We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servicio Excellente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Save Saved
You added The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Servicio Excellente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was such a good experience to enjoy life like a rich person. The staff is excellent. They are kind and nice people. Manny and Miguel of the golf services are awesome, they really accomodated our requests. Cheers for the both of them. The staff of the Casablanca were excellent as well. The whole time we were there in the resort, we were seated on the same table, and we were greeted by many of the friendly staff. Overall everything was great.The only thing I notice is that when you reserved for a la carte dining, you are always on the standby list. This is not good for people who likes to dine. The staff say that it is priority for VIP's. People are turned-off by this kind of reception, then when you invite them to become members, thats when they refuse. For myself and my wife, I thank personally the great services from your staff.

Room Tip: Building #5 is quiet and beside the adult POOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,082
    783
    407
    268
    286
See reviews for
604
949
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our 7th time vacationing at the Lifestyles Resort and it was the best vacation yet. The food was even better than the last six times which is hard to believe because we have always immensely enjoyed the cuisine. All of the staff have always been polite and courteous, and they have started to learn English, which of course we enjoy. I would like to mention that Manuel Guzman and George made our stay just that much better.

Room Tip: Every room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We got an unbelievable deal through Cheap Caribbean and thought it would be too good to be true. The resort turned out to be beautiful, so clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We never had to wait but a minute or 2 for a drink and the food was great and plentiful. Pools and beach were great.

Room Tip: The Confresi sister hotel fills up with the locals on the weekend. The Lifestyle side has a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has it all! The members in our travel group range from 72 to 8 years in age and everyone had a great time. The 70 year olds enjoyed all of the cuisine options, sitting aound the pool listening to music and playing dominos. While the 30 to 50 year olds enjoyed the covered VIP beds by the beach, water sports and sampling the wonderful drinks. Our younger travelers enjoyed the Kidz Club, where they went to the aquarium, horse back riding, and created a broadway worthy play. The kids looked forward to participating the Kidz Club almost as much as their parents wanted them (the kids) to take off. We enjoyed it so much that we went back for a second visit during Thanksgiving 2012. The staff treated us as if we were part of their family.

Room Tip: All accomodations were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was by far the worst vacation we ever had. The food was awful, the liquor limited unless you paid the extra VIP charge and the room was NOISY with LOUD, LOUD, LOUD music by the pool from 9 AM to at least 10 PM. Unless you timed it just right there was NO water coming out of the shower. The people who work there are very nice but there was only so much they could make up for. Watch out for the 10 minute sales pitch which will last for two hours. And don't believe the statement that you have 4 days to cancel the purchase. If you do cancel they will hit you with all kinds of fees. We don't eat fast food very often but the best meal on our trip was at Taco Bell on the way home from the airport.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I are members of Lifestyles. This was our first stay in the Tropical, and we enjoyed every moment of it! The room was very nice, food was great, service was exceptional! We stayed in the Cofresi side last year, and while it was very nice, we actually preferred the more central location of the Tropical. We were in building 3, very close to the lobby and Casablanca buffet. Despite the central location, our room was very quiet, and we never had trouble sleeping.

Worth mentioning:

The new Oh Crepes! restaurant on Serenity Beach - divine way to spend an afternoon or 3!

The new NV Beach - fab drinks, friendly staff and amazing thin-crust pizza

Jazz restaurant at the Presidential Suites was excellent as always

Moomtaz (Indian restaurant) - fantastic! Hi Safi - and thank you!

Harmony Beach, VIP Pool and the Sports Bar - just a few of our favourite places to relax :)


My husband and I both noticed a real step-up in customer service, even since just last year. What was once 'great' has gotten even better! Special thanks to John from VIP services for checking on us every day to see if we needed anything, Winston (the 'dreaded clip-board' guy who is totally awesome! :) Roberto and the entire Animacion Team for making sure everyone was having fun even in the rain, Beronica the waitress at the Sunday night party for her excellent service as always, Luciano at Harmony, Miriam at the Tropical lobby bar, and Willy the night-time shuttle driver - I am sure I have forgotten someone, but you are all amazing! See you all very soon! :)

There has been a lot of talk lately, here and there, that "Vacation Club" memberships are a scam, rip-off, etc...well, I have one and and I love it. Could you book a trip to this luxury resort through (any discount travel service) for a cheaper price than what I pay? You sure could! But you will not have access to all the best restaurants, bars and beaches on the property...and then you will not be happy. Long story short - you get what you pay for! If you don't want to get your own membership, you can book through a member and get most of the perks - there is no shortage of members out there that would be willing to do this for you...myself included.

Another thing worth mentioning - we went horseback riding on this trip...didn't book it through the resort though. Contacted Rancho Lorilar directly, before we left home. What an amazing excursion - best one we have ever done in 5 trips to Puerto Plata! Highly recommend it...I reviewed this seperately on Tripadvisor, and advise that you contact them directly (as opposed to booking though the resort) to save yourself some money. Contact info is on their Tripadvisor page.

Please feel free to send me a message if you have any questions about anything I've mentioned in my reviews and I would be more than happy to help.

Life is short...enjoy your vacation!

Room Tip: Book through a member to get the best rooms and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

First time to the Dominican Republic. Everyone we encountered was wonderful! Wonderful location with great amenities!! The VIP beach was a little busy and was hard to find a bed later in the day, but was a wonderful enviroment! Spend alot of time at the pool bar and never had an empty cup! Staff was very attentive to our requests and made sure that we were having a wonderful time!

The only real negative experience was with the vendors that were allowed in during the evening. They were very pushy and made you want to avoid the area at all costs.

Because of where we booked through we were forced to take a tour of their VIP offerings which was alot like a timeshare. However as soon as they realized that we were not going to give them money they let us go on our way and left us alone the rest of our trip!

Would not hesitate to go back to this resort as is was very relaxing with a great enviroment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.