We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing!!! didnt want to come home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CheapCaribbean Tingo.com
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Ajax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“relaxing!!! didnt want to come home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

had a great time lots of canadians and friendly people. the one thing that we noticed was the resort had a big class difference that showed and they favored the VIP's more. this was not a big deal we tiped the bartenders and people and were treated better. our major problem was we had no hot water for 2 days.... the resort itself was amazing to look at and explore.. this is a big couples resort made it super amazing for me and my man. we loved the fun staff like super tino and sexy blacky and bon jovi!! they made out days and were so fun to hang around. Edward is the best bartender on the resort and we made great friends with him. overall an amazing and relaxing trip. the food was amazing at the al acarts but at the buffet it was hit and miss go to the casablanca not the peral the casablanca has better food. we loved to pools and the chairs in the pool made the relaxing and keeping cool alittle easyer but the sun was amazing had great weather had to jump in to cool down. overall great trip dont no if i would go back if i did UPGRADE TO THE VIP we were nobodys and it showed even the step up got access to differnt things.

Room Tip: have rooms in the 304,303,305 buildings you are in the middle of the resort so that you dont have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.
We are happy to hear that you had a relaxed time in our resort and of course your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product.

It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best Regars,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    402
    191
    149
    175
See reviews for
353
492
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Cofresi Palm resort for 7 days and had an absolutely wonderful time! We arrived later at night but had an easy check in, everything was explained well by front desk and they drove us right to our room, with our bags, in a cart so we didn’t get lost. Needless to say we left our rooms to explore and within an hour we were lost, but as soon as we got to a security guard he drove us back to the lobby so we could restart our exploring the grounds. Throughout the first few days we found everything we needed to, and if we couldn’t find something any of the staff was more than happy to help us! The Buffet at Cofresi is where we usually ate, although the beach restaurant El Pilon was nice, but the best was the buffet at Tropical *which is included for everyone, not just VIP*. I recommend eating there more than the other buffet. We tried the Dominican restaurant, Italian, and Johnny’s, (all reservations are included and given to you at check-in) and all had wonderful staff (very accommodating, very friendly, and always having fun and joking with us) and all had wonderful food. If you go to El Pilon for a reservation get the fried fish, we went off resort and tried it in town and here and both were AMAZING!
The resort was slightly large, so we didn’t get to every beach but the ones we did get to were fantastic! The hammocks were our favourite place to relax in but there were always chairs or little huts to lay in as well. The beach and pool staff were all incredible as well! They were entertaining, always joking around and getting people to play the games. Special mention of Sexy Blacky, Sexy Banana and Mosquito for making our beach and pool experiences wonderful. I can’t imagine our trip being as amazing without these wonderful employees, it’s clear that they really love doing what they do!
Our room was nice, little balcony, great hot showers and very clean. The cleaning service came daily to clean, although sometimes we were in the room and chose to not have it done. Some days later than others, but the resort is quite large so that’s expected. Never later than three in the afternoon.
Lastly I would want to applaud the staff at the front who would call the shuttles. If we ever wanted to get to another section of the resort or to Tropical etc all we had to do was ask for a shuttle and we never waited longer than five minutes (and even that was a pretty long time for them). The one time it took longer than two minutes the guy apologized profusely, which was insane as it hadn’t been that long at all.
The one thing I would recommend most to people considering this resort (and I DEFINETLY recommend this resort) is remember that these are people working at a job just the same as you are when you are at home. Sometimes there can be hiccups in a system, or a miscommunication but whenever there was they were very apologetic and would go out of their way to help us in every way possible. That is a sign of good service, which Cofresi Palm has loads off!

Room Tip: We had a corner room in building 301, and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest Petersons5:

Dear guest,
It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide an unforgettable experience and also help us to always improve our service. We are glad to see that we have achieved your satisfaction and we hope to have you with us at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Groupon purchase..

