We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Plata Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Puerto Plata Village Resort to your Saves list
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was very good for the price we payed.
We have stayed at 5 start hotels in the Dominican and this measured up well.
The food was very good and the staff were lovely and helpful.
The entertainment was to be expected for the Dominican.
The only let down was the room, it was musky, damp and very old.
But we just got on with it and had a great holiday!
It was a lovely place to be at Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por su bonito comentario.
Nos alegra saber que la pasaron muy bien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    131
    65
    55
    66
See reviews for
99
87
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My expectations of Puerto Plata village was pretty high, and it got shot down quick! Reasons of why i would NEVER stay at Puerto Plata Village again:

1. Front desk service, not welcoming. No explanation of where and how the resort works. When we checked in, they handed us an envelope with a remote control, activity cards, our room key, and was told "return these items at the end or you pay for it"

2. the master suite was spacious, but disgusting. furniture was out dated. the bed was uncomfortable. there were ants in our bathroom and bed crawling around the REAL flowers they put for decoration. shower and tile floors were filthy. our phone wasn't working. lamp shades had writing and stickers on it. 2 lamps weren't working.

3. only one restaurant was open the entire time we were there. the food has horrible, all the same crap. everyday. the snack bar would open 45 mins later than what it said it would. the snack bar advertised pizza, but the cook always refused to make it for us. the only thing you can get at the snack bar was burgers.

4. some of the workers kept harrassing us to try and buy a time share with them. they made it uncomfortable to walk outside, because they would always be outside. FINALLY, one of them told us that it would only take a few minutes. AFTER we declined the time share offers, all of the workers' attitude did a complete 180. Not so friendly anymore, and became arrogant. BAD SERVICE. RUDE.

5. "all inclusive" was a joke. everything opened LATE and everything was closed at 5pm. tried to rent bikes for 3 days.... DID NOT GET TO RIDE A BIKE ONE TIME. the workers in charge of the "all inclusive activities hut" were RUDE AND ALL DISMISSIVE. not at all accomodating.

with all that said, the excursions and the little shopping we did is what MADE our trip... we had to spend an EXTRA $400 to better our vacation. we did meet a handful of GENUINE workers at the resort, but MAJORITY of them were was rude, sad to say.

The two excurions we did were the City Tour via taxi and the 27 Waterfalls.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Gracias por opinar.
Lamentamos los inconvenientes que usted enumera.
Vuelva pronto para permitirnos superar su expectativa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

not worth the trouble, rooms are very dated. The only good thing about the place was the pool, food was always recycled, staff was nice, entertainement mediocre, the beach was far from the hotel, had to be driven there,

Room Tip: the place was very dated and so far from the beach, nothing in their ad comes close to the real deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar.
Que pena que no se enteraron previamente antes de venir de que nuestro hotel no queda en la misma linea de playa pero que tenemos un comodo transporte que repetidas veces los lleva y trae todos los dias.
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The villa were nice and clean. It was home like feel the grounds kept nicely.
The food and drinks was very good and the service was nice as well. The pools were nice and the activities were cool also. The staff are very friendly and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus palabras.
Nos agrada mucho saber que le satisfacemos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My best friend and I visited Puerto Plata Village from March 18-March 24. The weather was incredible and we had a good stay at Puerto Plata Village.

If you're looking for a luxurious stay, best to avoid this hotel. The accommodation is subpar - dated furnishings, lumpy pillows, and no-frills bathroom. That said, the balconies provide a great space to chat about the day's events. If the room isn't why you vacation (how much time do you really spend there?), then you should be fine for a week at this resort.

The food is good and the dining room clean. There are always a diverse number of proteins and vegetables on offer. We spent most of our time at the beach and were never disappointed there. Given that the Village is less populated than the Barcelo down the shore, there is always plenty of room to set up lounge chairs and relax. The Village has a really beautiful section of the beach, with a clear area of blue water. The drinks and food are plentiful at the beach and it's only a three minute ride or eight minute walk.

The shows in the evening are hit or miss (audience participation and gender focussed entertainment sometimes painful to watch). The drive for audience members to "clappy clappy" is almost militaristic. Another turn off was the invitation to a "welcome meeting" held by the resort that offered a free Tshirt (that should have been the first flag). Avoid attending this meeting at all costs. It's a hard, awkward sales pitch for a TIME SHARE they call a vacation club. We gave up 25 minutes before walking out, but heard other guests spent two hours listening to the pitch out of politeness. If Wilson invites you, insist on skipping.

All in all, we kept to ourselves and avail ourselves of all the free food and drinks we could handle. It was a fine place to set up shop, but certainly deserves its 2.5 star rating.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Room outside of the Kids area. It was quiet around there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinion.
Gracias por visitarnos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this resort in Feb 2010 for 16 days with some friends. We were four boys and we had a lot of fun. The rooms were clean and had american cabel-tv. The bed were soft and good. The staff at the place were very friendly and helpfull. No wi-fi on the rooms, I missed that. That might have been changed now.

The food was excellent, all over, The buffe was amazing and the chef went out of his way to make you happy. We gave a $50 in tip every night and we lived like kings with all included. Some rich americans gave less and they were maybe mad at us, but we happy Norwegians want the people at the place to be happy too.

I'm looking forward to my next stay here at this place. Well worth the money! Also great beach and food at the beach. Perfect!

Room Tip: Smile and you might get one back! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Gracias por contar su buena experiencia.
¡ Estamos ansiosos tambien de que vengan pronto !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Not even on the same level as other resorts. This was our 4th trip to Dominican Republic and were expecting a nice place based on the reviews. This place is disgusting. The room was like an old musty motel room and was decayed. I am sure the reviews of how wonderful the staff are are true, but the resort itself is old and felt more like a compound than a resort. We only lasted 3 hours and gtfo! We are not picky but this was beyond our tolerance. Seriously this is less than a 3 star...don't believe the raving reviews...it's more like a 2 star at best. Those reviews are fake...they have to be. Anyone who has travelled to Punta Cana or Cancun etc...you cannot find a place this bad there. Not even close. We've stayed at 3 stars and 4 stars that seem like palaces compared to this. The vibe was lame, quiet and full of elderly people. It's not at all what they claim. Plus the beach is quite a ways away. Why would anyone book here? Tried to go the cheaper route...never again. Cost us quite a bit more to change resorts but it was worth every penny. Sorry Puert Plata Village...just being honest.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Gracias por su opinion. Lamentamos los inconvenientes.
Pero de seguro en una proxima visita sera una mejor estadia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Plata Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Plata Village Resort

Address: Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Puerto Plata Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Plata Village Hotel Puerto Plata
Sun Village Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Plata Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.