We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times at Villas Jazmin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Villas Jazmin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Villas Jazmin
Save
You added Club Villas Jazmin to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   P.O. Box 628 | Cristobal Colon-Costambar, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, DC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Times at Villas Jazmin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

Villas Jazmin is the perfect place for those seeking a quiet, relaxing vacation. It is not a four star hotel with all the amenities, but a small residence with plenty of charm.

We stayed in a one bedroom villa which had a couch, kitchen table with chairs, refridgerator and a microwave. Cable tv and a DVD player along with a CD player were also provided. Each section has its own private pool area with a main pool located at the Villas Jazmin restaurant/bar.

Two blocks from the beach which can only be described as a Gilligan's Island scene. It is quiet during the week and on the weekends locals will come to the beach with music and food to relax.

Do not expect soft, white sand. The beach is protected by a coral reef which prevents rough waters from breaking down the seashells. However, the water is warm and clear. Carlos, the beach boy, will provide you with beach chairs for a little over $1 US per chair per day.

The nightlife consists of several local bars providing happy hours and karoke. The scene will not be like spring break given that most of the Villas Jazmin visitors are older than 35.

Each day there are excursions leaving the hotel for those wanting to do more than lie on the beach. I recommend the Jeep Safari tour.

There is the optional food plan for $160 per person for the week which includes your breakfast and dinner. While the food is excellent, many repeat visitors opted not to do the food plan. Costambar provides many restaurants with great food for cheap prices. The most I spent on a meal was $10 US.

The community is safe to walk around and explore during the day and night. I would highly recommend this for families or couples looking to have fun and relax.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    8
    8
    16
See reviews for
18
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

I had a blast at Villas Jazmin. Puerto Plata is secluded, private village situated in a lagoon with a lot of expensive mansions nearby. I was there in January and the greenery and the flowers were in abundance. The water is light green and warm even at this time of the year. There are barely any waves, so swimming is great. The villas are very comfortable and clean. The staff is the friendliest i've ever experienced. The food is plenty and very fresh and flavorful. At the front desk, I booked trips to coffee plant, fruit plantations, caves, etc. Villas Jazmin is RCI only resort, so I met a lot of people from Germany, Italy, Yugoslavia, and other countries.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

Arrival at Puerto Plata airport – There were 4 more flights arriving at the same time,12/24/05 at 2:30 pm , and the line for immigration was extremely long. First we had to stay in a line to buy the immigration card: $ 10. Secondly we had to wait in the line for the immigration officer. It took around 45 minutes to go through the process.

Taxi – It is $ 40 from the airport to Villas Jazmin. The cab vehicle was dirty, with no AC. The one-way taxi trip from Villas Jazmin to Puerto Plata is $ 17 and two-way trip is $ 25.

Accommodation – RCI told us this was a 4 star hotel! What a joke! Please do your due diligence and research before you exchange your weeks/points through RCI so you do not have to have similar experience we had. This was absolutely the worst accommodation we had in the last twenty years. Villas Jazmin is not a resort, and it is not a hotel. The reception is inside a little office with entrance from the street. The only entrance to the complex is through the one and only restaurant / bar. The unit is one level. The windows on the unit are small and ceiling is low. Once inside the unit we had the feeling we were in the basement. For the first time we entered the unit there was a weird smell that eventually we got used to. The unit we were in has the air conditioning but it only works when you lock the door from inside. You have to buy purified water, $ 2 per container, since it is not wise to wash the teeth with tap water. We did not have hot water for two days. There is no shampoo in the bathroom. We only got two hotel-size soaps for the entire stay.

Food – The RCI confirmation states that one can buy the meal plan, breakfast and dinner, at the rate of US 160 per week per person. We were charged US 213 per week per person. The quality of food and choice was terrible.

Safety - Villas Jazmin is inside the semi-gated community. It is relatively safe inside the gate during the day, however all houses have the metal bars on every single window for safety reason. The villas have an armed guard during the night. We paid additional US 15 to have the safe in the unit.

Bugs and pest – I found some strange, small, flat, speedy bug in the bed after couple of dozens of bites on my legs. On the street nearby the villas I saw a rat run over by a car.

Trip to Puerto Plata – Do not go, there is nothing to see except poverty.

Beach – Beach is 4 blocks from the complex. The old, broken beach chairs charge is $ 1.5 per chair per day. You also have to deposit $ 5 for a beach towel. Water is clean and warm. The space for swimming is limited due to the huge rocks in the water.

Tips - The last night of our stay we got two envelops with our name on it to place a tip for the restaurant staff and for the housekeepers.

Overall – It was horrible, see pictures. Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

The Dominican Republic is gorgeous and the beaches in the area are not over-crowded. The property of Club Villas Jazmin is well maintained and is clean. Do not expect to arrive at a hotel that is standard of the United States. The cleaning staff is fantastic, but the rooms are a bit run-down: old pillows and beds, cracked tile and some broken furniture. The restaurant at Villas Jazmin is good, we ate there almost every night because the food was so good. The staff at Villas Jazmin seems to be "spotty" at best. We witnessed several occasions of the staff offering to go out of their way for the other guests (ie: making special meals or arrangements), however, we did not receive this kind of treatment. We are aged early 30's and did not bring our children with us, we observed that typically the older guests or those with children were given "special treatment" by the staff. We were treated with a quiet disdain, which was unexpected, since we read such wonderful reviews about this resort. That being said, we were in the Dominican Republic to experience the land and the culture...and we did do that. The excursions that were planned were fantastic. We highly recommend the Jungle Safari...you will need to be in relatively good shape and be able to swim, but the experience is well worth it. Be prepared to barter for EVERYTHING...even in the grocery stores. We recommend that you take some time to learn a few words and phrases in Spanish and familliarize yourself with the conversion rates into Pesos before going. This country survives mainly on the tourism dollars and you will be taken advantage of if you do not understand how much things cost.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierrefonds Montreal
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2005

Warm, Friendly and Caring @ CLUB VILLAS JAZMIN

Got back 2 1/2 weeks ago March 22.
Hope to go back this Aug. (gotta go back)
I was impressed with how Helene manages it all and how
Professional and Caring each and every Staff Member is.

