. We didn't miss any of them except one which was rained out.

Room Tip: Rooms in Building 5 are very close to the main pool and even closer to the adults only pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was such a special experience. This was the first time my siblings and I vacationed together outside the country. Though we encountered several difficulties and disappointments with the Lifestyles reservations and that process, Tropical Beach Resort & Spa and their staff managed to salvage the occasion. The rooms were great.The staff was friendly and all seemed to enjoy their perspective jobs. Guests were kept engaged with the entertainment around the pool. 'Johnny Bravo' and 'Lenny Kravatz' were so energetic and entertaining; they made you want to be involved in the activities. This whole group made for a fun time, and they seemed to remember everybody's 'name', personalizing it all. It was great to have your choce of meals and meal times almost around the clock. The food was exceptional. Unfortunately, the after midnight "snacks" at the Blue Lagoon left a lot to be desired. All in all, we'll be back and bring friends..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at the Royal suites, which is part of the Tropical area of the huge Cofresi resort. For those trying to decipher the property. Cofresi Beach is the beach and community. The main Resort is called Cofresi by Lifestyle. The are 3 lobbies on the resort, all with their own pools, restaurants, bars, reception, etc. If you stay at any of the three, Cofresi, Tropical, or Residence you will have access to all three areas, which can be confusing walking between them, but you can always take the shuttle until you have the layout down. We found it faster to walk then wait for a bus though.
The word VIP seems to be thrown around loosely and it seemed like everyone had access to the "VIP" areas.. If it says VIP Members only....you have to have bought from them there and you would know it.
My father booked us a lovely suite in the area called the Royal Suites. It is 4 buildings, with about 6 units in each around a nice pool. The pool bar was closed the whole time and was completely stripped. The rooms were beautiful, large, and comfortable. Our room, staff, pool, etc were all 5star.

When we checked-in, at the tropical lobby, member services gave us a bottle of Red wine, and a bottle of Brugal Anejo rum. which was very nice. The bracelet we were given was blue and said interval on it. It did not say VIP. We enjoyed the NFL games all weekend in the VIP sports bar, but during the last game we were told we were in a members only area and we had to leave. That was embarrassing as we had made friends other fans and we were a little confused. The sports bar is in the "members only" area. Apparently owning Interval in Maui does not make you a member...only VIP, but everyone seemed to by VIP.

Every Sunday night they throw a huge welcome party. I recommend eating the great food and drinking heavily during the entertainment. They do a thing for families and kids, with lame singing and stuff, and got the kids on stage. We are glad we did not leave because awhile later we ended up on stage having a blast dancing (i mostly stumble about to the beat) with about 300 people until they shut down the music. It was fun. We went to a few more shows throughout the week and they were okay, but we weren't really into them, but others enjoying.

We spent most of our days at VIP beach. They served champagne, top shelf booze, great mixed drinks and had a short menu of good garden burgers and salads. VIP beach has beds with towels laid out. Some beds were bunk beds and most had curtains. It was a very relaxing place to chill.

In our opinion the worst part of the resort, they can do little about. Cofresi Beach is in a little bay with a reef out about a 1/3 mile. The bay traps plant debris and makes the water cloudy. Also the waves are re-break so are not consistent and not that much fun to play in. The sand is dark and not very soft. All over the beach are locals hounding you to do "water sports" or buy junk. It is kind of annoying. I also got numerous sand flea bites while laying in the sand that itched all week. My wife got mosquito bites while in our room that also itched all week.

When you check in they give you reservations for 4 different dinners. We really like Jazz, Rodazio Brazilian steakhouse, and the Italian restaurant. We did not like the Mexican joint, but some other nice guests said they were there for the 4th time in two weeks for the short ribs. We ate at the Italian place on out last night and my wife and I both ended up with diarrhea. Mine only lasted a day but my wife's lasted 5 days.

When you check-in they set an appointment for you the next morning for a sales pitch. We unplugged our phone and slept in. The salesmen try to corner you at Cassablanca, the wonderful buffet where we ate every breakfast and lunch. We just said no and ran away, which might be rude, but we didn't want to waste anyone's....especially ours.

We never went on any of the resorts excursions, which are grossly overpriced. We planned on just grabbing a cab or renting a car to do excursions, but they drive so crazy in the DR that it was stressful to leave the resort. We did go on the 27 waterfall trip, which takes up most of a day, but was really fun and worth it. We booked the trip by finally giving into one of the tour guides outside of the resort that will surely offer their services. We went with a guide that goes by Macarena that we met by the gate to OceanWorld.....a short walk from the resort. We talked him down to $60 for the two of us. It appeared to be a way better way to go then through the resort. Read my other review for the details of the 27 waterfalls.

In summary, we loved the resort, mostly because we drank and ate constantly and laid out by the pools. We met many nice people and loved our room. Despite loving the resort, we will likely not be going back and plan to find resorts with better beaches elsewhere in the world.

Room Tip: The Royal Suites are Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was such a good experience to enjoy life like a rich person. The staff is excellent. They are kind and nice people. Manny and Miguel of the golf services are awesome, they really accomodated our requests. Cheers for the both of them. The staff of the Casablanca were excellent as well. The whole time we were there in the resort, we were seated on the same table, and we were greeted by many of the friendly staff. Overall everything was great.The only thing I notice is that when you reserved for a la carte dining, you are always on the standby list. This is not good for people who likes to dine. The staff say that it is priority for VIP's. People are turned-off by this kind of reception, then when you invite them to become members, thats when they refuse. For myself and my wife, I thank personally the great services from your staff.

Room Tip: Building #5 is quiet and beside the adult POOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.