We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Bachata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $2000 Resort Credit
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Well taken care resort, not perfect, but none ever is. Over all we had a great time and part of it was that we traveled with a good friends. Location was beautiful –hills on the background and lushes greenery around. Very nice, large and clean pool. Lots of places around the pool and on the beach to hide from the hot sun. Drink and snacks delivered to your chair-nice touch! Our room was nice-fresh and updated with some sea view (a bonus). No problem with musty smell, bugs and clean to perfection (trust me I know-we are innkeepers ourselves). Plenty of hot water for shower (narrow shower – we are not big people) and well stocked mini bar. Never tried the restaurants-we are vegan and it is much easier to find something on the buffet than explain to the waiter what we do or not do eat. Buffet restaurant was fine, clean and well stocked. Servers were attentive most of the time and polite. Food- better than cafeteria, not fine dining- not expected one. Good variety, somewhat repetitive-none of us (we were a party of 4) was ever hungry. Red wine was horrible! Lobby was nice, with some sitting areas-free (slow) wifi -1 hour max a day/once per day. Found the drinks rather “thin” – especially at the pool bar. Mojitos were good while they lasted – 3 first days and then no fresh mint. Entertainment by regular crew-horrible, please send them for some training. In general whole entertainment stuff was well below expectation –full of fart jokes, sexual stereotypes and just plain boring. Grounds are well groomed daily by pleasant gardeners. Whole resort (with adjacent 2 others- Bachata is the newest and best of) nicely laid out for walks. Stay away from the strip of souvenirs stores – with exception of 1-2, all are “in your face” trying to sale-same with daily trip people-way to aggressive. We had relaxing massage on the beach – very nice, well priced. Will we go back?– no, but we never go to the same resort twice. We had a good time and for the amount we spent it was a good value. Use common sense- if you do not pay $3000 per person per week – it is not real 5 star resort with fine dining- you get what you pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    827
    476
    253
    198
See reviews for
639
949
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My new husband and I spend 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year 2012. What a wonderful holiday/ honeymoon we had. I had emailed the hotel requesting an upstairs room and also mentioned it was also our honeymoon so wanted it to be perfect as possible. On arrival we went to our room 434 which was very well placed in the resort and and spotlessly clean. Also we were welcomed to the entrance with beautiful swans made from napkins and flowers. This continued right up to our floor. Inside the room there was a touching honeymoon gift for us. What a lovely arrival. This set the scene for the rest of the 2 weeks. The staff are so dedicated and cannot do enough for you. All the areas are kept spotlessly clean and very organised. Both Gala Dinners for Christmas and New Year were outstanding. We found the food in general very good and always something there we wanted to eat. The staff spent all day on Christmas and New Year Eve's decorating the public areas and restaurant. Both were beautiful 10 out of 10 for all the efforts put into this. We found it very relaxed and laid back and enjoyed the option of visiting the other hotels within the resort. We also appreciated the fact that Friedrich Stieb, Manager Guest Services, took the time to come round the public areas most days and spoke to the guests to check all was okay. He was very interested in what you had to say. The only downside was the free Internet in the lobby was pretty hopeless a lot of the time but then again it is a third world country so I suppose it's got to be expected. There was a bit of a problem getting a sun lounger round the pool as people were reserving them and by 7.45am they were all taken. I complained to our rep about this and she assured me that management had been made aware of this and were taking steps to control this. Apart from his we had an absolute wonderful holiday/honeymoon and will definitely go back. Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Much has been written in the many reviews already available. Clearly there is a wide array of opinions. Our positives...... Food was fine but don't bother with the limited a la carte restaurants. Not worth the hassle. Wine on site is brutal. Bring your own if your thirsty.

We took the advice of some and got an Ocean view - top floor of buildings 1, 3 and 5. Worked out very well. Nice to see the sunset and have immediate access to a beautiful and lesser used beach. Pools were always busy but had a lot of fun at the swim up bar meeting people and enjoying the watered down rum based drinks. Beach at Bachata was not so nice and did not go in the water much as a result. Better to walk down to the Merengue beaches.

There is a casino and a $50 buy in Texas Hold'em table with $2 and $4 blinds. Louie runs the table and keeps order. Very nice guy - If you go please tell him Andrew from Ottawa says hello!
Enjoyed a few nights there with a cigar and made some money.

The evening shows at Bachata are terrible. Merengue is much much better. Our room was fine and only had one shower that we lacked hot water for 5 minutes. Showers were in good condition. Beds were firm, pillows lumpy and not comfortable. I would not go back but I prefer VRBO's to all you can consume....

When we arrived at the hotel at 1 am Saturday the valet then took an hour to bring us our luggage. Recommend DIY.

Had some massages on the beach and they were good.

Room Tip: Try the Texas hold'em table in the Casino. And stay away from the KENO game! Someone lost $35...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Food was almost the same every day - need to have more options and varieties.
Entertainment was not bad - almost the same every night - the timing was late especially for families who have kids. Need to be done before 9:30 - my suggestions right after the kids show at 8:30