Compliments to the Chef.
Talk to Bill about the wonders of time share.
Thanks Bill see ya soon.
Excursions to do.
Beaches to enjoy but in need of grooming

Brugal Extra Viejo Rum and Chinola (passion fruit juice)!!,
Presidente Beer. Dancers, Singers, Cigar Night
I didn't have a chance to go to Barba Negro Bar nearby etc.
I can go on and on - another time perhaps

15th trip in as many years - 1st time at CLUB VILLAS JAZMIN

PS. I hope they were able to convince Luci the
Massotherapist from a neighbouring complex (exceptional)
to set up shop on prem ..... Then What a SPA.!

Don M

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

To use a travel guide cliché, Villas Jazmin is a “hidden treasure”. It’s a small, family-run resort just west of Puerto Plata, in the upscale suburb of Costámbar (= Amber Coast). It consists of a dozen one- and two-bedroom bungalow-style villas, plus apartments in several buildings down the street, for a total of 30 units. The Canadian owners are gradually expanding the accommodations, but the resort maintains its intimate, cosy atmosphere in which you very quickly get to know everyone who’s staying there. Many are timeshare owners and return every year. We were there in mid-February -- a perfect time of year, with temperatures of 75-80°F (24-27°C).
The resort is some 17 miles (27 km) from the Puerto Plata airport. The hectic taxi ride (US$30-35 plus tip) over potholed roads, the chaotic traffic and the exhaust pollution are enough to make you want to spend your entire week at the resort, which we did. Many other visitors (mostly Canadians and Americans, plus a few Europeans) went on excursions to visit the amber museum and the rum bottling plant at Puerto Plata, surf or snorkel at other beaches on the Atlantic shore, climb the mountain waterfalls and tour other parts of the country by jeep or by air-conditioned minibus, but several said they were not worth the US$40-95 cost. The cable car ride up the nearby Pico Isabel de Torres (2617 ft.) was unavailable (as it apparently often is) because of repairs.
A five-minute walk from the resort brings you to its own tree-shaded beach, dotted with thatched umbrellas and kept spotless by Carlos, the “beach boy”. At the high tide mark there is often a rim of crushed seashells – debris from the reef offshore – but once over that you can luxuriate in the soft clean sand and enjoy the warm water. The resort has its own pool (21 x 33 ft., plus jacuzzi and waterfall), which is great for kids and non-olympic adults.
The air-conditioned villas are kept spotless by an efficient staff, who change linens and towels every day. Some speak a little English, but it helps to know some Spanish. Our two-bedroom villa was not luxurious but spacious and comfortable, with firm beds and a single three-piece bathroom with shower. Water pressure was rather feeble. Although each unit has its own full kitchen, we advise buying the meal plan (US$160 pp per week for breakfast buffet and evening meal) because the restaurant food is so extraordinarily good that it’s worth taking a break from cooking to experience its gourmet quality. Breakfasts are a smorgasbord of fresh fruit and juices, cereal, eggs any style, bacon, sausages, crêpes, roast potatoes, sliced ham, cheeses, toast, jam, etc. After that you don't need lunch, though it's available at extra cost. Some dinners are buffet style with a different theme every night: Italian, seafood, beef/pork/chicken barbeque, Dominican specialties, etc. All dinners can also be ordered from the menu: the surf (lobster) and turf (beef filet) is especially good. All food is washed in purified water, so we had no hesitation in sampling the many fresh fruits and salads. They will sell you a 5-gallon container of purified water (US$2) to use in your unit; don’t drink or brush your teeth with tap water.
Our visit was an RCI timeshare exchange. Bill Cushing, the indefatigable RCI rep, hosts the evening entertainment on the small stage next to the restaurant. During the week we were serenaded (not all at once) by a singing guitarist, a 6-member Caribbean band and an 8-member troupe of dancers, who got us up dancing and doing a conga line among the tables and chairs.
Make friends with Hélène Bourke, the resort’s efficient manager, and you will enjoy an unforgettable personalized holiday – and want to go back next year!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Ontario. Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2005

Quiet warm hospitality with personalized service. Friendly neighbourhood where you feel comfortable venturing around at anytime. Gives you a sense of family and an area you might want to live in some-day. Not to be put in the same context of the Mega Resort but the comfortable lodge environment of the north. Walking the streets all the people where kind and friendly. I will return frequently the Villas Jazmin and encourage friends to come see what I have dicovered. Enjoy your Stay in Costumbar. This is my Idea of a paradise escape holiday. Lots to do for the adventure some.
A wecome retreat for the poet or writers at heart . The beach just a short stroll from the quiet beach which is also serviced by the Villas Jazim for its guests. The jewellry at the on-site gift shop was gorgeous and very reasonably priced, the art and souvieners where the best prices of anywhere we shopped.

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Villas Jazmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villas Jazmin

Address: P.O. Box 628 | Cristobal Colon-Costambar, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Villas Jazmin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Club Villas Jazmin Hotel Costambar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Villas Jazmin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.