We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best trip ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Collection Marien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Collection Marien to your Saves list
Be Live Collection Marien
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

ignore bad reviews about this place! the resort itself was amazing, the food was the best ive had in all of dominican, and the staff were amazing! it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    665
    307
    135
    110
See reviews for
517
623
53
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wpg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We traveled with a group of friends and 3 older teenagers .....9 of us in total.
This was our fourth trip to DR - and we really enjoyed this resort. It was clean, the food was good, the staff all very courteous and the beach was great.
What more could any one ask for? We all discussed whether we would recommend this resort to friends - and we all would.
Nice place - would definately recommend it - no worries going to the Belive Marion.
We stayed in bldg 1 - great location.

Urso's - Wpg

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Sault, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

When we booked the trip we requested two rooms and that they were side by side as we had our children with us. Our agent was great and really ensured that the request was communicated to the hotel. We ended up in building number 1 and the view from the room was facing the ocean. It was a beautiful view. We had side by side rooms and when we realized that there was an ajoining room on the other side of us, we requested a room change and the front desk person was able to accomodate since the other room was being vacated that day. Although the building is considered to be one of the "older buildings" it was wonderful and we had no complaints with any of the mechanics of the room.

Reading past reviews, we were concerned with being harassed by the locals and the vacation club reps that are outside of the main dining area. We shouldn't read these reviews...a simple no and we were left alone. We did not find that there were tons of people; only a few and it really did not make a difference in our opinion of the resort or of the public beach.

We went for a walk and saw some of the other hotels in the immediate area and really thought the Grand Marien was a very modern facility and one of the nicer hotels.

I am not adventurous when it comes to food so I can say the the buffet could get a little hard to take (I loved the bread!) but my husband will try anything and enjoyed it. The Mexican restaurant was okay, the gourmet restaurant was great and the other one (Rodizio) was awesome! The filet mignon was excellent.

The kids had a great time too and the rec staff were very social.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We went to be live grand marien from march 3-10. Check in was fast. We were in #3 building ocean view. The room are little out of date, but quite clean. At the beach you can all ways find a chair, which is great. The water is cloudy so there is no snorking. The beach is clean, one of the cleanest on that stretch of beach.
The pool is clean and there is always a chair to be found. It is louder here then the beach, as the entertainers working there.
My only complant is the food. The buffet had differnt thing from day to day but the after a week the chosies all were to alike. Over all the food really was never Hot. even in the la cart the food was never Hot. I had a sick tumy every morring, and didn't feel ok tell about 2 in the afternoon. With the food alway only warm, not Hot make me wonder how long it had been sitting. By the end of the week fruit and bread was all I was eating. The best meal I had on my trip was a chicken burger at the airport on the way home(It was HOT!)
Over all it was an Ok trip. They need to work on the food. I have been to Jamaica, Bahamas, Punta Cana and the food here was the worst I have had.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

got back today 17th march.we had a good room position by the beach and mangos snack bar.great location,musty smell in room but cleaned everyday,no way of venting room while youre out,appliances have seen better days ,fridge was warmer inside than the room.
animation team brilliant though poolside speaker was blown but still played on full blast.
pool clean but really needed emptying and repainting.
reception okay,restaurant reservations a nightmare as newcomwers every day got pick of times so you usually had to dine at 9pm.
absolutely nothing for young ones,no park swings etc,had mini club for older 6s and 7s,if your kids are younger than this dont come here,iberostar has park and free icecream all day long,here a very small tub was $2 -$4 depending on who served you.
do not go in the shops as they will rip you off,$4 bottled water
dont get reception man to order you a taxi,you will get ripped off and he will try to top up the fare once there and stop on the way and ask you to buy from friends and suggest you take a guide(not isolated }
food in abundance but quite samey in buffet every day,staff were very nice but was a nightmare to get drinks,coffee etc,seemed to have lots of staff showing you to tables etc but not enough serving
theatre okay but we rarely made it at 9.30 was a little late cos of the boy
beach not for kids as quite rough at all times with waves breaking,though was well maintaned.a few hawkers but nothing too bad.
beach walks only 1 way as west to puerto plata always had menacing local lads just hanging about just passed liability limit sign.go past at your peril.
difficult to get out of hotel under your own steam without aggro from unlicensed taxi driver/motorcycles offering fares,again always doubled on arrival at destination
average was $35 for a3km ride.
we took a$60 ride to sosua and got hassled all day long til at 3pm wed had enough and went back to the confines of camp.
ive been all over the world both lived and holiday'd and never been tucked up as much as i was here.$10 in$20 out pointless form filling and the airport sucks,$10 for a hotdog sausage and bottle of water
my advice,save some more money and go to a better destination, not this two bob tin pot area
,or atleast go punta cana its miles better than the north of the island
cheap holiday ,but be warned theyll have your pants down if you try to go out

