We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
ktichener
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel does need some maintenance work done in the all the rooms except the newer rooms down by the beach.If your going to book here ask for a room in the buildings 40 and up. Our first night we stayed in 3011 and it had a hole in the bathtub as big as a football. The furniture looked like it was in fight and the room stank of mildew. We didn't even have a bedspread, just sheets. The bathroom window came right off the frame in my hand. So it wasn't a pleasant night at all. In the morning we went to speak to the manager Pedro and he was great. He moved us that afternoon to a junior suite down by the beach. The rest of week was great and the staff working there was great too. No one bothered us for a time share after we said no the first time. We had a very good time and great weather.

Room Tip: walk up the beach and eat at the tropical, better food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you, for taking your time to write this review, its wonderful for us to hear that you had an great week at our Cofresi Palm beach & Spa Resort.
We apologize for the inconvenience that you had the first night, but it’s really rewarding to hear that the problems got solved, that you think our staff is great and that you could enjoy the rest of your stay.
We hope to have you back at our resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    700
    466
    225
    172
    198
See reviews for
413
564
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed in the spa suites building which is need of major renovation every day either toilet didn't work, ceiling in shower major leak doors didn't lock they didn't put clean sheets on tv didn't work telephone didn't work.., and on and on it went . My friend 2 doors down didn't have the problems but towels wear thread bare some days.. Use better towels on my pets... Manager eventually fixed things but it was
A daily problem... Better to upgrade to their Presidential suites

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you for taking your time to write this review, this is very helpful for us to improve and we take your comments very seriously.
We are very sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations and we promise that we will correct these situations.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked through cheap Caribbean and couldn't believe how good of a deal we got. Since it was so cheap and we had read some bad reviews on here are expectations were low. I was blown away at how great everything was here. When we arrived it couldn't have been easier to check in. Frank at the reception desk was extremely friendly. He gave us dinner reservations for three of the nights plus we had the night at ocean world and the welcome party which only left one night at the Buffett which seemed more than fair. When we got to the room I was afraid that the air might not work very good but that was so far from the truth. It worked so well that it was freezing most of the time. I have never been in a hotel room so cold. The fridge was stocked with a couple waters, sodas and 2 beers. We drank the beers pretty much as soon as we got there after reading the reviews I knew not to expect it to get restocked so when I saw the maid in the lobby I tipped her 3 dollars and asked for more beers whenever she got time. She brought us a few more and was on it the rest of the trip often bringing is towels twice a day and refilling the fridge as needed. It actually seemed like she was always outside our room after that. The bartenders were all awesome. Super Martin at the whiskey bar was ultra friendly. And Edward, Maria, Gregor, and Jose at the cheers bar were a big hit with everyone. We met a lot of other people vacationing while we were there and they all loved the place. The food was not my favorite but they try really hard. Whenever you go to a foreign country you have to expect that it's not going to taste the same as you are used to it. The food at the welcome party was awesome but it started raining really hard while we were there. I got to cross eating Lobster in the rain off my bucket list. They still did the fireworks show in the rain and it was pretty good. Your second day there they will rope you into a timeshare tour but as soon as you do it they will leave you alone. We had told them we were on our honeymoon and they seemed like they have us the soft sale compared to other people we had talked too. The beach was really close to our room and since it was the off season it was really easy to get a bed or a hammock by the water. For the price you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this review and we are really happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations.
I will definitely make sure to congratulate the staff members that you mentioned and that made your vacation a memorable one.
We hope to have you back at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort very soon.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My boyfriend went this last week (11/15-11/19) and it was amazing! There is a difference between non-vip and vip, but there is excellent service either way. The food was amazing, especially at international gourmet and the Rodizio. Sadly our VIP/Welcome party was rained out but it was great until the rain started! We stayed at Cofresi Palms and the rooms were nice, the rooms for the VIPs we saw on the tours were beautiful though. We did become VIP but they worked with us on pricing and we got a great deal, if you are nice and get the right people they will work with you on a great deal. Ocean world is a MUST and the gift shop there is very reasonable for souveniers, the vendors on the resort are a bit overpriced but again the more you buy the more reasonable they get. People who stood out on service included Frank at reception, Carlos from Casablanca/VIP party and Diobly from the tour. We will be back very soon hopefully!!!!
PS. From previous reviews i had read i followed this advice and it worked beautifully:
bring a bottle opener (the presidentes in the fridge are not twist off!), if you put the towels on the floor and leave a little tip you will have no problems with towels (we left like 100 pesos which is llike $2.50 and they even brought us a fruit platter the next day). Do not drink any water other than bottled!! you may ask for the bottles at the restaurants and bars. I have Chrons so i took this very seriously and had no trouble with being sick the entire week!!! (we did bring immodium just in case though, none needed). A little spanish goes a long way with the staff (hola (hello), gracias (thank you), denada (your welcome), banos (bathroom)...pardon all spelling...but just those basics took us a long way! Lastly take the beach to walk places, its actually not too far to walk and the shuttle takes a long time!

