We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some People just complain about everything...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Allegro Playa Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Occidental Allegro Playa Grande to your Saves list
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rio San Juan MTS | PO Box 10, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
toronto
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some People just complain about everything...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Me and my family stayed at the allegro puerto plata for christmas and new years. Before i left i did read a lot of bad reviews on the hotel which kinda made me nervous about my stay... But obviously there are people who are going to pick at every little thing. I didnt find a problem with the hotel, and it was a very reasonable price, i found the staff to be very friendly, the entertainment was a little repatative, but they always did activities by the pool. There was always something to eat.The only downfall for me was that there was really no night life on the resort. If your going with your family and just wanna relax , I'd say go for it. If your going with friends to party, maybe chose another resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The beaches and rooms are so beautiful along with the country itself. Would love to stay here again :-)

Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

let me start by saying, everything from the property brochure to the travel agent was way off bases of this hotel. IT IS NOT 24 HOUR RESORT, no drinks after 12am, no disco , no water in your room for anything, no food after 11pm, not much of snacks in between meals. beach is dirty, vendors and locals on resort constantley, high theft rates in rooms. TERRIBLE and non variety of meals. the entertainment was OK . NO SERVICE hardley. we went with another couple as well. this vacation caused conflict since i was the one who booked it. however i was mislead on this resort. my husband and i travel alot and have been at a 3 star in Porta plata, and we been to the Rius as well. i would have to AGREE alot of 3 stars such as fun royale tropicale and the village, have much better resort and food then this property, we are not over fussy, but would like good food and good fun. this isnt the place. i also got food poison from thesnack bar on day 3 . I wont return to this resort but i will return to Porta Plata. its way boring, ala cartes were awsome . great meals. dont expect to party or dance or anything after 12am. its all closed. the resort is ghost town after midnuite. and WARNING locals are al over the resort and have rooms as well and people have been ripped off for their wallets rooms have been broken into, in a week i was there. i can go on about the bad of this resort, but i can not find anything good about it except it was well kept up clean (as you sleep) is when they clean the place...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

After reading reviews of this hotel we insisted on being in building 5 or 6. We were put in Bldg.6 without any questions. There were a total of 13 in our group (6 rooms).
Check in was swift and friendly. The room and the grounds were clean. The pools were colder than the Ocean but clean. Always plenty of chairs at the beach and/or pools.
People were friendly and usually helpful. Food was good for DR standards. Selection of side dishes was monotinous but main courses were good. We went to 2 of the 3 al a cartes. Italian was nice but the Grill was excellent. Steaks were huge and very good. We skipped the Mexican due to hearsay. Golfed 3 times across the street at Paya Dorada. Very nice but the greens were suspect in places.
Tips definitely increased level of service received at various areas including the bars.
This facility definitely lacked in late night after hours eating selection (boiled hot dogs nightly). Also, they would not give us 2 room keys which caused some frustration if we were not always together. In room remote control for TV are available if you ask.
Night time entertainment was typical with the Karioke being the most popular. Not much to do at night outside of this or the Lounge area with a Piano player.
The hawkers on the beach were not that bad and accepted a quick " no gracias" and moved on. Enviroment was safe and clean.
Overall, it was a good experience. Not great, but we got what we paid for....a 3.5 star resort.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We loved it. 2 friends for a week away and what a time!! Food was delicious and more than plentiful. Beach was exotic to say the least and the snack bar and drinks on the beach was very convenient. We were waited on and catered to like celebrities. The swimming pool area was the same way. All kinds of wait staff, men and women alike were more than happy to accomodate. Housekeeping staff did a wonderful job of our room and were left a small tip or gift each day. We never left the resort, just beach, pool, restaurant and bar, thats all working moms need for a week away.

  • Liked — wait staff service at beach and pool
  • Disliked — disco was not that busy
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Before I start I should warn that we were diverted to this resort because of an over booking at the one we were to stay at, but I will attempt to remain objective. The resort on a whole is very nice- clean, wonderful pool, incredible golf and cliff views to the ocean that must be seen to describe. While we 'lay over' at this resort we discovered that it was almost booked by a large group of a Jewish community that because of their religion had to take over the kitchen. The resort did best they could for our group and should be commended especially after taking the abuse of many from our group. The room was pretty good, perhaps above average for the area and included a wonderful balcony where you can hear the ocean. The pool was fantastic and the staff outstanding given the whole situation. We never got to the beach because we did not stay long enough to find it - apparently across the road and down a cliff. However, given the situation that we were in, the resort was fantastic and the staff was more than courteous and helpful - I would go again if I had a golf partner.

  • Liked — Pool Area and scenery
  • Disliked — Proximity to the beach
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

My husband and I took our 3 children, 13,11 and 9 on our first family vacation on Jun 3 -07. The weather was amazing!!
The resort was great for families, the kids club worked hard at making the stay enjoyable ....the sports counter was great for our son. The kids really enjoyed being there, the staff were friendly, the food was great however, was ready to come home to eat by the end of the week. The a la cartes were good, recomend the steak at both italian and the grill for sure!
Our only complaint was the sellers on the beach they were really overwhelming, too many hanging around this end of the beach.
Every experience is different however if you try to remember that these people are working hard to make your stay enjoyable, and that you are not in your own country so dont expect it to be classed as it would be here, you will have a great time!
Tips: bring 30 plus sunscreen (expensive there) advil, ear plugs if needed, bug spray ( they were bad in the evening)

Dont Go For the Tour they offer you of the Flaminco it is a waste of your vacation time!!!

To snorkel go left on the beach follow up past the stream that runs to the ocean, cross, and in front of the Grand Ventanna you will find coral, bring a bananna and some bread and you will be amazed at the beauty!!

ENJOY!

  • Liked — loved the pools, great to have options, the sports area and the kids club.
  • Disliked — the sellers along the beach,
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Allegro Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Allegro Playa Grande

Address: Rio San Juan MTS | PO Box 10, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Allegro Playa Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Occidental Allegro Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande Hotel Puerto Plata
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Allegro Playa Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.