Just got back yesterday!
So I was first "introduced" to Cofresi by Groupon. They had a deal going on that I thought was a complete steal ($450 for 5 nights! all inclusive!) I thought, hey, I just want a nice beach and warm weather, why not take a chance of booking this deal after reading not so pleasant reviews.
DAY 1.
We arrived around 1PM and were checked in immediately (usually check in is at 3) the front desk agent gave us keys, and quickly explained everything that was in our little envelope, and pointed us to a golf cart where a nice man picked up our suitcases and we drove to our building - 20426 to be exact. the building wasn't that far, we could have walked, but it was nice to have a ride waiting!
When we got to our room is was nothing special...the A/C wasn't working to its full power, but we did have a nice balcony where we left the doors open. There were a couple things I didn't like...There was definitely a smell of mold, our TV didn't work, and the shower would not drain properly. There were also several power outages (seemed to be everyday around the same time) and there were a couple times where we didn't have hot water. The beds were extremely hard! so unconformable!! but hey, we were paying less than $100 a night - we weren't expecting a luxury room...one tip, don't but your clothes in the closet! they will smell like wood chips!
At this point we're starving!! we just made it to the buffet before lunch was over. There are 2 buffets,, Casablanca, and The Pearl. They're relatively close, and they both served the same things. It was nothing special, but it wan't bad! We did enjoy the omelet station in the morning, and at night they had pasta stations. We ended up sticking with the buffets because our first "real restaurant experience" was DISGUSTING! We went to the Italian restaurant, because reservations were already set for us. I ordered the Margarita pizza, and my sister go the Eggplant parm. my pizza was basically this crust like thing with literally 2 pounds of cheese on top - there wasn't any spinach, or other veggies on top. I thought mine was bad until i tried the Eggplant! SO GROSS! We left a tip and walked out. Just imagine if a chain restaurant like Denny's, or Friendly's tried serving Italian food...ew.

SECOND DAY.
We woke up to a call from Carlos. He wanted to know when we wanted a ride to breakfast. It was a nice gesture, but we were sleeping. We kindly told him that we were walking, and that we would be sure to give him a call if we needed a ride anywhere. eventually we rolled out of bed, went to the buffet, and started out search for the best seat at the multiple pools around the resort! the beach wasn't special at all. When the tide comes in there is NO where to sit. We found a quiet pool, really close to our room. We were there for most of the day, until we were introduced to mosquito. He was freaking annoying. I just wanted to lay in the sun, and not be disturbed. I don't even know what it title is. We did chat with him for a little bit, and he finally went away. But then he came back and sat with a group on teens...they started playing loud music, which is when we left. this is when we were informed that non VIP people are allowed to go to the VIP beach!!! Get there around 7:30Am to get in line and you'll get a comfortable cabana! There is also wifi here that you don't have to pay for!! you just need to know the password. We simply asked a VIP member the username and password - which was username: February Password: February. If you're there in March..try March for both the username and password! That was probably our best discovery. Cabanas and Wifi!
We did this for a couple days when we finally decided to sign up for a excursion! PARADISE ISLAND was awesome!! If you like to snorkel, or even if you've never done it before (like me) you will still have a blast!! The man that took us out into the water when it was time for snorkeling was so kind and so fun! we ended up tipping him $20.
Between our room and the food I would say that I got what I paid for. I wasn't there to eat a gourmet dinner every night, or to have flawless room. Don't be a resort snob..If your'e paying over a thousand dollars for just a couple nights then there might be something to complain about.
TIPS!!
Traveling from the airport to the resort (POP) you need to have $10 per person to get into the airport! its like a visitors pass or something. also, when you walk through customs there will be a lot of people trying to take your bags and help you find a taxi...they obviously want a tip, so unless you don't have cash or you don't want to tip someone don't let them take your bags!! We paid $45 US dollars for one way - you can go through the hotel and pay $16 for each person for a return. There wasn't really any need to exchange money, US dollars are accepted every where.