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We went to the dominican for 2 weeks at the beginning of march firstly the weather was amazing boiling hot with a nice breeze blue sky EVERY day!!!!! The food was amazing a choice of 4 restaurants which were all so different! The staff were amazing too especially FRANK who works on the reception he made our stay so special he was so helpful and genuinly just wants to make your stay the best that he can!! The hotel is beautiful and so clean there wasn't a time I went into the lobby and there wasn't someone cleaning. All of the staff are so happy and polite they were extreamly long days its just amazing to see how much they enjoy their jobs!!!!!! The entertainment there is hilarious and so perfessionally done, theres a different show everynight-childrens starts at about 8 then a prize giving and sometimes a short adult game at 9 then the main show at half past the people that you will see at 8 in the morning doing the entertainment all day are the same people you will see in the evening shows-they have so much energy is unbelievable!!!!! especially one called CUCHI (obviously not his real name) he has so much energy and personality (and is an amazing dancer) he is with out a doubt, the best there . The pool there is beautiful and huge there is a games section so if you dont have children and want to relax you can still sit on the edge of the pool and be peaceful!!!! The beach is second away from the hotel you can see it from most of the rooms there and its spotless and so safe-there are people there that will try and sell you things but they dont perster you a polite no thank you is enough!! There are two small markets about 15 mins down the beach I wouldnt recomend going on your own as it can be quite intimidating but i knew half of the people by the end of the holiday so you get used of there ways you should just keep in mind if they dont sell anything they dont have dinner that night i think its wonderful how hard they work and still be so nice and polite to people (these markets are nothing to do with the hotel though) we also went to ocean world and swam with dolphins-definatly a must do if you go there and we also went on a safari-if you want a day of learning about the dominican homes and schools ect its definatly the thing to do!!! (you will be offered excertions on the beach extreamly cheap dont do it they have no insurence!!! these people are nothing to do with the hotel) I would recomend this hotel to anyone reading this i only landed 2 days ago and am booking my next stay there already!! DEFINATLY GO!!!!!!!!!!! me and my parter also got engaged there its so romantic for couples!! MY name is Toni from englan contact me if you want to know anything else my e-mail is tilly_freeman333@hotmail.co.uk.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at the grand oasis marien in January, we travelled with thomas cook which was awful then we got to the hotel. First impressions were not very good but it was raining. The rooms where very basic, and not very clean. I wanted to move straight away. The first morning we went for breakfast, we were not impressed!! To cut a long story short the hotel was dreadful, the pool was dirty, around the hotel was maintaince work being carried out. The restuarant was dirty, food was never hot and cold food was slightly warm. The chefs were very unpleasant, not wanting to give you food. We complained to thomas cook which then got passed on to guest services where they upgraded us. It was nice of them but still didnt make up for the poor standards throughtout the hotel. We travelled with a 4 year old and a 14 year old, there were not enough paddles for the kayaks so it was days before our eldest could go on them. The pool was freezing so it was hard to entertain the kids.
This was our 7 time in Dom rep so we no what we should be expecting and this was certainly not it. From my point of view i would not recommend this hotel to anyone but i would recommend going to the dom rep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Collection Marien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.