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

To start, we went to this resort for a wedding with 16 people of all ages. It is most definately, not a 5 star. At best, a 2.5 start. I am majorly disappointed that RIU would let this hotel bear their name. None of the 3 RIU's on this strip are and don't be fooled. All of the guests, including the couple getting married were so disappointed. I can't believe her travel agent planned her wedding here...
Beach - rocky, bring water shoes. You can't get in to the water without walking on rocks, in fact, for an ocean lover like myself, I barely ever went in b/c it was so difficult. Water - lovely but rocks until far out but by then, you've given up to get to the sandy areas.
Rooms - Oh where to start...The water bottles were unsealed, refurbished and refilled, with water from where, who knows. They also were not replenished. Rooms were moldy and the bedding was disgusting, old, dated, dirty and the sheets, covers, everything smelled moldy. Our towels - were replaced possibly 3 X while we were there. I called front desk numerous times for face cloths - once at the start of the vacation I received 1 - but it was removed on day 3 and never again did the front desk a) answer my calls or b) follow through with stocking my room. The couch in our suite was visably stained, all over, disgusting. There are no coffee machines in the rooms. In fact, there is only coffee at the front buffet in the mornings. So, unless you have someone who likes to get dressed and walk 2 km to grab coffee so you can enjoy a coffee on your balcony - forget it, you ain't getting any. There is NO iron in the rooms. It costs you $20 (at the front desk - you have to carry it even if you are the BRIDE) to your room and you can have it for 24 hours, then, it must be returned. Our room wasn't cleaned until close to 5 every day. Combine that with wet, dirty towels from mornings shower, it's not fun. Everyone in the party we spoke to - everyone of us - had one lamp that didn`t work.
Staff - Unsmiling, unhappy, unfriendly. Groundsman - we watched them dig and clean the sand with dustpans. They have very little tools and come infrequently. The cups and butts from the day before - not cleaned up. The chairs - not cleaned, wiped down, dried. Covered in webs, sand and other peoples spills. We had close to a carton of cigarettes stolen from our room and any money that was left out was pocketed. We quickly got smart about that. They staff act put off by your presence or any questions you ask of them. They refused to make us drinks at night that had limes in them because they didn't have any more cut up! They wouldn't go to another bar and get them either. The manager in the bar closest to the casino is a royal B. She was the most miserable cow, I've met in a long time.
Shows - bad, clumsy, ripped, old costumes. Poorly choreographed.
No beach restaurant, no nachos, no food after 12 in the bar closest to the rooms (including coffee, tea, water). You don't realize how precious coffee and water are until you can't get them within a 2km radius!
Food - don't even get me started! Its a rice, fries and runny soup on ricey beans kinda place. BTW - lunch is whats left over from dinner the night before. Beware.
Also, all the drunk bafoons from the other resorts enjoy this one too and vice cersa. If you want to party with 20 somethings or teenagers from NY - this is your place! Canadian 30+ woman, families and men, looking to relax - its a no no.
Don't do it. I will NEVER return and I'm planning a trip to the Carribean on the 25th of January and I'm counting out all RIU's after this trip. I am so disappointed with RIU and Lakeview Travel in Niagara Falls for booking this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having been to the Caribbean around 8 times this is the worst place we have ever stayed and would never recommend it to anyone - how they have the cheek to call it 5 * I don't know ! No proper shower just over the bath shower head which didn't even work - toilets that blocked on a daily basis even tho no tissue was allowed to be put in them ! Fridge supposed to be filled every other day - basic water should be refilled every day as no drinking water in room and we had to ask for water as they did not fill our fridge for 3 days ! Food very boring same every day and no chance booking steak house as all gone before 7am - could not book day before but I know they accepted tips so that some people could book in advance ! In any case we heard from many people that the food was still just as bad ! Drinks were terrible so we could not even enjoy those and if you thought you could have a lie in at this place and still get a bed by the pool FORGET IT you needed to be up by 5 am to get a bed and it was like sardines with no room to move ! Entertainment virtually non existent even if you could get a seat - a lovely plastic garden chair no comfy chairs anywhere ! Beach was the worst ever been to and the trips were over priced but we thought at least we would enjoy those ! NO taking us on a city tour which basically took us into a traffic congested area on route to their equivalent of Tesco !! Which is really where I wanted to go ! You could not pay with any other currency only Peso so we could not even get water and the trip supplied none on the coach - the only good part was the cable car ride ! I can go on and on but think I have given my opinion of this place - I would like to go back to the Caribbean again but I am very dubious about the ratings given to some places !

Room Tip: Only tip I can give is go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are nice with plenty of hotwater and good water pressure. The beds however are tired and worn out. We were in the 600 building overlooking the lagoon and close to the beach. Good bar included with your room. The food was above average and tasty. I have been to a lot of resorts throughout the caribbean and this place rated number 1 for the food. Check-in was super efficient and fast. The pools were clean and well set up. The grounds were beautiful and immaculate. Now for the bad points. If you are going for the beach and to swim in crystal clear water with a sandy bottom, forget it. The beach is a miniscule strip of rocky sand that is almost completely in shade. The ocean bottom is very rocky and weedy even 500 feet out into the ocean! The water is so murky that even in 2 feet of water you cannot see your feet. The ala-carte restaurants are great if you can get a reservation. The entertainment is mediocre and about the same as any other resort in the caribean. The good point is some nights they had local bands playing which were quite good.
We would never return for the simple reason that there was no beach and the water was murky and unswimmable. We travel all that distance especially for the beach.
If you want a good massage, go to the locals at either end of the beach in the shacks and pay 30.00 for an hour of good massaging. Maria on one end of the beach and 2 other girls about a 1/2 mile away on the opposite side of the beach for the same rates. The rate of 79.00 at Renova Spa at the resort is a complete ripoff.
Also, this place was full of families with children so if peace and quiet and relaxation is what you're looking for, this is not the place. Since the beach is not nice, everyone gathers at the pools and everybody is stacked up like cordwood if you can find a place.

Room Tip: Request a room in a quiet sector near the beach if you want to sleep early at night and have peace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Bachata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.