Remember, don't be a resort snob.
Enjoy your stay:)

Room Tip: look up a map of the resort and request a specific building. 204 wasn't that far from anything r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.

We appreciate your observations which are treated with the utmost interest, since we believe that this is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention to improve in all aspects.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was the best vacation ever, food and people were excellent. My son went to the kids club every day and had the time of his life (he’s 10) He never wanted to be with us during the day. The people in charge of the kids club were amazing especially Grace and Alfredo. I trusted them whole heartedly with my son. My son loved them and joked with them all week calling them Amazing Grace and Alfredo Sauce! – this put us at ease even though we did check in on him to see him laughing and having a great time. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of our management, we thank you for posting a review about your experience among us and for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort for your holidays.
We are very glad to read your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff and you can be sure that we have congratulated Grace and Alfredo for her making you vacation so wonderful.

It would be a pleasure to have you and your son back with us very soon.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Cofressi Palms resort. We absolutely LOVED it! We met so many nice people from all over the world. The room was good. We stayed in 21031. The only bad thing was the shower was just a trickle and the walls are paper thin. The maid closet was right next to our room and we heard that door slam all the time. Other than that NOTHING!! The food was great at the buffets and the restaurants. Highly recommend Jazz. There are a lot of stairs but that helps burn off all the calories we took in : ) Highly recommend this resort or Lifestyles.

Room Tip: if you can't do stairs get a bottom floor ( no elevators). Put a few bucks in the fridge, guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay in our property, Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. We appreciate your nice comments and are happy that you spend a satisfactory holidays with u.
I will mention your comments in our weekly management meeting as they are very important to us.

We hope to see in our property in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I honestly dont think id go anywhere else in Puerto Plata But here

The food was great!!!! 10 restaurants you cant go wrong. Im happy i was able to get hot food 3 oclock in the morning.
The italian, mexican, and seafood restaurants were my fav's

Our Rooms were great. I recommend the Junior Suite,

the entertainment was amazing.. synchronzing swimming in the night... they were floating on the water blowing fire. I love the way they encouraged the crowd to come up and participate on stage.

The beach is great, i love that they had actual beach beds out there. Beautiful

Im a very picky person with where i stay and what i eat... and they did great in my books :)

i didnt get to check out the spa so i cant comment on that

the bad part was that on the wknds when some of the locals come with their families which i like.. it made the night life in the disco more fun...... BUT!!! the front desk staff got a little unorganized and they ended up booking our room to another family... luckily we were still in our rooms at the time... it was swiftly fixed but that was the only bad thing i really had to say..

stafff is great!!!! and very attentive... it could be because i tipped but overall they deserved it.

Room Tip: pick the junior suites... they are in mint condition... newly built spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This resort was absolutely amazing! To those who gave this place any less than 4 stars should just go kill themselves because they will never enjoy anything in life.. and on with the review.

Property:
Enormous, amazing buildings, on a mountainside overlooking a long fantastic beach. Tons of pool areas, with chairs that sat in water over the edge of pool. Giant pool at top of resort by lobby, and many other pools everywhere on the walk down to the beach.
Food:
GO TO THE VIP PARTY ON SUNDAY!
Food was good but between the over-eating and lower quality foods(from the DR in general, not this resort) some did get a bit queezy.

Bars:
The bars were great and the service was excellent. The alcohol served anywhere but the VIP beach wasn't great but they mixed it well enough. The VIP beach was fantastic and served top shelf liquors. We found ourselves eating lunch here most days.

Room:
As basic as basic gets.. Air condition did not work great but we didn't complain since we where hardly ever there. The other couple we traveled with had ice-cold AC. No draws only 1 large closet. Bathroom was decent and clean.

Value:
No brainer! We got eight nights through groupon for $750 per couple.

Room Tip: The room we had was as basic as basic gets.. Who cares about the room?? Your in paradise! You'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Resort Spa
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort
Sun Village Resort & Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list