We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is nothing to brag about!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Bachata to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“this hotel is nothing to brag about!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

just arrived back from the riu bachata, was pretty average to be honest..... rooms are tiny,food repetitive, animation team a bit strange mostly just lazing around doing nothing.... NO KIDS POOL! locals gate crash every weekend take over the bars pools and restaurant! then steel your kids toys! there also quite rude... theres not alot to do if it rains..... and the prices at the resort shops are a rob! can honestly say were happy to be home! expected a better experience for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    986
    566
    284
    213
See reviews for
771
1,129
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our 2nd time in this lovely hotel, we enjoyed it the 1st time very much & it was as good 2nd time as well. Food excellent & staff very helpful & pleasant. Mini bar re stocked every other day in room with 2 bottles water, beers @ soft drinks. Optics of gin rum brandy & vodka refilled as well. Did the jeep safari very interesting made so by the guide, who told us the history of the island. Free Internet in public areas sometimes not a very strong signal though. If you go on the beach the waiters will even bring drinks to you there & they have a drinky drinky man going round on his bike replenishing your glass. Went with other family members who said they would Definatley return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the RIU Bachatta from Oct 28 to Nov 11, 2012. We last visited in 2007 and I have to say this is the first time I've seen a hotel 'improve' with age!

We've been blown away with the level of service improvement since our last visit EVERY member of staff bends over backwards to ensure your vacation is perfect and this is not something I've ever seen before.

I've visited the DR many times over the past decade or so and would defiantly rate this a true 5 star resort - anyone saying otherwise really is being silly.

Food and drink is of a very high standard with excellent personalised service. The old speciality restaurant s were not open which, in my opinion was a blessing. There was never anything in the speciality you couldn't get in the main buffet restaurant anyway. Massive selection of foods and even the fussiest pickiest diner would find something they loved. More sweets than you could shake a stick at and freshly made bread, croissant and pancakes daily for the Americans.

The gym was small but clean and functional with cardio, frame and lose weights - and air con!

Pools are pools but seemed pretty and the place to be if you wanna be in the thick of the daytime entertainment programme. We hit the beautiful beach everyday (watch for sea urchins about 20m out on the reef) where there are safe designated swimming areas.

Our room was lovely and clean, away from the hustle and bustle yet easy reach of both restaurant and beach - Block 5... Sea view extra $25 per night and not worth the extra unless you have cash to burn ha ha

We brought around $300 us in small bills for tipping ... Didn't need to but these guys really deserve it for the above and beyond work they put in (and they only earn circa $200 per month)!

Anyway - I've never written a review for a package holiday but Thomsons and RUI Bachatta have a great thing here... check it out for yourself - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pefkos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

just got back from one of the best holidays ever ! thanx to Gi Gi ,sexy mamute scooby doo. dj black banana, honey and rest of animation team, hotel lovely recently refurbished rooms very clean and comfy, maid service excellent, lovely towel sculpters left in our rooms every single day, food in buffet restaraunt delicious allways plenty of choice, pool lovely pool swim up bar the hub of pool life daily thanx to big manuel and little manuel they were brilliant, entertainment not bad considering, itallian and steak house restaraunts lovely our thomson rep vikki is a gem, nothing to much trouble for her shes the best, trips to do ocean world brilliant and outback safari a must if you visit there, will definately be returning thanx to you all

Room Tip: try and get orange block rooms 701 to 732 your near to everything including pool but do not hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hubby and I visited here for the third time and sadly found it had slipped a little. It was not full at all, infact a few blocks were being done up. The mini bar had only basic water, coke. no other mixers as were on our other visits here.
The lunch time casual restaurent was only open once in the whole two weeks, so we had to dress and go into the main. Food was always plentyful both lunch and evening.
The animation team worked their little socks off day and night. Well done all of you.
Maybe it's time for us to visit somewhere new next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

been going there for 10 yrs. the food, the drinks are always plentiful. the staff is always friendly and helpful. for the value, it is a great place to vacation. the only thing we don't like is when the locals come on the weekends. they can be obnoxious. but you can be entertained all day with various games, sports and exercise.

Room Tip: rooms with a pool view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an awesome time. Night entertainment was the best I have seen so far.
For a higher star resort, the hookers should be kept out. Avoid the casino, lost 100$ lol..
Rooms could have used a update.
Get to know a server in the dinner area. And you will get the same table every meal.
It was nice to be able to eat at 3 resorts.

I would go back, if the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Bachata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.