We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort to your Saves list
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada, Calle principal, 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our family of four spent Thanksgiving at Blue Bay. We are ages 25-64yrs and all had a good time. We felt it was good for the price and encourage others to not put much weight on the 1 & 2 star reviews.

Grounds & Location- The grounds are well-maintained, beautiful fauna, easy to get around. We enjoyed being in the northern part of the country and took advantage of it by going to the waterfalls (highly recommend). One of us went scuba diving. Visibility is not great but there were eels, trumpet fish, and other exciting sea life.

Beach- the property is on the beach, however, the beach has a lot of seaweed and stuff wash ashore. If you walk about 5 mins up the beach the water becomes clear. In fact we snorkeled and saw tons of fish so there is no need to pay for an excursion! There are lots of sellers of ‘stuff’ walking the beach who will approach your chairs but suspect that is to be expected.

Weather- the weather was comfortable as was the water temperature. It did rain everyday at some point with a lot of cloud cover.

We thought the food was fine. The seafood restaurant was great and the buffet featured a few highlight items as well as yummy desserts. The wait staff was amazing (smiling, patient, glad to get drinks, etc).

There was entertainment each night though we only stayed for one. The volume of the shows is pretty loud but most people seemed to enjoy it.

Room Tip: The rooms are the downside to the resort. They are sparsely decorated and the pillows are awful. Wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    806
    371
    161
    115
See reviews for
159
1,597
90
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Hi
I was here 4/5 for 14 nights for my honeymoon...
Not going to bore you all just going to tell you how it is!
Arrival, check in was lovely nice fruity drink cold towel
We were upgraded, room was fine huge bed sofa nice large airy room air con was great.
Pool was nice enjoyed chill out pool for chilling as our room was right next door.
Beach loved it have a massage on the beach there lovely!! Don't buy anything cause it's a rip
Off unless you like it everything is over priced it's well bad but the sellers are good entertainers lol.
See Gregory on the beach for a horse ride we had a amazing time a right laugh so cheap !!!
And buy your days out off Lewis on the beach we got ours from plaza Charlie don't go to him we were ripped off on first day!!!! Paradise island is a brill trip loved it.. Don't go in the city unless u have to its safe but everyone wants ur money!!!
Night entertainment rubbish unless you like that sort of thing karioke not my thing but we were up so early we were in bed early,
Food I was I'll for5 days husband 4 d&v was ready to come home a few people had it and blamed the food I was so I'll it came to tears!! My medicine didn't touch me so went to chemist £28 for 6 tablets worth every penny cleared up after 1 tablet wonder drug!!
Food was nice some night terrible others.
We're are a 30 yr old couple that are outgoing and we had a ok time would we go again no don't think so, didn't really like the country apparently the south side is much nicer... Sorry bluebay staff

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wasn't what we were expecting. Went with a friend and we we're looking forward to meeting some fun people, enjoying the pools and beach, and generally just experiencing a new country and climate. We left 2 days before our reservation expired. We toughed it out for the first two days of complete silence and food we couldn't stomach. The food was soo questionable we ate primarily rice and french fries for our time at the resort. We ended up taking a cab every day to Cabarete where there were signs of life and something to do. I feel bad writing an honest review because I cant completely fault the staff for the climate or food. Most of the staff was friendly and gave us some good advice to try and find what we were looking for. We ended up leaving the do not disturb signs on our doors for the duration of our stay just to make so no one else entered our rooms for any reason. So i will just highlight some things the staff could have regulated better and wont pick on any one that could be fired.

It can be hard to find food at times, especially once you narrow it down to food you're willing to eat. The beach bar and snacks were available at all hours. The first bite of a "hot dog" was my last until i later tried a piece of pizza only to recognize the horrid taste and see that it was not pepperoni on the pizza, just sliced hot dog meat. Most pizza has sauce but this did not, that may be the way pizza is there because after getting very excited about a pizza hut near by we found there was no sauce on that either. The burgers do have a strange taste but they didn't make me sick. So i regularly ate that when i didn't want more rice, fruit, or french fries from the buffet. We basically stuck to items that couldn't be faked, like rice, vegetables, fruit, or potatoes. We were warned by other guests when we arrived to avoid the seafood restaurant, then the steakhouse, so we didn't visit any of them. We went elsewhere to eat dinners.

