We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort - Do not listen to poor reviews.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Bachata to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort - Do not listen to poor reviews.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I, along with two other couples visited this resort Feb 15-22, 2013. After reading numerous negative reviews I became nervous, but after my arrival at the Riu Bachata I came to the conclusion that some people are simply insane.

The resort itself is an absolute 5 Star and deserves that rating. Puerta Plata has different beaches compared to Punta Cana or Cuba - but you should be aware of the differences when you select your destination. Riu Bachata is a 5 Star in Puerta Plata, DR - so if you've travelled elsewhere you should NOT have the same expectations in regards to the beaches. To me this is simply common sense, but apparently not to other reviewers.

Our flight had minor delays both ways, which in all did not really effect us. With winter weather and being a frequent flyer from Canada - I have come to except these types of things - nothing anyone can do about it.

Bus ride to resort and check in was a breeze, check in took a total of 30 seconds (greeted with drinks and snacks)

Room was typical to most resorts down south. There was little bit of musty/damp smell as there is with all the resorts down there - it's a hot climate and this cannot be avoided. Beautiful towel animals, flowers, etc. Maid was on top of everything - room was spotless everyday and no issue with safe or anything being stolen. Fridge was restocked as necessary - we never had an issue. After being out in the sun all day we were usually quite tired by bed time, and went right to sleep, so I have no complaints about the beds.

Staff was amazing - the entertainment team was always around and constantly making people laugh or getting them involved in activities such as sports, dance classes, water aerobics, etc,, The bar staff and dining staff were constantly at your services doing everything they possibly could for you. The resort was always spotless and you would constantly see people cleaning or painting and boy did it make a difference - it really was a beautiful vacation place.

The alcoholic drinks were fine, no complaints, they were indeed watered down a bit. But thank god for that - because if they weren't there would be too many loaded people by the end of the day, due to the bars buzzing early in the morning and the amount of people drinking non-stop all day. It's free alcohol and you can go back and get as much as you want, who cares if they are not as strong - better for you! (I highly recommend mamajuanna shots!)

The pool was a typical resort pool, if you want your preferred spot you will need to get up early to deserve loungers. We slept in every day and had no problem finding some. Pool was big and typical with bar.

Casino was typical, we generally avoid the casinos but our friends we were travelling with used it and it was pretty standard. We never made it to a disco - didn't hear much about it.

Nightly entertainment we did not fully take advantage of. We watched the show Grease one night and Karaoke another night - both nights were a lot of fun glad we watched them - highly recommend both shows.

Beach was standard - typical for a Puerta Plata beach. Not as much white sand as Punta Cana or Cuba beaches but still beautiful. Just remember if you've been to other places it will be different, so go into it with different expectations.

The found was great- lots of variety. I am more picky so tended to stay with the same 10 things or so but my boyfriend ate pretty much everything and thought it was great. Lots of variety, different things each meal. The omelettes they make you in the morning are delicious! Pizza is excellent ! We had no problems eating the food at all - our stomaches were fine all week and we were not cautious with what we ate - at a 5 Star you shouldn't have to watch what you eat, so we didn't, ate lots and had zero issues.

We did one excursion to Paradise Island - it was incredible (highly recommend!). There is no shade though - so bring lots of sunscreen for the 3 hours your on the island! Drinks and sandwiches are provided on the island and then once your back on the land they provide you with a buffet lunch before taking you back to the resort! Bus ride there is 1.5 hours but there is lots to see and the guides are very knowledgeable and provide you with lots of fun information! My boyfriend has been snorkelling numerous times in Punta Cana and other destinations and said this was the best snorkelling he has ever experienced!

The A la Cartes were great, we went to both and had no issue getting reservations - you get two free, it's good food, take advantage of it!

We found so much to do and enjoyed our own resort (Riu Bachata) we never used the other RIU's facilities (The Riu Merenge) One night we walked through it though and it looks quite similar to our own.

We had a couples massage on the beach which was wonderful. If you go with Signature Vacations and bring your booking information you get 20$USD off per person, which makes it very reasonable!

All in all, excellent trip, we saw no rain - it was sunny and beautiful all 7 days we were there. The mountains surrounding the resort are exceptional, I found it was a difference between our resort and other resorts - something different, makes it unique. It was Paradise, we would go back if we didn't like to try somewhere new each year. Again, anyone who thinks negatively about this place clearly has something wrong with them. I would recommend to everyone ! Families, couples, singles, etc..

