We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Plata Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Puerto Plata Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very old and uncomfortable. No curtains in the room. Food court full of cat. Bar attended very friendly. No recomiendo este resort es muy viejo, la comida no es buena hay muchos gatos en el
comedor. El bar man muy agradable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    130
    64
    52
    64
See reviews for
97
86
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel I had ever been too; everything was so filthy; the rooms were infested with mosquitoes; there was a leak coming from the ceiling; and in one of the room the ac was broken. Entertainment was poor. Drinks fair. Food had little choices, but tasted good. Staff was friendly. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I had a relaxing stay. Food was good. Steps away from private beach. No frills, fun time. Staff friendly, and very accommodating. Although the buffet doesn't disappoint, Make sure you make reservations for the ala carte Mexican restaurant..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Many thanks for taking your time in writing.
We are very glad for your satisfaction with our hotel.
We hope see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I just spent the past week at this place and it was horrible. My family has a timeshare and this apparently was the only property open during this time for that company. We had 4 rooms - upon arrival 2 of the rooms had a phone that did not work, 1 room had a leaky sink as well as a showerhead that basically sprayed all around the shower but not actually on you at all. Another room had a leaky toilet. The furnishings in these rooms are probably from 1980 and the beds are uncomfortable. Linens were dirty in all 4 rooms and there were a lot of holes and stains on everything. One night in the 3rd room, around 11PM I was reading on my kindle and a bug flew at me, at first I thought nothing of it until 3 more flew at me. I jumped out of bed to find multiple "flying ants" as they called them all over the bed as well as in the bathroom; they resembled termites. We had a small baby with us and ended up having to sleep in one of the other rooms that night due to the bug issue. The manager on duty at the time did offer to move us that night but it was close to midnight and it was too much work to move a sleeping 6 month old further than right next door. The 4th room had the AC stop working twice, mind you the weather all week was in the high 80's. Our friend waited over an hour for someone to come fix it when they insisted she immediately go to her room when she spoke to them at the Front Desk, ridiculous!

All of these issues were reported by the 2nd morning and nothing was fixed until day 4 of our stay and that is only because we were able to speak directly to the manager Henry Pena. None of the other Front Desk staff or overnight managers fixed or reported anything to him. To call this place a resort is honestly laughable, this is NOT a resort and should not be called as such. Beware of a certain snake that works in the Sales department, I wish I knew his name so I could post it here but he is despicable. We were trying to fix the issue we were having with our terrible rooms and all he was trying to do was get my family to purchase an "upgraded" timeshare. I have to agree that on the weekends it is flooded with locals, I am Dominican and I have to say this past weekend there were some people with no manners whatsoever.

The only positive thing I can say about this place is that the staff at the restaurants and the housekeeping department are very friendly and willing to assist you. The rooms are so old and any repairs are so poorly done but it is clean (not the linens though, those are pretty gross). This is not a beachfront hotel but the beach is within walking distance and it's very clean and the food is actually better there than on property. The food was basic and I only drank Presidente's all week so I can't speak for any of the other drinks. I was traveling from NY and honestly I would've rather stayed in my apartment than to stay there ever again.

Room Tip: do not stay here - this is the best tip I can offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por opinar sobre nuestro hotel. Lamentamos muchisimo los inconvenientes que usted alega. Tambien agradecemos mucho sus bonitos comentarios sobre la buena comida, la limpieza, buen servicio y atenciones de nuestro personal.
Es un placer informarle que ya empezamos renovar nuestras habitaciones. Esperamos que regrese pronto para que pueda disfrutar de esta novedad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I would rather stay at a Nazi death camp than this place.....
Double occupancy is $55/night (all inclusive: 3 meals a day, open bar, free activities).....
Now let's break this down. All 3 "international" meals that are served daily are all made by the same chef/cook. And HE specialized in nothing. For some reason, they don't have (steak) knives to cut the rubbery meat. They ONLY have butter knives. BUTTER KNIVES?!?! During dinner they allow a pair of fellas playing guitars to approach you (while eating) and solicit you for money (even if you don't wanna hear a song). And these guys WILL NOT leave unless you give them something. And they don't accept food as payment.
Now on to the FREE ACTIVITIES. In a nutshell, all the good stuff ISN'T free. (snorkeling, bike riding & some other s#it). Ping pong is free, volleyball in the pool is free, and Zumba is free.
The drinks were well made . The staff was friendly. The rooms were basic, but the beds were like sleeping on the hood of a car. The pool closes EVERYDAY @7PM !?!?!? (in an all inclusive resort). All the available activities are also done by 7pm.
But wait, it gets better. On the weekends the locals are brought in to occupy all the empty rooms. What's the problem with that? Well, it's kind of an insult for our rooms to not get upgraded and have people who pay about $18-22 (US) to get better rooms. On top of that, if you've ever been to the Dominican Republic then you know that the locals are pretty loud, classless people. And that's not stereotyping. I grew up with Dominicans in New York and even they agree. Imagine trying to get a drink at the bar, and there are kids running in front of you getting drinks for themselves, sipping and then throwing the cups on the floor because they don't pay for it? Imagine over 200 people in a pool that is probably made for about 50-60? Imagine the same locals staring at you every time you walk by because your "different".
I recently went to DR again for a 4th time, and I must say this place was by far thee absolute worst place I've ever stayed at in my travels around the globe. If your reading this, please be warned.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Gerente at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por dar su opinion sobre el hotel. Lamentamos mucho que no le hayamos llenado su expectativa en su visita en el año 2013 pero le aseguramos que si nos visita actualmente tendra una excelente estadia como lo han tenido otros vacacionistas. Esperamos verlo muy pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Everyone who works in the hotel is very helpful and nice. They help you with all your needs and concerns. In my time here, I have been able to make friends that will surely last a lifetime. The food is varies daily, and shows and entertainment events are fun to go to. The nightclub is open every night as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Gerente at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por su excelente comentario, nos sentimos altamente complacidos de haberle satisfecho en su estadia.
Para ustedes y por ustedes existe el hotel Puerto Plata Village.
Por favor regresen de nuevo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is one of my favorites in DR. From the customer service, the food, and the comfort of the room, I can't complaint. I had been in Punta Cana several times, but my stay in this hotel was more comfortable, more familiar. When you get there ask for Loyda at the reception, she is great. I highly recommend this hotel for vacations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Gerente at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por su excelente comentario. Nos sentimos altamente honrados de haberle llenado su expectativa. Esperamos que regrese cuando guste para volver a satisfacerlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Plata Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Plata Village Resort

Address: Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Puerto Plata Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Plata Village Hotel Puerto Plata
Sun Village Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Plata Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.