Room Tip: we were at Cofresi Palms and it was a bit far but the Tropical is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Its wonderful to read that you had a great vacation at our resort and also that you now are part of the Lifestyle family.
We will make sure to congratulate the staff members that you mentioned for providing a good service and for making you enjoy your vacation.
Your comments and recommendations are very appreciated by us, but also by our future guests, your comments are very helpful.
Hope to have you back as soon as possible at our Lifestyle vacation resort.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Confresi for the week of 10 to 17 November 2012. The resort is beautiful and the staff are great. Sexi Blackie, Bambu and Banana worked hard to ensure guests were having a good time and it made time spent at the beach a lot of fun. Rosario in the Peal Buffet was very nice and made us feel welcome every time. Rosa did an excellent job keeping our room spotless and she showed great pride in her work.
When we arrived the fridge in the room and the remote for the TV were not working but were fixed immediately once we reported the problem.
The food was quite good at the Pearl buffet and the Mexican and Seafood a la carte restaurants were great. Unfortunately, the humidity was very high and having the restaurants air conditioned would have made dining more enjoyable. The Cheers Bar near the lobby made excellent cocktails and the bartenders were very pleasant and funny.
The power went out almost daily but only for a short time and did not really cause any problems. I would suggest bringing along a small flashlight just in case. The only thing negative that we experienced was the fact that the computers for public use were not working the whole time we were there and it did not appear that any action was being taken to correct the problem. However, on a very positive note, when we expressed concern and a need to contact family by email, the front desk staff allowed us access to the hotel office so we could use their system. It was much appreciated.
All in all, a wonderful vacation in a very pleasant enviroment with staff more than eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We would definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 305, 306 and 307 are close to both the lobby, buffet restaurant and short walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience during your stay at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort.
We are very glad to read that you had a great vacation and that you would definitely return to our resort.
I will make sure to congratulate the staff member that you have mentioned for making you have a good time and for providing a good service.
Its also very rewarding to read that you liked the food at our restaurants and that when ever you had an issue it was solved immediately.
We take very seriously the recommendations provided by our guests and we will have in mind your suggestion about the A/C at our restaurants, even though many of them already have an A/C system.
The issue that you comment, regarding the power/ electricity was a situation not only at the hotel but in the whole city but we have an electrical system that works when the main electricity goes of, we are very sorry that you had to experience this during your stay, but its not something that happens on regular bases.
Thank you once again for your comment and we hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My fiance and I just wanted to run away for a week and relax. The resort was pretty and we love the DR so we were happy to just soak up the sun. Sometimes when you go to an all inclusive resort you get overwhelmed by the staff wanting you to participate. But here it was a pleasent mixture of enthusiasm and politeness. A guy named "Sexy Bamboo" was so much fun!! We hope when we go back that he is there!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you think our resort is pretty.
Its also highly appreciate that you took your time to write this review.
I will make sure that Bambu gets congratulated for making you stay fun, our most important resource are our staff members and we constantly get very good comments about them.
It will be a great honor to have you back at our resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my friends landed on a Monday, and with 8 friend's whose last name's are Li and Wongs, you'd imagine they'd be smart enough not to place you in an Asian restaurant. I mean come on, General Tso's chicken and sweet and sour soup? First it's not even close to Chinese and if I really wanted some, my local take out was even better than this. The only thing they got right on that menu is the Grouper. The biggest gimmick was the dinner reservations for the restaurants in which they required you to make a reservation at the front reception from 9am-10am. I mean does this make any sense? I'm on vacation, why would I want to wake up at 8am to go make reservations for dinner? And I already have a list, won't it work better with a phone call? The timing and order or things is just completely off, this is really poor regulation by management. And when we sat in a pool with 2 other couple, they claimed to have been called by the reception in the morning about what they would like to reserve for dinner and that's probably the worst differential treatment I've heard, out and plainly clear. Then the following days were filled with more disappointment, the beach was filled with debris? Does anyone work here? Followed by pools uncleaned. 90 percent of the staff were fine, other than that, I felt like I've just spent a trip to Coney Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of al we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this review, we highly appreciate it, as this is a way for us to read your comments and improve our services every day.
Regarding the pre-assigned restaurant reservation, I would like to explain that the restaurant does not get assigned by the guests last name our by the guests nationality, it’s a system that randomly pre-assigns the restaurants and if you are not happy with the choice, you can go to the Guest Service Department and change the option that was pre assigned.
Depending on the amount of days that you stay at the resort you get an amount dinner reservation pre assigned, and then depending on if you want more reservations, you go to the Guest Service Department and request more, depending on the availability.
Regarding your comment about the unclean pools, it really surprises us.
As you might know, all major Tour Operators promoting Puerto Plata, require that we go by specifics hygiene and food handling standards.
In order to audit those standards on a regular basis, we have hired an outsource company called Preverisk, a UK based company,
Preverisk is used by most hotel chains and tour operators doing business in the Dominican Republic, Europe, US as well as Canada which all have access to the results of such audits. Those records do not show any significant deficiencies that would indicate a risk to our guests’ welfare.
We are very sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations, that we failed to make you have a pleasant stay, like the one that you deserve and we apologize for this.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.