We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experienced in puerto plata” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
1 review
“Best experienced in puerto plata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Glad I chose this resort, everything is beautiful a little far apart but a lot of different pools to choose from the beach is beautiful great view, great music the drinks they make it strong. Very friendly people wifi isn't included but overall it's worth it. Cappuccino

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment; it was fun for us to read your detail explanation about your experience with us. You really took the best of our destination to enjoy your holydays.

We are glad to hear that you had a good time and we hope to see you in our property again in the future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    649
    293
    217
    238
See reviews for
556
756
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend n I enjoyed the place. However, my parent and grandparents had a little trouble with all the steps. Food was okay...not fabulous, but hey the place was super cheap. The staff was amazing. Great trip for the $.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay in our property we appreciate your nice comments, we are happy that you spend a satisfactory holidays with us I will mention your comments in our weekly management meeting. Your comments are very important to us.

We hope to see you in our property in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I got what I thought was a great deal on Hotels.com for $70/per night for two people.

We arrived to the hotel at 5:30am on June 28, 2013 as we experienced delays in NYC etc. Our check in was not till 3pm on June 28, 2013, but the front desk said we can check in early if we pay $25/each per person ( we did it ). A guy took us to our rooms in a golf cart, (We had two rooms for 3 people, they had us in separate buildings.) he brought the bags into the rooms (all buildings are walk ups, there are NO elevators). He said he was going to show us around the resort, he pointed 2 - 3 things out, dropped us at "The Tower" and before we knew it, we were in a Condo/Lifestyle sales pitch. They wanted us to buy a "lifestyle time share".................................

$10,000 - JR. Suite - also have to pay $249 a week plus $50/day per person
$15,000- One Bedroom - also have to pay $399 a week plus $69/day per person
$30,000-Presidential Suite - also have to pay $599 a week plus $84/day per person
$60,000-Villas - also have to pay $999 a week plus $89/day person

After an hour we just wanted to leave - We left....... we go outside to find the guy who dropped us there, he was gone. We asked the other staff if they could bring us back to our rooms, they said only VIP's get golf cart rides. We had to walk back to our resort.

We find our rooms, go take a nap, head to the beach. If you don't arrive to the beach early you will not be able to get a cabana. We found one and we hung out at the beach and slept in the beds by the water.

6:30pm we go to El Pilon, there is about 25 tables, with only 3 - 4 being occupied. We say 3 please. Do you have reservations? was the response. Reservations? NO.

***You can only go to the restaurants if you have reservations***

They will only give you two reservations for a week stay - other wise you HAVE TO EAT AT THE GROSS BUFFET "The Pearl" or go to the other resort and eat at Casablanca which is also a buffet and is OK.

Lots of steps and hills, we rented mopeds for $25/day it was the best for getting around and not having to wait for buses.

Even talking to Lucia the Manager of Guest Services, seemed like she had no pull. She is somewhat nice, but doesn't make the guest feel like they can do anything for you.

Everything is, this is for VIP, oh your not VIP, I'm sorry VIP only. ONLY way to be VIP is to be duped and buy a TIMESHARE/LIFESTYLE thing with them.

Gold Sparkly bracelet - can go anywhere
blue sparkly bracelet - are people with gold sparkly bracelet people
red sparkly bracelet - are people from other time share places staying at resort

Regular Light Blue bracelet - are the scum, only allowed the crap service and horrible treatment.

There is no fresh juices, or sodas. Everything is made in one gallon jugs that look like bleach bottles. IT IS SO GROSS.

We were suppose to stay 9 days but left after 5 days. I was not eating and there is nothing near by but a casino that connected to the all inclusive iberostar - which there club was playing all good music and had real pina colada's made from fresh ingredients.

Trust me - spend just a little more to go somewhere else other wise you will be sitting in this resort saying "Dam I should of listened to that review

Room Tip: A good tip to choose a "good room" - Choose a different Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our Hotel did not meet your expectations. The Cofresi Palm is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.
Having said this, we reassure you this feedback is taken seriously as a constructive opinion that allow us to detect errors and enhance our operations as well as other customer´s experiences.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulty you may have experienced during your stay.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Would so recommend this hotel. Had such a great time with my family would definitely come back great show ,great food and good entertainment Cappuccino, Banana, Spageti and Super tino show a great time from the first day to the last.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay in our property we appreciate your nice comments, we are happy that you spend a satisfactory holidays with us I will mention your comments in our weekly management meeting. Your comments are very important to us.

We hope to see you in our property in the near future.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I come to Puerto plata every year with my sister and family and stay in the same place. I love it. there is amazing beaches and the food is lovely. my favourite was Jazz restaurant. The foam party on Thursday and the welcome party on Sunday and the 70s/80s night on Tuesday are very fun! and for the rest of the nights the club ice is great. I came back from this resort to weeks ago and we are already booking are next flights for December! this resort is amazing and I never get bored!
The only thing I wish was there is the old club vibe, which they have know turned into a casino. Which is still good I suppose.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a great time, rooms are clean food is decent. wished i booked through a third party vendor probably would've received a better pacakge. cappuccino is a great person agree with the prior reviews. would recommend this hotel for a few a day stay. the rest of the enterainment groups were great.spagety banana super tino barby great tim

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The place was gorgeous and all of the workers super friendly, especially Spaghetti. The shows were super fun make sure to catch them, and relax! They make you feel at home and are very willing to help. Definitely recommend this resort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.