We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel, wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Grand Marien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Grand Marien to your Saves list
Be Live Grand Marien
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costa Dorada Beach, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“amazing hotel, wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2012 and had the most amazing time. The hotel is brilliant, rooms were clean and had everything you needed. Free mini bar was a lovely bonus! The grounds were imaculate and the staff all friendly. The food was brilliant, so much choice and it was always hot and fresh. Drinks were also very good, we worked our way through the cocktail menu! Considering what we paid ( £800 each, all inclusive, including flights) it was brilliant value and we would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs.:
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.
We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.
Please receive our warm regards from the Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    548
    240
    101
    87
See reviews for
437
499
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Puerto Plata last year and stayed at the Iberostar (next door) and had a great time. We had visited the grounds of the Be Live while walking on the beach and it looked nice, so we decided to try it this year when we came back with the kids (ages 11 and 12). I thought I knew what to expect of an all-inclusive resort…not the finest accommodations, but fresh food and a fairly clean resort. Well, those were my expectations after staying at the Iberostar, and I should have stayed there.
Upon arrival, we went to check in at 2:40, and were told to come back at 3. The desk was quickly filling up, so we went right to the front of the line about ten minutes later. The gentleman was hesitant to help us check-in before 3, but we convinced him that the process would take at least ten minutes so we should get it started. He agreed, and quickly the mobs of people were standing over us, allowing us no privacy at all to show our documents (passports, credit cards). We could barely get the kids through the crowd to the desk to get their bracelets.
We arrived at our connecting rooms, and the rooms were fairly modern and pretty clean. We were satisfied. We ventured out to the pool, which was littered with plastic cups, and we could barely find a seat. We found out it was Father’s Day there, and that was the reason the resort would be very crowded for the weekend. There was only one bar at the pool, and the line sometimes lasted twenty minutes, standing in the hot sun. The “frozen” drinks were horrible, but beer was pretty safe. There were two bartenders, but one had to make runs to restock the bar at prime times, so one bartender was left alone. Even after restocking, the bars did not have milk, Kahlua, or mojitos, just to name a few unavailable drinks.
The food: There was not a vast selection, and there were NO options for children. No pizza, chicken fingers, hamburgers, hot dogs, etc. In fact, one night at dinner, the only option was rabbit! I understand that is a delicacy for some, but there should be another option when you are serving rabbit!
The property was poorly cared for, and the staff did not care to go out of their way to please the guests. In fact, one day an employee tripped over a plastic cup rolling around next to the pool. He kindly kicked it out of his way and continued walking. Another day it was raining, and there are several narrow walkways between the pools. They have drains at the bottom of each walkway, which were all clogged. The water was about 6 inches deep, and was dirty from everyone passing through. There was no other way to go, so everyone had to trek through this
water…DISGUSTING! That same day when it stopped raining, we went to trade in our towels for dry ones, and were told to wait one hour.
The entertainment in the evenings was so lame, and one night they just had some kids from the hotel hoola-hooping on stage. There is only one bathroom at the theater, and it had not been cleaned since 3:00 that afternoon (at 9PM). It was in terrible shape, as you can imagine.
The final straw was on our fourth night, when we went to shower and there was a DRIP of hot water. There was no fresh soap or towels in our room, just the slither of soap we had left from the past day. We went to management the following morning, and after listening to our list of complaints, they agreed to refund us the money from the rest of our stay.
Unfortunately, this has the potential to be a beautiful property, but the management is going to run it into the ground. Take my word for it, don’t go to find out for yourself!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr.:
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.
We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.
In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.
We would also like to have a second opportunity to welcome you at the hotel.

