We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Parrillada Steak House

La Parrillada Steak House
Av. Manolo Tavares Justo, Puerto Plata None, Dominican Republic
809-586-1401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 68 restaurants in Puerto Plata
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: When you visit La Parrillada Steak House, you're in for a real treat. Take a seat indoor or outdoor on our beautiful terrace and experience our famous churrasco straight from the charcoal grill. It keeps our customers coming back time and again! Whether you choose one of our sizzling steaks,succulent lobster, shrimp or fish, you'll enjoy a mouthwatering meal every time you visit. Our warm and charming atmosphere will instantly relax you while our attentive staff spoils you. La Parrillada Steak House is the perfect destination for your next night out, whether an intimate dinner for two, a family evening or a large group celebration.
lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just returned from Puerto Plata and after a recommendation from our rep when we asked for a good restaurant this is the one we went too.
What an excellent place, the service was fabulous the staff were so helpful and friendly.
The food was the best we have ever eaten, my partner had ribs to start and they were sooo nice we had two visits and on the first visit we had Chateaubriand and it was the best I have ever tasted. On the second visit we had the specialty steak which again was the best ever. Our friends had the surf and turf and I have never seen so much food it was presented beautifully and tasted amazing.
It was certainly great value for money and we had complimentary mamajuana would definitely go again and would recommend it every time. Thanks for a great couple of evenings amazing

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    198
    34
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best steak in Puerto Plata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my "go to" place when I crave a steak. Always done exactly how I like it. Table place to meet with friends for a great meal, bottle of wine ( or 2) and attentive service. The surf and turf for 2 is amazingly priced for the amount of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A wonderful find - Their langostinos are amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was in Puerto Plata on vacation this week, having been to the same area last March. In March we came based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we so happy with our steak, lobster and Malbec that we had to make a return visit this time around.

We ended up going two nights this week because their seafood was so delicious, the surroundings so relaxed and the restaurant manager and her team so lovely!! Joanne recommended we try Langostinos with our steak as an alternative to lobster this time round - a juicier, sweeter (and less expensive!) alternative! And they were the absolute best - barbecued deliciousness!

And.. while we were a little overindulgent on the Langostinos on the second night, we couldn't resist their amazing baked cheese cake - so they wrapped it up for us and we had it back at our hotel bar.

There's a great spirit about this restaurant and we've had wonderful nights there. I highly recommend!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place has a really nice ambiance, and for the lack of restaurants in Puerto Plata, is actually a very good find. Me and my friends went there because we read good reviews on tripadvisor.
So we went, the place has an indoor and outdoor seeting option, we want the outdoor air for smokers, and for taking some drinks on a social night. Let me narrate a little more, we work in the hospitality business, and know how this all works.

So we notice how the waiters somehow were too busy to take our orders, we take it easy because we are on vacation. A lady, apparently a manager or owner is passing around asking how everything is keeps us happy, but still no waiter.
Waiter finally arrives, we make our order. Would you believe me if I told you a group of 4 people, with a simple salad and a shared grilled combo took more than 45 minutes to get their meal?
Not only that, but several people had to re ask what our order was like 30 minutes after we ordered and we were a little bit uncomfortable already. If it weren't for the lady circling around, and minding us, our meal would have taken 2 hours to get there.

After an eternity of waiting, we have to say we were very pleased with the food, it was a surf and turf, good quality and quantity. We also got a complimentary mamajuana shot, that soothed us.
We didn't complain because we were on vacation mode really didn't want any uncomfortable moments, but we really have to mention this, and applaud the blonde ladie's diligence with her customers. We noticed she was helping everyone out, and also solved our order mishap, while our waiter didn't.

All in all, yes, come to this restaurant, it's delicious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanneroy, Owner at La Parrillada Steak House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and providing us with your feedback. We truly appreciate it.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your meal but disappointed that we did not meet your overall expectations where service was concerned. We certainly do strive to provide an excellent service at all times but I realize that occasionally, we can slip.

We hope this will not keep you from coming back to visit us the next time you are in Puerto Plata and give us a chance to make it up to you.

I also sent you a personal message to offer you a gift certificate for your next visit to make up for the inconvenience you experienced with us. I hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks again for your honest feedback and we hope to see you again.

Kindest regards,
Joanne & the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Good Food in Puerto Plata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

La Parrillada has been an old standby since I started going to Puerto Plata over 10 years ago. The outdoor grill turns out delicious steaks and ribs. The wine list is superior to most in the area. The service is excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parrillada Steak House also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province

Been to La Parrillada Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parrillada Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.