We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chino and I” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Dorada Golf

Playa Dorada Golf
Playa Dorada 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
(809) 320-3472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 25 attractions in Puerto Plata
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Port Perry, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chino and I”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Golfed again at playa dorada. As soon as I arrived I asked for my caddy Chino. He is a good caddy lots of laughs. My wife wanted her caddy Daniel Roha. We also had Pedro once. Please remember to tip. Its not much and it helps them greatly. The course is in good shape but the greens were slow. They had a tournament on saturday to help raise money for the pro to help him play in europe. S the greens got alot faster after that. All around good time .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Walk in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A short trip over to the golf course. Had a great caddie who was very helpful and quick of wit. Enjoyed the scenery, the wildlife, and even the water hazards.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I played the course the 6th of feb 2013 , I brought my own clubs with because it was free with sunwing. First I have to say my caddie CHI CHI was awesome I had a wicked draw going on for the first 6 holes I blame the canadian winter rust so when telling me where to aim he figured that into my yardage and targeting. the course wasn't busy, I played alone and tore around in less than 3 hrs we were waved through 2 member groups and the flow was good, the course had a lot of rain in the previous weeks so some areas were spongy but overall the greens were nice to putt on not quite july greens but that was fine with me. For the price I cant complain it was 15 for the caddie fee, and 80 for the round I tipped the caddie 25 cause had I rented a cart it would have been 25 and he carried my clubs so why not. I learned playing in Jamaica dont bother reading the greens if the caddie tells you to putt it 4 feet right when you think its left listen to the guy its his job to know the course it works out for the best overall it was a fun round , also it is a 50 buck cab ride from sosua return if you were wondering but thats for up to 6 people so if you have a foresome not bad at all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Winter Golfing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A lovely golf course, easy to walk, with a variety of caddies. When you find one you like, remember his name as well as his number if his name is Juan, Julio, or Hosea! Tip well, over and above the caddie fee which is shared among all the caddies.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Escape the All Inclusive Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Home cooked meals with excellent pricing and a great setting overlooking the 18th hole. I had a chicken cordon bleu for $250 RD and a bottle of Chilean Red for $500RD - you cant beat that!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Dorada Golf also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Playa Dorada Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Dorada Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.