We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tres Cocos

Los Tres Cocos
Las Rocas Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
809-970-7627
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
costambar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

great presentation, great service and food ! ramon the long time waiter has it all figured out !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cofresi, Puerto Plata DR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food on the North Coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Los Tres Cocos is an intimate open air restaurant in La Roka just outside of Puerto Plata. It's a bit hard to find but well worth the effort. Mickey's (as it is known locally because it is the chef's name) provides a menu but it is his specials that are the best. It is an delightful restaurant with a great wait staff. Mickey was a chef in Austria and he has brought his talent here. The food is beautifully presented and a delight for your palate. And Mickey always comes out to make sure you are satisfied. A great meal (drink, appetizer, entree and dessert) for about $1000 peso (about $28.00US). And I am usually taking some home with me. I can barely buy a passable main course for that in the US!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Adorable little restaurant, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Being Austrian I had read about the restaurant before going to Puerto Plata. We did not really plan going there, but one day we accidentally passed by there with our car and stopped to eat. My mum had some kind of fish filed, which she said was delicious. My husband had lamb stew. He said it was ok (but he is really difficult to please). I had the Schwabenpfanne, which was good as well, tasted just like home. And for dessert Vienna Ice Coffee - delicious.
The place is cute and nicely decorated and really intimate. And the owner comes to every table to say hi. Really nice place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Austrian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We are all about trying to eat like the locals when we travel but decided to take a break from DR cuisine when this restaurant was recommended to us. I am SO glad we did! The food here was really fantastic and the owner + staff were so pleasant. I stuffed myself and nearly had to roll out the door but wish I could have had room for more!

Located a bit off the beaten path so don't be alarmed when you feel like you are driving into the middle of nowhere. Once you get there it is very romantic and secluded. Really enjoyed ourselves here!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Out standing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Found this place by accident in 06 and enjoyed the schnitzel and a wiess beer .My next trip the food at hotel I stayed in sucked so my buddy and I jumped in cab and had the best meal in four day's .If you go there ask for the jagger schnitzel and your taste buds and stomach will be very happy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tres Cocos also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Los Tres Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tres Cocos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.