We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Bachata to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Huge rooms and clean. Realy nice environment and friendly and really helpful staff. This country really have everything. Nice food specially variery. I really enjoyed my stayed in this resort. Was a really good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    886
    502
    256
    201
See reviews for
679
1,004
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was there with 7 family members we had lots of fun with the night show, food was really good and the staff was really helpful it was a very comfortable place to be in I would like to visit again. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here 11th August to 18th August and I found thd hotel and staff to be friendly, clean and very good. Frederick the duty manager coild be seen at all times and was always approachable wiyh a kind word or advice. Jose and Dindo (Thompson reps) were good too, if you run out of suntan lotion, aftersun or any other toiletries they always had loads, so when you leave do the same as others and leave that half empty bottle of shampoo with them for someone else. My one big tip is to organise a trip out of the hotel on the Saturda, as it is now common practice for a lot of the hotels on the island to sell off rooms to thd locals, its gets really busy and crowded and to be honest the hotel really only caters to thd locals then. So book a trip out and book a table at the resturants on Friday and Saturday night liks we did.

Room Tip: Be warned our family room was 2 queen sized beds pushed together!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to the Bachata in June our third visit the first being in 2007 when we thought it was Very Good. We then went in 2009 and it was still good but not quite. Well this time could not get over how bad the Food and Entertainment had got and the weekends are just a nightmare. The first time we went they did let locals in at the week-end but not to many now it is just overcrowded with them and they go to the restaurant and bring food out then just leave want they do not want round the pool or anywhere they like and the children have no manners. Also when we were there the buffet restaurant did not open at lunchtimes so everybody used the main restaurant where some of the food was not even cooked through (Burgers RAW in the middle) The entertainment team were very hard working but it seemed the same old thing all the time. Definately not now a 5* more a 3*. The staff though were lovely and always pleasant and would say Hola. Jose and Dinda were lovely to

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Writing this while sitting in my room during our 2nd week here. This hotel is lovely. Its kept very clean, rooms cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels every day. The fridge and mini bar in room is restocked every other day.
The entertainment crew are fantastic and are always friendly and lively even though they work from 9.30am through to 11.30pm. Laptop, Happy Man, Tracy, Angelina, Eminem, DJ Black Banana and Gigi to name a few, they get paid peanuts but work extremely hard.
The food is fantastic with a huge variety and caters for all. The catering staff also very friendly and do all they can to help.
It is slightly busier on weekends but nothing to worry about. Just be sensible with belongings. I did read some reviews before I came here and admit I was dreading it and was worried we had wasted a lot of money but I have been pleasantly surprised and will be coming back again next year.
Caribbean street can be more expensive than the shop on site if like me you are not very good at haggling

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The holiday started well and we were impressed at the standard of the complex. The area was lovely and being on the beach was beautiful. However! It was overrun by locals at weekends and beyond, taking advantage of special deals. I suspect, taking advantage of more than the deals since on day 8 of our trip my bag was stolen, robbed of all the contents, camera,,phone mobile but worse, safe keywas stolen. Room entered and entire safe contents taken; Passports, cash, credit cards, flight tickets, wallet, purse....the lot!
Adding insult to injury, from the robbery time at 3pm, the Thomsons Rep. didn't appear until 7pm the following night!!! Emma, was useless, giving us wrong advice about passport needs.This resulted in mad dash to the embassy to obtain emergency passports.
Hotel management insisted this was an unusual occurance and tried to keep the incident of the robbery low key.
It was remiss of us to keep our keys in the beach bag, but we later were informed from most of the other British residents that they were doing the same thing.
While the other two reps from Thomsons and First Choice proved to be most helpful and obliging at this time, they were obviously being guided by Thomsons not to talk about the fact of the robbery. They made no effort to advise other British quests of the trauma we had suffered,
Security is very poor and upgrading of safe and room keys to a card and code system needs to be addressed immediately.
Had the meet and greet rep stressed to us on the bus to the Hotel , the importance of being extra vigilant about keeping keys safe due to possible robbery, I am sure we would have taken heed.
The good parts of the holiday, ie entertainment, food and souroundings was lost to us due this traumatic experience.
Reading the other reviews coupled with my own experience, leads me conclude that Thomsons should not include this Hotel in thier brochure until the security is upgraded and the influx of locals in the numbers allowed in the hotel is curtailed.
We had to phone home for family to arrange passport payment of £350 for two passports and Thomsons ADDED a further £30 admin fee to transfer this card payment from their UK office to Dominican Republic !! They even rufused to assist with $10 required for passport photos!
On top of all this, the Insurance company have refused compenstion, since the robbery was due to carelessness; the keys should not have been in my bag but should have been left at reception! Be warned!
I will not be returning to this Hotel. A lovely venue....spoiled by lack of security and acknowledgment from the tour company that this is an unsafe environment for British tourists.

