We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mares restaurant & lounge

mares restaurant & lounge
francisco j. peynado # 6, Puerto Plata 58000, Dominican Republic
809-261-3330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casual elegan, creative cuisine with fusion local products, one of the best chef of the dominican republic Rafael vasquez, tropical garden pool side bar and terrace, a/c area, wine cellar, local favorite spot, a place you will remember
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were recommended to try this restaurant by the rep at our hotel Vicki who was happy to book a table for us

We were not disappointed. The food was outstanding. We were looking for somewhere special to go to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and the hotel had no where special to do that

we had a table for 4 booked and the night we booked had the whole place to ourselves delightful

The quality of food served and the service received here was 5*. The menu offers seafood, lamb, goat and beef. The food is of a high standard but it is also beautifully cooked and presented. this really was a incredible place go try you will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto plata
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service. Amazing atmosphere. Amazing food. A total gem in the area. A truly unforgettable dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Rehearsal Dinner April 25, 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was lucky enough to have selected my favorite restaurants for my wedding venues. This was no exception Mares hosted my intimate rehearsal dinner. The set up was great with help from my coordinator the band helped us make sure the ambience was perfect. Apart from the the most important part is the food. The Chef was able to bring together 2 different worlds and make a 3 course meal to please both the bride and groom and of course all of the guests. Thank you for hosting my rehearsal dinner and I hope that others can experience the same!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We must have gone on an off day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We expected much more from Mares based on the reviews but when the photo of the chef on the website is of him in his chef's coat submerged in water up to his chest in the pool, I guess we should have known better. There was a server and a bartender working the night that we went and even though we were one of three tables there, the server dropped an amuse-bouche for us without explanation. We tried to stop him to ask given my husband has a nut allergy, which seemed a difficult concept to grasp at every restaurant we went to...even in Spanish, and he said he'd be back but never returned. It never really improved from there. The food was bland, in my opinion, and the restaurant is located in a residential neighborhood where, when we there, one of the neighbors had their music blasting from their amplified car stereo system.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRVH, Owner at mares restaurant & lounge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
You must have a on and off day, since you arrive to our restaurant, fitting with you husband, we are very sorry that you have that expirient we us, I will recomend if you have a day like that don't go out is better to stay home or in you room in the hotel, Question what a picture have to do, regarding to the quality of the service or food in a restaurant, creative is a sing that you are a life, and life is beautifull , i don have much to responde sorry. change the spectation in life and everything will smile to you, and one day you will thing that litle place in puerto plata call Mares made my life better thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews after our first choice was booked that evening. What a great find! The restaurant was not crowded and we were the only table to sit outside overlooking the pool and it was like having our own private dinner. The service was excellent and the prices were reasonable. Food was great and we left stuffed! The appetizers are tasty and of generous portions - the beet salad and plantain sushi roll were both excellent choices. Wait staff was very attentive - overall a great experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mares restaurant & lounge also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to mares restaurant & lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mares restaurant & lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.