Please receive our warmest Regards!
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Île-Perrot, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent a week in this hotel. Great staff always there to help you. Buffet restaurant has multiple choices of different foods ( mexican fish and steaks ). Never a dull moment. The animation is very diversified.Even on a rainy day ,they take care of you with inside games.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or third floor for balcony and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back and had a great time at Be Live. I was worried after reading some of the reviews but everything was great. A lot of food choices, good drinks, nice beer and the staff was awesome. You can't go wrong. Stayed at block #8 and it was just great even though we had a first floor room, the moldy smell you kind of don't even notice it after the first day since you're not that much in your room anyways.
Everything was close by and if you have small children with you, it makes it so much easier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Grand Marien, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs.:
We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.
Please receive our best greetings Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you, and of course we would like to host you one more time at The Be Live Grand Marien.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family and I stayed at Be Live in Puerto Plata and have nothing but great stories to bring home. We absolutely loved the resort. The day life activities are never-ending and the staff is energetic and friendly. I will suggest anyone who travels to stay at a Be Live resort. The rooms were clean and the grounds were spotless. Prior to traveling I read the reviews on Trip Advisor about our resort and was a little worried about all of the negativity. After experiencing the wonderful holiday for myself I can only say that the people who write bad reviews about Be Live must be looking through a 1000000 x magnifying glass. Thank you Be Live.

Room Tip: Our room was in the 7000's and was perfect, but all room locations look evenly great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I went with a group of 11 people and after a long trip the agents at reception were very quick and friendly with check in. Eucenio Nunez, (i believe that's how you spell it), the bellman was wonderful! He assisted us through out the entire stay. The food was great, areas were very clean. Some rooms were more modern than others, and very spacious. We received 2 complimentary upgrades to suites, and the rooms were marvelous, with 1 bathroom stand up shower, and another bathroom with standup shower and jacuzzi. I love that everything is within 5 mins walking distance, beach, to food, to pool, if anything less time. They also have a childrens clubhouse with their own pool, 2ft. Comes in handy when you want to keep the kids together. The entire stay was great.

Day of departure they slip a letter under your door stating that check out is at 12 and after that they automatically charge $40. We did the check out at 12, with a veryyy long line. I asked them if there was anything else to do and agent stated no, just to return the towels at 3pm.

The negative would be that you receive casino keys upon check in in order to get your towels. I had to walk back to my room to get it. Then when you return your towel they give you a RANDOM key that they had in their hands already, and when you go to reception, and hand it in they don't take your room number or anything, so what was the point of making me do all of that?

Here's where it gets better, my cousin had previously been here and they never made a big deal out of taking off the wrist bracelets, but this time the guards made it a HUGE DEAL that reception cut it off for us(we had already checked out), they made us turn the cars around and walk back to reception. On top of that with 11 people we were all confused and we were never informed by an agent that we needed a white slip/card that says our room numbers, we are to hand those over to the guardmen at the exit. When one of the family members went to do so, he handed it over to one of the bellman because once again the agent didnt inform him that it goes to the guardsman. I am making all of this short but it lasted a good 15 minutes, arguing, confusion, guardsman even called us ignorant, their supervisor was unprofessional. This last part left me disappointed. I am a supervisor at a hotel and I have so many other ways this could have been aproached, resolved or even prevented. Some training for the guardsman, and a faster check out, or even express check out would be great. Or different procedure for a huge group.


Other than that the stay itself was great!

Room Tip: Suites are spacious, 2 bathrooms, 2 stand up showers and one jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Be Live Grand Marien is a fantastic resort. The entire staff was so amazing. The room was very clean. We had an ocean view room that was well worth the extra. The restaurant staff were pleasant. The bar staff were so friendly. I will never forget the smiles we received from the bartenders . The entertainment staff clearly love their jobs. The resort is well laid out, with the pool being central. The buffet restaurant had a lot of selection. The ala carte restaurants were good, especially the gourmet restaurant. Although we didn't try it, we heard the Chateau Briand was really good. The beach was beautiful. The staff spend a lot of time raking leaves and keeping the grounds clean. There were security guards patrolling the beach which was reassuring although we always felt safe. The one thing we wondered was why we could not get light beer. Other than that we loved the resort and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in 3000 block and were very pleased. It was ocean view and right beside the beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Grand Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Grand Marien

Address: Costa Dorada Beach, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Grand Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Be Live Grand Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Grand Marien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.