We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faison, party of five” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Save Saved
You added The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Roosevelt, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Faison, party of five”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was such a special experience. This was the first time my siblings and I vacationed together outside the country. Though we encountered several difficulties and disappointments with the Lifestyles reservations and that process, Tropical Beach Resort & Spa and their staff managed to salvage the occasion. The rooms were great.The staff was friendly and all seemed to enjoy their perspective jobs. Guests were kept engaged with the entertainment around the pool. 'Johnny Bravo' and 'Lenny Kravatz' were so energetic and entertaining; they made you want to be involved in the activities. This whole group made for a fun time, and they seemed to remember everybody's 'name', personalizing it all. It was great to have your choce of meals and meal times almost around the clock. The food was exceptional. Unfortunately, the after midnight "snacks" at the Blue Lagoon left a lot to be desired. All in all, we'll be back and bring friends..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,037
    764
    401
    262
    280
See reviews for
572
933
40
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at the Royal suites, which is part of the Tropical area of the huge Cofresi resort. For those trying to decipher the property. Cofresi Beach is the beach and community. The main Resort is called Cofresi by Lifestyle. The are 3 lobbies on the resort, all with their own pools, restaurants, bars, reception, etc. If you stay at any of the three, Cofresi, Tropical, or Residence you will have access to all three areas, which can be confusing walking between them, but you can always take the shuttle until you have the layout down. We found it faster to walk then wait for a bus though.
The word VIP seems to be thrown around loosely and it seemed like everyone had access to the "VIP" areas.. If it says VIP Members only....you have to have bought from them there and you would know it.
My father booked us a lovely suite in the area called the Royal Suites. It is 4 buildings, with about 6 units in each around a nice pool. The pool bar was closed the whole time and was completely stripped. The rooms were beautiful, large, and comfortable. Our room, staff, pool, etc were all 5star.

When we checked-in, at the tropical lobby, member services gave us a bottle of Red wine, and a bottle of Brugal Anejo rum. which was very nice. The bracelet we were given was blue and said interval on it. It did not say VIP. We enjoyed the NFL games all weekend in the VIP sports bar, but during the last game we were told we were in a members only area and we had to leave. That was embarrassing as we had made friends other fans and we were a little confused. The sports bar is in the "members only" area. Apparently owning Interval in Maui does not make you a member...only VIP, but everyone seemed to by VIP.

Every Sunday night they throw a huge welcome party. I recommend eating the great food and drinking heavily during the entertainment. They do a thing for families and kids, with lame singing and stuff, and got the kids on stage. We are glad we did not leave because awhile later we ended up on stage having a blast dancing (i mostly stumble about to the beat) with about 300 people until they shut down the music. It was fun. We went to a few more shows throughout the week and they were okay, but we weren't really into them, but others enjoying.

We spent most of our days at VIP beach. They served champagne, top shelf booze, great mixed drinks and had a short menu of good garden burgers and salads. VIP beach has beds with towels laid out. Some beds were bunk beds and most had curtains. It was a very relaxing place to chill.

In our opinion the worst part of the resort, they can do little about. Cofresi Beach is in a little bay with a reef out about a 1/3 mile. The bay traps plant debris and makes the water cloudy. Also the waves are re-break so are not consistent and not that much fun to play in. The sand is dark and not very soft. All over the beach are locals hounding you to do "water sports" or buy junk. It is kind of annoying. I also got numerous sand flea bites while laying in the sand that itched all week. My wife got mosquito bites while in our room that also itched all week.

When you check in they give you reservations for 4 different dinners. We really like Jazz, Rodazio Brazilian steakhouse, and the Italian restaurant. We did not like the Mexican joint, but some other nice guests said they were there for the 4th time in two weeks for the short ribs. We ate at the Italian place on out last night and my wife and I both ended up with diarrhea. Mine only lasted a day but my wife's lasted 5 days.

When you check-in they set an appointment for you the next morning for a sales pitch. We unplugged our phone and slept in. The salesmen try to corner you at Cassablanca, the wonderful buffet where we ate every breakfast and lunch. We just said no and ran away, which might be rude, but we didn't want to waste anyone's....especially ours.

We never went on any of the resorts excursions, which are grossly overpriced. We planned on just grabbing a cab or renting a car to do excursions, but they drive so crazy in the DR that it was stressful to leave the resort. We did go on the 27 waterfall trip, which takes up most of a day, but was really fun and worth it. We booked the trip by finally giving into one of the tour guides outside of the resort that will surely offer their services. We went with a guide that goes by Macarena that we met by the gate to OceanWorld.....a short walk from the resort. We talked him down to $60 for the two of us. It appeared to be a way better way to go then through the resort. Read my other review for the details of the 27 waterfalls.

In summary, we loved the resort, mostly because we drank and ate constantly and laid out by the pools. We met many nice people and loved our room. Despite loving the resort, we will likely not be going back and plan to find resorts with better beaches elsewhere in the world.

Room Tip: The Royal Suites are Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was such a good experience to enjoy life like a rich person. The staff is excellent. They are kind and nice people. Manny and Miguel of the golf services are awesome, they really accomodated our requests. Cheers for the both of them. The staff of the Casablanca were excellent as well. The whole time we were there in the resort, we were seated on the same table, and we were greeted by many of the friendly staff. Overall everything was great.The only thing I notice is that when you reserved for a la carte dining, you are always on the standby list. This is not good for people who likes to dine. The staff say that it is priority for VIP's. People are turned-off by this kind of reception, then when you invite them to become members, thats when they refuse. For myself and my wife, I thank personally the great services from your staff.

Room Tip: Building #5 is quiet and beside the adult POOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our 7th time vacationing at the Lifestyles Resort and it was the best vacation yet. The food was even better than the last six times which is hard to believe because we have always immensely enjoyed the cuisine. All of the staff have always been polite and courteous, and they have started to learn English, which of course we enjoy. I would like to mention that Manuel Guzman and George made our stay just that much better.

Room Tip: Every room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We got an unbelievable deal through Cheap Caribbean and thought it would be too good to be true. The resort turned out to be beautiful, so clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We never had to wait but a minute or 2 for a drink and the food was great and plentiful. Pools and beach were great.

Room Tip: The Confresi sister hotel fills up with the locals on the weekend. The Lifestyle side has a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has it all! The members in our travel group range from 72 to 8 years in age and everyone had a great time. The 70 year olds enjoyed all of the cuisine options, sitting aound the pool listening to music and playing dominos. While the 30 to 50 year olds enjoyed the covered VIP beds by the beach, water sports and sampling the wonderful drinks. Our younger travelers enjoyed the Kidz Club, where they went to the aquarium, horse back riding, and created a broadway worthy play. The kids looked forward to participating the Kidz Club almost as much as their parents wanted them (the kids) to take off. We enjoyed it so much that we went back for a second visit during Thanksgiving 2012. The staff treated us as if we were part of their family.

Room Tip: All accomodations were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was by far the worst vacation we ever had. The food was awful, the liquor limited unless you paid the extra VIP charge and the room was NOISY with LOUD, LOUD, LOUD music by the pool from 9 AM to at least 10 PM. Unless you timed it just right there was NO water coming out of the shower. The people who work there are very nice but there was only so much they could make up for. Watch out for the 10 minute sales pitch which will last for two hours. And don't believe the statement that you have 4 days to cancel the purchase. If you do cancel they will hit you with all kinds of fees. We don't eat fast food very often but the best meal on our trip was at Taco Bell on the way home from the airport.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.