We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mares restaurant & lounge

mares restaurant & lounge
francisco j. peynado # 6, Puerto Plata 58000, Dominican Republic
809-261-3330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 68 restaurants in Puerto Plata
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casual elegan, creative cuisine with fusion local products, one of the best chef of the dominican republic Rafael vasquez, tropical garden pool side bar and terrace, a/c area, wine cellar, local favorite spot, a place you will remember
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The concierge recommended this restaurant. It is really a private home turned restaurant. The food and service were fantastic. We sat outside by the pool and it rained pretty much the whole time we were there but it was awesome anyway to dine outside in the storm. There is a bar outside in the back. We would have NEVER found this place on our own. The hotel arranged for a driver to take us and pick us back up. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    49
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"The" meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There is no words to describe the delight when tasting the excellent dishes that Rafael, the chef-owner prepares.
And having one of this marvelous meals in the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden and the pool is priceless.
Congratulations!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden is on Earth....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Mares is a special type of place that you wish to share with everyone yet keep it secret enough so as not to spoil it. The owner and exec chef, Rafael, was born to entertain and offer delectable dishes with solid Dominican roots. He is well traveled with extensive experience in the hotel/restaurant business and has taken this to offer a perfect location with superb food/drinks. He and his staff were amazingly gracious and have the magic touch not only with adults but also with kids! We highly recommend a ride away from your hotel to experience this place - and go back for more! The chef even made a special dish for my husband as a special treat on our second dining date. Thanks Rafael and staff for your hospitality and making us feel as though you opened the doors to your house.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed dinner at this restaurant, it has a beautiful garden with a pool, very relaxing and romantic ambience. We really liked the sushi and the risotto its also very very enjoyable!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are in Puerto Plata you must go to this restaurant. It is located in a home, hard for taxis to find but well worth the journey. The food is out of this world. Go!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mares restaurant & lounge also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province

Been to mares restaurant & lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mares restaurant & lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.