Room Tip: Be very selective to assure a good view...lots have no view except to face another building!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I visited this hotel with my husband and 14 year old daughter from 4th – 18th August 2013 and wanted to write a review of what I experienced during my holiday

I’ll break it down

Arrival – we were greeted upon arrival with a cold drink and all our keys/safe key/ towel cards already in an envelope. I would say that we were headed to our room within 5 mins.

Rooms – we were in room 409 which was on the ground floor of the block adjacent to the snack bar. The room was spotless although a little dated but this is the Dominican Republic and your not going to find 5* accommodation that’s equivalent to other places in the world. The air con wasn’t switch on upon entering the room but was easy to use and the room cooled down quickly. Anyone with small children beware, the glass that is on top of the cabinets and table moves very easily and could fall off with little to no effort. Our room was cleaned every day along with clean towels and towels were arranged in sculptures with flowers every day too. We did not have any bugs or insects in our room for the entire time except for a small lizard which ran out when we opened the door. TV only had a few English channels which is what you expect when your abroad. The fridge kept drinks very cold and was refilled every 2 days but if we asked for an extra diet pepsi, they always obliged without protest.

Reps –Jose and Dindo were excellent – please go to the welcome meeting we were glad that we did when someone pinched our pool towel. They were very informative about the accommodation and excursions and the thank you that we received of Jose when our holiday ended was so sincere and genuine that the whole coach applauded him. He genuinely loves his Country and considers all who visit his ‘family’.

Grounds/ lobby/ pool area – This was also spotless and cleaned all day every day by bright and cheery workers that always had a ‘Hola’ for the guests. They all worked really hard and nothing was too much trouble.

Drinks – White wine was not good but a bit of 7up soon sorted that out and their local brew ‘presidente’ was always served nice and cold. There are other reports that the alcohol was watered down – my Mojito was so strong and tasty and knocked me sideways lol !!. You could help yourself to soft drinks at all bars and beer and wine were on tap in the buffet restaurant. Water is available at all bars and restaurants along with most fruit juices. Self serve coffee machines were available throughout but if your a tea drinker, bring your own tea bags and the ones they had were awful.

Food – The food was limited but there was always a choice of pasta, fish, meat and vegetable on offer. The fish however was not of a good quality and once was enough for me. Meat was a bit hit and miss too – sometimes tasty other times fatty and bland. Every night in the buffet there was a different theme and the speciality of the night– Italian, Seafood and Mexican etc was served at the first station on the right. Pizza and burgers where served along with chips and there was a big selection of salads, dressings, cheese, cold meats and fruit. Plenty of cakes for pudding although most of these were tasteless. Breakfast was the usual. Cereals, pancakes along with eggs, omelettes, bacon and sausage.

Restaurants – There are 4 in total, the main buffet, 2 a la carte and the snack bar. The snack bar doubled up as the steakhouse in the evening. The buffet restaurant was not air conditioned and during breakfast and lunch, all the doors were kept open. This allowed flies and birds to enter the restaurant – birds I don’t have a problem with but the flies OMG !!. None of the cold food was covered and the flies were all over it – this meant that we couldn’t eat salads, cold meats, dressings, bread, cheese, fruit or puddings. Management really need to address this and either keep the doors closed at all times or cover up the cold food. Me and my husband were sick during our time here with myself sick from day 2 until now, 5 days home. That said, the restaurant was spotless and all the staff and servers immaculately dressed. There was also a member of staff with hand sanitiser at the entrance too – use it. The snackbar served a continental breakfast and burgers pizza etc at lunchtime. With this restaurant being mainly outdoor, all cold food was covered up. The steakhouse and the Italian offered a hot and cold buffet as a starter and a choice of 3 or 4 mains – hard luck if your a veggie as all the mains were meat with the exception of salmon which was offered in the Italian. The Italian was the only place that was air conditioned besides your room and it was lovely to eat where it was lovely and cool with no flies. Our server for the majority of our stay was Elvin who was fantastic and a credit to this hotel – thanks Elvin xxxx