Room Tip: We were in Rooms 926, 927, and 928. They were quiet, but very close to everything (pool, buffet, sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    886
    506
    256
    201
See reviews for
680
1,005
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Last November ( 2012 ) due to a malfunction with the plane scheduled to bring us back
to the UK we were delayed overnight in Puerto Plata. Arrangments were made for us to
be accommodated at the Hotel Riu Bachate with all the facilities on an all-inclusive basis.
I must commend the whole staff, particularly the manager Friedrich Stieb, for making our
short stay so memorable. The Restaurant, buffet style, was par excellent in its presentation,
food quality and choice. I was indeed pleasantly surprised. In the words of another famous
personage - " I shall returm " - Patrick Carthy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is pretty much on par to most other 5 star all inclusive resorts, with one exception - the staff are very friendly and accommodating, which makes the experience better.

The rooms are really nothing to write home about, in fact they are pretty standard.

Overall a good value for the price and a fun vacation. I am not a fan of food at either of the resorts I stayed at in the Dominican Republic, but there is a ton of selection at the buffet at the Bachata. The a la carte restaurants were just okay. Breakfast and lunch seem to be manageable.

We also always got a beach chair or found a spot at the pool, so bonus here.

As well, the destination wedding we attended was gorgeous - the location is just breathtaking.

Tips: when swimming in ocean, watch for sea urchins.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was as we expected. Not too fancy but very nice grounds and well kept surroundings. The staff was not extremelly friendly but nice and courteous overall.
I like that RIU offers in room mini bar included.
The bathroom was very clean and I took a bath in the tub because I felt it was very clean. =)
The entertainment was very good and there was always something to do. At night, I loved the live band which played a variety of music. Very good band and singers. HOpe you enjoyed your stay as we did. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in sunny Puerto Plata Feb 5-19/2013 ,this was our first visit to the Dominican. We have always enjoyed Cancun/Playa Del Carmen but we were up for a change.the Riu chain is our go to resorts, and this one didn't disappoint us , the food was excellent even considering most of their food is prepared on flat top grills rather than open fire BBQ grills which we enjoy. The Bachata was well run and clean,never a problem, there was always someone from the Riu close at hand. The water in the pool and swim up bar was cool ,but after a drink or two your body was used to it .The beach at the Bachata is small and stoney, but since this resort has the Riu Merengue and Merengue Village attached to it you can walk to the east end of the complex and that beach is excellent with a beach bar and waiters also.It takes less than 5 minutes to walk from one end to the other and if you need to, you stop at the other restaurants or bars since you can use it all . We had to take out the dune buggies, that was a mudfest since it had rain the day before,we couldn't stop laughing-Highly recommend this excursion! We were in building 7-close to everything -excellent. Higly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

just returned from a seven day stay at the riu bachta feb.10 to 17 2013 .Arrived late because of snow storm friday before leaving on the sunday. arrived early monday morning to the bachta but the check in was quick and within a half hour we were settled in our room Room was very clean and was kept clean all week just as every thing else on the resot was the staff was always cleaning the grounds and the beach was raked every morning. The food was very good on the buffett with a lot of choices .alcart in the steak house was excellent did not get a chance to try the pasta house but heard that it also was good. the staff is fantasic always happy and go out of there way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. the entrtainment was great .Took the outback safari tour it fantasic would recommend it to anyone also took the city tour with the airial ride 800meters up the mountain side the views were amazing . Beach was nice lots of trees but if you wanted sun it was easy to find water was warm a little rocky but not all that bad .Would return in a heartbeat most relaxing time my wife and myself have ever had .Would recommend the bachata to family and friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hantsport N.S.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have travelled the world and have been to alot of hotels and I just returned from the Riu Bachata, and I have to say this hotel is excellent with very good service. I don't know what some reviewers are talking about when they say the food is bad, etc. We simply didn't see this at all ! The buffet is excellent as are the two speciality restaurants. The italian restaurant is a wonderfull dining experience with top notch food. All six in our party from Nova Scotia would go back to this hotel. Managers are talking to guests all day and evening asking how things are and is there anything they can do. We had a problem with the A/C and someone came and fixed that within a hour. That evening the phone rang and someone asked how it was working now. Our building had a problem with some rowdy obnoxious guys from Ontario (all nite long) The front desk indicated they had twelve complaints and there would not be anymore problems. This was true as a security guard was pacing the floor of the trouble makers with a shotgun !!! So be forwarned party goers this hotel does not fool around !
Go to the Riu Bachata to relax or site seeing trips, etc. There is something there for everyone and seemed to be a great family spot also with a active kids club.
Only drawback we all agreed was the drinks. Not sure but could stand a bit more attention and better quality spirits. The mix from the fountain was always flat, so perhaps the mixture of gas was incorrect. Every bar seemed the same. But we made out fine, and soon caught on to what we found suitable.
Our ladies were tickled when they found the traditional "happy hour ring" that they had over 15 years ago in Dominican, made with ladimar stone (blue stone only mined in DR) So they had two disigned and picked up before we came home. A nice touch with great memories at Riu Bachata !

ENJOY !

Room Tip: Had room 1220 which was excellent ! I'd ask for a top floor for the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Bachata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.