We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Grand Marien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Grand Marien to your Saves list
Be Live Grand Marien
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costa Dorada Beach, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Basic but functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If all the rooms looked like the pictures this would be a great hotel ! As its is the basic rooms are scruffy and dated so you end up paying to upgrade which is worth it at $30 a night but pushing it at the $40 they originally wanted. Pool activities where fun kids had a blast met loads of great people and the Dominican republic is an amazing country so make sure you get out of the hotel n explore.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs.

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel.

We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    570
    249
    110
    92
See reviews for
449
522
37
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just got back from this resort and read the recent reviews before posting my own ... I'm confused!

Firstly lets set some expectations - this is the Dominican Republic which is on the more bargain side of the Caribbean. You pay for what you get.

We booked superior rooms (block 9) which were absolutely fine. The food and the drink is a standard AI package no better or worse than anything else we have ever had. We only went to one of the 3 "speciality" restaurants - Mexican which was frankly not special so just settled for the standard buffets lunch and evening meal. That said the buffet was fine with a resonable choice. Special note goes to "Smoothie mama" which was the highlight of breakfast for the kids!

Beach was lovely and pool area was fine. Table tennis and pool equipment provided free of charge. Same for non motorised equipment on the beach.

Entertainment was good during the day but somewhat lacking in the evening. Place became rather crowded at the weekend. Not sure if these were "local" people but they sure raised the background noise around the pool.

Service was OK but staff did not exactly go out of their way - certainly no chatting at the bar for example. Also plastic cups seemed to get left around the pool area.

Wifi and safe in room are extras.

Not much to do on the outside of the resort. Would recommend getting a taxi tour and going in the cable car - that is it. ATM in hotel is temperamental but the one in the hotel next door works most of the time. ATMs only give out DR pesos which can be used to pay for taxi and cable car etc. USD accepted everywhere - do not change pesos to USD at hotel since commission / rate is shocking!

Take some USD with you to pay for entrance visa at airport. There is no ATM at the airport and if you use the currency exchange there expect them to ask you for your Pin for the Chip and Pin machine since it is too big to pass under the glass window - only in DR ....

Overall I have no complaints. Hope this helps - give it a go if the price is right.

Room Tip: Book superior rooms. We were in block 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs.

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel.

We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.

We would also like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

its a very niceplace and the drinks are great but the food what a shame .its the same food buffet in the 3 restaurants just dress different.mexican restaurant,brazil is a joke..sorry i like to be positive but i was very disappointed i just hope this comment helps them think before serving the same food for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs.:

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacations, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.

As a service company we do understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process.

As far as your indications about the quality of the food offered in our restaurants, we are rather surprised because carefully selected products compose our gastronomical supply, taking into consideration the diversity of clients who visit our hotel.

We must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires and the opinion on this same web site.

A la carte Restaurants has 3 different specialty and at the buffet we do have a 7 days round of different menu, served every day.

Nevertheless, we are sorry that our food did not meet your expectations; you may feel assured that your comments will be taken into consideration.

We would also like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Receive our best regards!!!

Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I will start with the good points as there are not too many of them. It does have a good beach front location.Having said that there is not anything outside the hotel for miles. This hotel is listed as 4* so even booking a standard room i expected something of a decent standard. Well how wrong i was. The furniture was tatty and old style ,some of it actually was dropping to bits. I was apalled and feel the holiday company conned me and my family with their touched up photos and have put in an official complaint. Yes the rooms are sand flea infested even though they did spray while we were there. Many problems occured such as blocked toilet,door on balcony never opened.Bathroom door locked with my son inside for half an hour,it was all too much.Cleaning not too bad,although you arent given enough fresh towels and dont even get them untill 5pm. We were given two soft drinks in the fridge that incidentally never worked,sometimes no drinks unless we asked. Hotel is far too full of the locals.I love all cultures but its about the huge amounts. The swimming pool actually changed colour from the bright blue to grey as so many of them run from the beach straight to the pool,no one could possibly swim in it even though it was massive as there were just to many to even move,so sadly we stopped going. When the locals were booking in i could not believe my eyes as some had plasic rolled up matresses so of course too many per room. Staff dont seem bothere as they appear to know them anyway. I have been all arund the world and never encountered this before. Buffet was horrendous unless you got there spot on opening. Thing is there are so many dominicans with huge amounts of children and you can barely get a look in. The entertainment was nothing to shout about either, one night it was kareoke and the guy in charge demanded to know why we didnt want to sing when a polite no thanks should have been suffice for him. God i dont even want to get started about those time share people persecuting guests day and night to get you to their meeting and sign your life away. its an absolute cheek of this hotel to allow this as we couldnt even walk past to go to the bufet where they lie in wait for victims. There are many dominican prostitutes frequenting this hotel aswell with dirty old european men old enough to be some of their grandads and i didnt appreciate my children seeing this as they are old enough to know. This hotel should be reclassed as 1star and thats being generous .I would not return here even if it was free of charge as it was two weeks of torment .Actually was like prison and believe me we were glad to break frehen we actually did check out it was a quick snip of the bracelet and snatch of the keys, no thankyou for your stay and your thousands of pounds spent here .Next year we will return to Mexico as it is like paradise compared to this and the staff know how to look after guests from abroad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr.

