We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Amazing resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A stunning resort with amazing people! Everyone was so welcoming and kind! I went with my friends and we did something different everyday. There was never a dull moment. The food was amazing! We had Italian, Mexican and Chinese food. We played activities everyday at the pool with the greatest team! Shout out to my favourite, CHOCOLATE THUNDER! Always encouraging everyone to participate and full of energy! Along with Shaggy who called me JUANANINA, with professional skills with fire at the pool party with amazing hair style everyday! Minnie mouse, the gorgeous lady with glitter all over her body! Speedy, who makes you laugh all the time, Romeo-911-WOW with the fun aquatic aerobic class. These guys made this trip extra special! Always full of energy and making jokes. Thank you guys so much!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    661
    298
    220
    240
See reviews for
572
778
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I read the reviews and was a little nervous about staying at the Confresi but was quite happy with our experience. The room was clean with a beautiful view, the food from the buffet exceeded the typical buffet food experience with an extensive selection. We did get reservations at two other restaurants and the food was definitely a four star venture. Make your reservations early or you might not get in. We especially enjoyed the Italian restaurant eating outside under the stars. We were there in February and it was a quiet, relaxed atmosphere at the pool we choose to swim in. It was nice to have this choice as other pools were more party pools and it was fun to watch. We were too late to get a cabana but will be smarter about on our next trip. Needless to say, they get occupied quickly. There is also a trolley that will take you around the resort with many hop on hop off stops.
The only problem that we had was with a leak in the bathroom. The bathroom was clean but needed an update.
One of the best features at the Confresi was the bartender named Marissa and I hope I am spelling her name correct. She ran the smaller bar at Confresi Palm, as I remember. She went the extra miles to make our stay so enjoyable. Her skills mixing the drinks and telling about the history of DR were unmatched by anyone else we came in contact with. She is the true gem of this resort!

Room Tip: Our room was not accessible by elevator so you depend on porters to help you with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A beautiful resort on its own, it is really the staff at this resort that made our experience next level. Located around the activity pool, the crew made boring days of tanning much more fun. Romeo 911 Wow is amazing at getting the crowd pumped up to participate in the daily activities. A great MC and genuinely kind person, he will definitely ensure your stay is the very best it can be! Chocolate is full of energy and will do everything he can to make sure you have a smile on your face at all times. Minnie Mouse, the only lady of the crew, is one of the sweetest girls you'll meet. Shaggy, Droopy, and Speedy are some of the most outgoing people I've met and definitely got the party started at the pool and at the nightly shows. Our whole Montreal group definitely appreciated this staff's commitment to making sure we had the most fun we possibly could!

Thursday and Sunday parties are a MUST. Super fun - foam parties, so much food, fire dancers, belly dancers and more. Definitely a must see.

The food was better than expected! We tried the Italian, Chinese, and Mexican restaurants. All really great. The rooms are nice and clean - not that we spent much time in them anyway. Easy to get around - a shuttle can bring you to different parts of the resort.. but it's not that difficult to walk either.

I will definitely be visiting this resort again.

To the entertainment staff, Sara from Montreal, Canada loves you guys. Keep doing what you're doing, because you do it so well!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

ROMEO 911 WOW !!!
The Aquatic Arobics class at this resort was a add benefit of our stay. Music was a great mix of across cultural hits. ROMEO 911 was an encouraging instructor that made the work out fun. The exercise that lead into a competitively fun meet a greet activity. I lost the chicken fight.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This resort met all the expectations that I've seen in the reviews here. The rooms were clean, and well maintained (though we went without AC for a full day due to a system-wide issue... screens in the windows would have solved the problem, but without screens we had the choice of 83-degree rooms or being eaten by mosquitoes).
The food was delicious. The buffets... are buffets. The food is very good, but there's only so much you can do with a steam table. The sit-down restaurants are amazing, but we only were able to get the 3 default reservations they bundle you with the minute you check in. Every other day we showed up at guest services at 9am, but no reservations were available. Definitely definitely definitely try the Mexican restaurant if you can. The staff at all the restaurants were impeccable, and very friendly.
The pool is beautiful, as is the beach. If you're okay with turning down a few locals trying to sell things on the beach (which is public), it's a great place to relax. And, yes, there's a sales pitch on day two that they try to herd you into. It's easy to slip away. But if you stick around a minute, you get away with a bottle of Mama Juana. Just saying...
Here is the reason I probably will not return to Cofresi: I wasn't on vacation to re-live spring break. The culture is party heavy, with less emphasis on just relaxing by the pool and being left alone. I wasn't specifically bothered by anyone, but most entertainment was a lot funner when you're inebriated. And every server at every bar was pushing "one more drink... you're on vacation!" I'm not a teetotaler. In fact, included drinks was part of the selling point. But I'd rather a resort that emphasizes relaxation, not tipsy-ness. On Thursday, all we heard out of every employee's mouth was "are you going to the party? You should!" The loudness, and the partying, and the general emphasis on partying being the only thing to do after dinner (especially on weekends, when the resort is flooded by the locals) is why I will look elsewhere next time I want a vacation.
But, seriously, if you want to have a good time and don''t mind a little loud partying, definitely check out the Cofresi Palm. I more than got my money's worth. It's just not my cup of tea.

Room Tip: Try to get first floor. There are enough stairs at the resort to climb already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

for all the people that read those reviews i will tell youu people that lifestyle. cofresi palm is a great resort for HAVE TO MUCH FUN so and the activities guys the have so many activities in the morning. afternon . and night the. i was in one of the show dancing merengue boom lol that was very fun and plase make sure you meet shaggy ymcmb.a.k.a lil wayne lol is so friendly he really knows how to make you laugh and he really have a good aerobics.. minimi. wow she dance. make games. streching. and was my friend all the time she is so cute i like her. and for my ege is like to much fun..

my roon was totally clean all the time i spend most of the time out of the roon but was always clean thanks to ana. lucia and, jose the guy thanks guy for keep my roon celan, ..
i will come back soon guys i hope to see everybody there

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a fantastic vacation! Our room was Oceanside, clean, nice and comfortable. There were plenty of pools to visit and the resort was beautiful. A few steps each morning and I was on the beach. The staff was the best part. They were friendly, welcoming and fun. I visited with my friend and her mother who needed an escape and good time. Staff at the resort: Shaggy, Droopy, Minnie Mouse, Chocolate and Speedy made our vacation UNFORGETABLE! We were not expecting to have such a great time and without them, may not have been possible. The service at all the restaurants was excellent and I would love to come back. Definitely worth the travel, expense and time. You will not be disappointed...Don't miss out! Almost forgot to mention Romeo 911 he was like "WOW!" : ) XXXOO Mi Familia!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.