We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star accomodations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Allegro Playa Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rio San Juan MTS | PO Box 10, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Puerto Plata
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 star accomodations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Don't buy into the "Fly and Buy" plan for this. The accomodations in the old motel section are in need of major renovations, (Particularly the sewer and water systems). The VIP time share accomodations are fancy, but you cn smell the sewer odours at several locations on the property, in both the old and new sections.

Room Tip: You would need to book at least a first class room/suite. The older motel suites all share the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My friend and I decided we wanted a tropical getaway in April 2010 so we gave this all inclusive resort a shot. I didn't go there having very high expectations but I was very pleasantly surprised at how much fun I had. The rooms were very clean and the food was good. The restaurants that required reservations had delicious food and the buffet was also good. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Any tips that we gave to the staff were very much appreciated. The bartenders were friendly, warm, and had a wonderful sense of humor. My friend and I were instantly comfortable there. The shows at night were entertaining and funny and were geared to both children and adults. The beach was very clean and beautiful. We enjoyed our trip in April so much that we returned in July. We were somewhat apprehensive that the trip could not possibly compare to our first because we had had such a great time. Again, we were very pleasantly surprised. The bartenders, entertainment team, and restaurant staff go above and beyond to make sure the guests are comfortable and have aa fun vacation. I have and will continue to recommend this all inclusive resort to my family and friends. We were especially impressed with one of the bartenders, Raphael, who mixed delicious drinks and was very friendly aand accomodating. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Me and my family stayed at the allegro puerto plata for christmas and new years. Before i left i did read a lot of bad reviews on the hotel which kinda made me nervous about my stay... But obviously there are people who are going to pick at every little thing. I didnt find a problem with the hotel, and it was a very reasonable price, i found the staff to be very friendly, the entertainment was a little repatative, but they always did activities by the pool. There was always something to eat.The only downfall for me was that there was really no night life on the resort. If your going with your family and just wanna relax , I'd say go for it. If your going with friends to party, maybe chose another resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The beaches and rooms are so beautiful along with the country itself. Would love to stay here again :-)

Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

let me start by saying, everything from the property brochure to the travel agent was way off bases of this hotel. IT IS NOT 24 HOUR RESORT, no drinks after 12am, no disco , no water in your room for anything, no food after 11pm, not much of snacks in between meals. beach is dirty, vendors and locals on resort constantley, high theft rates in rooms. TERRIBLE and non variety of meals. the entertainment was OK . NO SERVICE hardley. we went with another couple as well. this vacation caused conflict since i was the one who booked it. however i was mislead on this resort. my husband and i travel alot and have been at a 3 star in Porta plata, and we been to the Rius as well. i would have to AGREE alot of 3 stars such as fun royale tropicale and the village, have much better resort and food then this property, we are not over fussy, but would like good food and good fun. this isnt the place. i also got food poison from thesnack bar on day 3 . I wont return to this resort but i will return to Porta Plata. its way boring, ala cartes were awsome . great meals. dont expect to party or dance or anything after 12am. its all closed. the resort is ghost town after midnuite. and WARNING locals are al over the resort and have rooms as well and people have been ripped off for their wallets rooms have been broken into, in a week i was there. i can go on about the bad of this resort, but i can not find anything good about it except it was well kept up clean (as you sleep) is when they clean the place...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

After reading reviews of this hotel we insisted on being in building 5 or 6. We were put in Bldg.6 without any questions. There were a total of 13 in our group (6 rooms).
Check in was swift and friendly. The room and the grounds were clean. The pools were colder than the Ocean but clean. Always plenty of chairs at the beach and/or pools.
People were friendly and usually helpful. Food was good for DR standards. Selection of side dishes was monotinous but main courses were good. We went to 2 of the 3 al a cartes. Italian was nice but the Grill was excellent. Steaks were huge and very good. We skipped the Mexican due to hearsay. Golfed 3 times across the street at Paya Dorada. Very nice but the greens were suspect in places.
Tips definitely increased level of service received at various areas including the bars.
This facility definitely lacked in late night after hours eating selection (boiled hot dogs nightly). Also, they would not give us 2 room keys which caused some frustration if we were not always together. In room remote control for TV are available if you ask.
Night time entertainment was typical with the Karioke being the most popular. Not much to do at night outside of this or the Lounge area with a Piano player.
The hawkers on the beach were not that bad and accepted a quick " no gracias" and moved on. Enviroment was safe and clean.
Overall, it was a good experience. Not great, but we got what we paid for....a 3.5 star resort.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We loved it. 2 friends for a week away and what a time!! Food was delicious and more than plentiful. Beach was exotic to say the least and the snack bar and drinks on the beach was very convenient. We were waited on and catered to like celebrities. The swimming pool area was the same way. All kinds of wait staff, men and women alike were more than happy to accomodate. Housekeeping staff did a wonderful job of our room and were left a small tip or gift each day. We never left the resort, just beach, pool, restaurant and bar, thats all working moms need for a week away.

  • Liked — wait staff service at beach and pool
  • Disliked — disco was not that busy
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental Allegro Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Allegro Playa Grande

Address: Rio San Juan MTS | PO Box 10, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Allegro Playa Grande 4*
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande Hotel Puerto Plata
Occidental Allegro Playa Grande Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Allegro Playa Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Occidental Allegro Playa Grande to your Saves list