Pools – We found the pools to be quite clean Monday to Thursday. They were cleaned from 7pm every night and again first thing in the morning. There was also a swim up pool bar and another bar to get drinks. The only problem was there were no steps down into the pool, you either had to jump in and climb out or use the ladders. There was never a shortage of loungers but if you want one in the shade, you do have to get there earlyish. Pool towels are provided by using a card and can be changed if needed throughout the day – my tip, when you go in for lunch, take them back and get new ones for the afternoon as we had one pinched albeit it was the weekend when it’s busier.

Beach – The beach was lovely and cool and although there are a lot of trees, we always found somewhere in the sun – no beach bar though so to get a drink, you had to go back to the pool bar.

Entertainment - The entertainment during the day consisted of darts, mini golf and aqua aerobics. On an ad hoc basis, there were some games which holiday makers participated in – usually resulting in complete humiliation – yes they got me!!! They had water volley ball and beach volley ball and some dancing sessions. With the exception of water aerobics and humiliation games, most of the activities took place away from the pool. Evening entertainment started with a mini disco with the same songs every night and a show of some sort – most were really good especially the Caribbean Street Party. The entertainment around the pool as mentioned before was none existent for the most part of the day and the entertainment team had a siesta from 12.30 – 3pm – never seen this before as in other places we have been; it’s been virtually nonstop from around 10am until very late afternoon. Not a lot of music is played throughout the day at the pool which we missed but if you want peace and quiet this may be ok for you.

Animation Team – I cant say enough about how hard the entertainment team work. Their day starts around 9.30am and they are still going around 11pm – phew !! They went out of their way to include everyone in the activities and made my daughter Chloe’s holiday a brilliant experience by keeping her company and including her as much as possible. So a special hello and thank you to Happy Man, Lap Top, Eminem Gigi, Pinky – hope your arm is better - and Tracey you all made our holiday – From John – Liverpool – Chloe Ipad and Sharon xxx

Locals – Now..... here’s where the problems start. I knew about the Locals as I’d read trip advisor and I saw the article in the Daily Mail. I also contacted Thomson before we left who assured me that they had dealt with the problem and the Riu Hotel Group had agreed not to over fill the hotel. The first weekend it was not too bad as we booked the Bravissimo show on the Saturday night and Friday we were both sick and didn’t stay out long but boy did it hit us our 2nd weekend. There were hundreds of them!

This is what we experienced

• Pool Towel – stolen
• Daughters sunglasses – stolen
• I was hit on the head twice while watching the evening show by the same kid
• Someone tried to take my chair while I was watching the show while I was sitting on it
• People in the pool fully clothed and wearing their shoes!!
• When checked out – they don’t go home, they just come back to the pool and stay there with all their kids and suitcases until they are moved out
• Mayhem in the buffet restaurant – book the a la carte’s as early as possible on the day at the entrance to the buffet – be quick they fill up quickly as everyone tries to book
• 2 young girls washing and combing their hair in the pool – yes that’s IN the pool yuck
• The aqua aerobics was like visiting my clubbing days !!! They were all drunk and working themselves into a frenzy, drinking and dancing to the music – I’ve got video evidence of this too – there were that many people in the pool it was like a sea of bodies

And the best touch was.....armed police by the pool and walking around the complex over the weekends I just couldn’t believe my eyes !!

Thomson should be ashamed of themselves offering this complex as a platinum holiday and to lie and tell me the problem had been addressed. No doubt they will drop this hotel from their 2014 selection just as they did the Gran Caribe in Cancun.

Shame on you Thomson - for taking people's hard earned cash and marketing this complex as a platunum holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Bachata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.