We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Bachata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $2000 Resort Credit
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Room was very nice and the ocean view was perfect. We had room 328 in the blue building. I got a little tired of the buffet but the food was good and the meals cooked at the pool at lunch were excellent. The only issue we had was the front desk was not easy to deal with. You get one key - yes a key! And you can get a second key for a cash deposit. Not on a credit card, must be cash. They will take the cash in American money but will only return the money in Dominican dollars? Really? Then we had an issue with a day tour we had signed up for and they were of no help nor would they make a call to the tour operator for us. Then when we checked out we asked for an opinion card; we had 3 individuals we wanted to especially recommend as they were awesome to us. "We don't have opinion cards". Ok is there anyway we can recommend these people as we thought they were great and want to let you know - "no" and then walked away. So I found the front desk to be most uncooperative.
But all in all I would recommend the resort. It was clean and fun and definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 328 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    911
    819
    469
    250
    198
See reviews for
621
942
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Huge rooms and clean. Realy nice environment and friendly and really helpful staff. This country really have everything. Nice food specially variery. I really enjoyed my stayed in this resort. Was a really good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was there with 7 family members we had lots of fun with the night show, food was really good and the staff was really helpful it was a very comfortable place to be in I would like to visit again. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here 11th August to 18th August and I found thd hotel and staff to be friendly, clean and very good. Frederick the duty manager coild be seen at all times and was always approachable wiyh a kind word or advice. Jose and Dindo (Thompson reps) were good too, if you run out of suntan lotion, aftersun or any other toiletries they always had loads, so when you leave do the same as others and leave that half empty bottle of shampoo with them for someone else. My one big tip is to organise a trip out of the hotel on the Saturda, as it is now common practice for a lot of the hotels on the island to sell off rooms to thd locals, its gets really busy and crowded and to be honest the hotel really only caters to thd locals then. So book a trip out and book a table at the resturants on Friday and Saturday night liks we did.

Room Tip: Be warned our family room was 2 queen sized beds pushed together!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to the Bachata in June our third visit the first being in 2007 when we thought it was Very Good. We then went in 2009 and it was still good but not quite. Well this time could not get over how bad the Food and Entertainment had got and the weekends are just a nightmare. The first time we went they did let locals in at the week-end but not to many now it is just overcrowded with them and they go to the restaurant and bring food out then just leave want they do not want round the pool or anywhere they like and the children have no manners. Also when we were there the buffet restaurant did not open at lunchtimes so everybody used the main restaurant where some of the food was not even cooked through (Burgers RAW in the middle) The entertainment team were very hard working but it seemed the same old thing all the time. Definately not now a 5* more a 3*. The staff though were lovely and always pleasant and would say Hola. Jose and Dinda were lovely to

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Writing this while sitting in my room during our 2nd week here. This hotel is lovely. Its kept very clean, rooms cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels every day. The fridge and mini bar in room is restocked every other day.
The entertainment crew are fantastic and are always friendly and lively even though they work from 9.30am through to 11.30pm. Laptop, Happy Man, Tracy, Angelina, Eminem, DJ Black Banana and Gigi to name a few, they get paid peanuts but work extremely hard.
The food is fantastic with a huge variety and caters for all. The catering staff also very friendly and do all they can to help.
It is slightly busier on weekends but nothing to worry about. Just be sensible with belongings. I did read some reviews before I came here and admit I was dreading it and was worried we had wasted a lot of money but I have been pleasantly surprised and will be coming back again next year.
Caribbean street can be more expensive than the shop on site if like me you are not very good at haggling

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The holiday started well and we were impressed at the standard of the complex. The area was lovely and being on the beach was beautiful. However! It was overrun by locals at weekends and beyond, taking advantage of special deals. I suspect, taking advantage of more than the deals since on day 8 of our trip my bag was stolen, robbed of all the contents, camera,,phone mobile but worse, safe keywas stolen. Room entered and entire safe contents taken; Passports, cash, credit cards, flight tickets, wallet, purse....the lot!
Adding insult to injury, from the robbery time at 3pm, the Thomsons Rep. didn't appear until 7pm the following night!!! Emma, was useless, giving us wrong advice about passport needs.This resulted in mad dash to the embassy to obtain emergency passports.
Hotel management insisted this was an unusual occurance and tried to keep the incident of the robbery low key.
It was remiss of us to keep our keys in the beach bag, but we later were informed from most of the other British residents that they were doing the same thing.
While the other two reps from Thomsons and First Choice proved to be most helpful and obliging at this time, they were obviously being guided by Thomsons not to talk about the fact of the robbery. They made no effort to advise other British quests of the trauma we had suffered,
Security is very poor and upgrading of safe and room keys to a card and code system needs to be addressed immediately.
Had the meet and greet rep stressed to us on the bus to the Hotel , the importance of being extra vigilant about keeping keys safe due to possible robbery, I am sure we would have taken heed.
The good parts of the holiday, ie entertainment, food and souroundings was lost to us due this traumatic experience.
Reading the other reviews coupled with my own experience, leads me conclude that Thomsons should not include this Hotel in thier brochure until the security is upgraded and the influx of locals in the numbers allowed in the hotel is curtailed.
We had to phone home for family to arrange passport payment of £350 for two passports and Thomsons ADDED a further £30 admin fee to transfer this card payment from their UK office to Dominican Republic !! They even rufused to assist with $10 required for passport photos!
On top of all this, the Insurance company have refused compenstion, since the robbery was due to carelessness; the keys should not have been in my bag but should have been left at reception! Be warned!
I will not be returning to this Hotel. A lovely venue....spoiled by lack of security and acknowledgment from the tour company that this is an unsafe environment for British tourists.

Room Tip: Be very selective to assure a good view...lots have no view except to face another building!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Bachata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.