We thank you for having selected our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacation. we appreciate you have taken the time to bring your concerns to our attention, thank you for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.

It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel.

As a service company we do understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process.

We would also like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

We will be very pleased if allow us a second opportunity to welcome you at the hotel.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I spent 2 weeks there with my sister recently, as young adults travelling alone it was just average. Our room was close to the beach, pool and buffet but it was old and worn out with no television channels. There was a chain on the door which we put on for extra security when sleeping as we stayed on the first floor but it was easily torn off the wall the next morning when the maid tried to come in. The room was dark with one of the lights broken after the first day. The A/C was perfect and there was always hot water in the shower. The maid also likes to come really early while we are still sleeping and back again later when we come back to the room after long hours at the pool. The resort was small with only one buffet which we ate 10 out of the 14 days. The food was the same everyday which left me eating close to nothing after the first 3 days. The reservation restaurants were good especially the mexican and brazilian with Ronald. Daily entertainment by the pool with Danny and Pikachu (zumba, water aerobics, water polo) were entertaining to watch and participate in during the mornings. The shows with Hector and Sexy Belly included dancing and celebrity impersonations kept us laughing and excited to go every night. Some of my favourites were the Michael Jackson show, beach party and karoke nights. Our bartender Jorge was quick and kept the drinks coming until 5am everyday. Souvenir shops charged excessive prices like 30$ for a bracelet, women walk up and down the beach trying to braid your hair and massage you. The weekends were horrendous with the locals coming in families of 20 people who came to eat everything in the buffet and crowd the pool. A few phone calls to Canada racked up to $110USD which was a shock when we went to check out, the best option is to buy calling cards!!! Overall, the staff would keep me coming back but not the hotel.

Room Tip: unit 1 or 2 are closest to beach, pool, snack bar and buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr.

We thank you for having selected our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacation. we appreciate you have taken the time to bring your concerns to our attention, thank you for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.

As a service company we do understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

We appreciate your compliments to our staff, thank you!!!

We will be very pleased if allow us a second opportunity to welcome you at the hotel.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After visiting the Dom Rep on a number of occasions we were excited to have chosen this particular hotel from the Thomson brochure. After looking at the photographs and reading the reviews on her we decided that people were being extremely picky about the hotel and thought we would just go with our gut instinct. For once our gut instinct was wrong. We arrived and found that the hotels entrance and reception as well as the grounds were beautiful and the staff were very helpful with a speedy check in and quick ride to our room. After this we though great what a fantastic holiday this is going to be, when we enter the room it was appalling. The room was tatty and worn out the wardrobes were all rust and not suitable to put clothes on, the mini fridge was all broken and the general look of the room was poor.
we quickly decided that this was not the standard that we expected and went to reception to be ask to be moved. After talking to other English couples they were also disappointed by the standard of their rooms as well ( so at least we were not just being sensitive due to sleep deprivation lol). The reception sorted our change of room swiftly and were were given a beach view room although it was better it was still very worn and tired and some disrespectful idiot had etched their initials into the headboard.

Cleaning was a good standard but as a person who like to be able to shower when I want, I was a little bit disappointed that the organisation of cleaning and towel distribution was poor and at times we had no bathroom towels from 8- 6.

Food - wide variety and always something to tempt your taste buds and cake that was gorgeous.

Room Tip: Be careful asking for a beach view room - beach party/ weddings = loud music till about 11.30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs.:

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

Thank you for your kindness comments through this web site, wish is very important for us, since they help us to improve on our services.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

We would also like to have a second opportunity to welcome you at the hotel.
Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you.


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband spent two weeks here on August with our two teen and it was just awfull.
We paid for standard that was supposed to be suitable for 4.
We had one sliding small wardrobe and two all double beds plus hardly any space to move.

I was so disappointed after spending a huge amount of money.
Furniture was old fashioned and so shabby.
I was told it would be 400 PDA to upgrade and as we needed our holiday spends really had to stay put.
On top of that we were bitten alive by fleas and had to change rooms,
Sadly we soon began to get bit again and realised the problem was all over the hotel,
It needs fumigating from all over.
Food in the buffet was trash,
Although the resteraunts for reservation were good.
Shows were same old people dancing each night,
Never seen anything special really.
Bar staff quite miserable unless you were Dominican.
Staff in resteraunts were pleasant though.
The hotel shop that sold cigarettes constantly tried to rip us off for our change so do be carefully.
My teens were bored especially at night,
The only two pool tables finish at 6
Pm.
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere and not a shop/
Bar in sight.
It was barricaded off to keep people out and I guess to keep us in as we were advised not to go into town without a guide and boy were they right as well..
Also they allow too many guests particularly Dominicans and although the hotel was pretty felt was so packed looked like a refugee camp.
If you haven't already booked do yourself a huge favour and go elsewhere as I only wish I had took notice of the reviews!






P

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs.:

Thank you for your kindness comments through this web site, wish is very important for us, since they help us to improve on our services.

In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Grand Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Grand Marien

Address: Costa Dorada Beach, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Grand Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Be Live Grand Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Grand Marien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.