I understand that the people need to sell souvenirs and jewelry to make a living but i find it unacceptable that the resort allows these people to come into the pool area to set up shop and hassle the guests relentlessly. If i want to buy something i will, and i don't want to have to stay in my room to avoid being pressured into buying things. An interesting thing about this trip was that all the things you can normally find easily, like food, and guests to hang out with and maybe even go out with, we couldn't find. But we were offered almost everything you normally would go to a dark alley to ask for. We were offered "young girls" and every kind of illegal drug you can think of. This wasn't just in town this was at the resort too. I can see two younger guys being down there they may think we wanted that but we didn't and it made it feel very unsafe to know those people that would sell a young girl were the same people taking care of our stay.

There are taxi's out front which we used often. Beware of using a taxi that the hotel doesn't deal with. We were very close to getting into a fight with several drivers and a driver that we called from off the resort. We met a very nice, respectful driver in cabarete that we wanted to use for the rest of our trip. Once we got into his cab in front of the hotel the security guards dropped the gates and tried to force us to use their driver. Their driver then demanded that our driver pay him. We were not having any of it and told them all we would leave altogether and that we paid to much to be hassled like that. I refused to get out of the cab and then the other drivers just started saying to me "give me $5 dollars". Ridiculous that we finally find someone helpful that treated us like he appreciated our business and the hotel tries to put a stop to it. It may have been worse than normal because the place was a ghost town and the drivers knew (because they all talk) we were the only people spending money and going out at night.

I would encourage you to make your own decision on this place. We did meet a few people who said they had been there before and this time was worse than normal. I hate to say that it would be this bad all the time. If the weather was better and the food was better it would have been tolerable. But after going to several all inclusive resorts in Jamaica and Mexico this did not compare at all. I would honestly give this place a 2 star rating based on a 5 star scale. If the food was awesome i may go to a 3, but i would not rate this place 4 stars for any reason.

Mayo who coordinated some activities poolside during the day was nice, Roque and Williams the bartenders at the pool were also nice and helped us find some restaurants and bars to go out to because they could tell this wasn't what we expected.

The closest bar/club to this resort is called PURE, we tried it the first night and it was OK. There was a casino connected to it. After the first night we ended up going to Cabarete every day which was more of what we had been expecting. Its a long strip on the beach that has several restaurants and nightclubs. The bar called Kahuna had a great staff who really appreciated our business. Their security guards went out of their way to make sure the prostitutes and other shady customers came no where near us.

Hopefully this was helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our third trip, but first time in November (usually March). Hotel was as expected. Food is reliable if not spectacular. Restaurant staff, bar staff, cleaning staff and entertainment crew are great. Don't know why the front desk staff are not friendlier. They get the job done, but could have a more positive attitude. Hotel and the general area had power failures while we were there due to tons of rain. For two nights we had power but no AC. Not an issue as the fans worked. Hotel was only about 1/3 full which meant that beach and pool seating was never an issue. However, it meant that some of the bars were not open and the a la carte restaurants were not open on Monday Wednesday and Friday. Would have been nice to know but not a big deal. Fortunately rain was at night so we still got good value during the day. Our shuttle pick up was at 6:20 pm and the hotel let us use our rooms until 3:00 which was OK. Some of the furnishings in the room are getting dated, although they did recently revamp the lobby and the main dining room. All in, we would still go back. Safe and sane, decent food, good beach. Others complain about being solicited for timeshares. I have only been approached once in three visits, and simply said no thank you. Yes there are vendors on the beach, but again, a polite no thanks is all it takes.

Room Tip: The evening entertainment ends at 11 pm. Some of the rooms are adjacent to the stage. If you antic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Here for a week last Christmas and am only writing this now because I have booked another holiday and didn't choose to go to this beach... and that is where Blue Bay is located.

Here was my experience in a nut shell:

Check In- Great, smooth, personal fine.

Rooms- shabby. Bathroom ceiling was falling apart, mirrors were aged, No tub, although paid for and weird $21 fee for the safe, but this was well advertised.
Beds were comfy, balcony was nice, ac worked, cleaned daily (they clean with bleach so be careful as one of my coverups was ruined but.. no big deal. I slept well, they had a tv and it was quiet... I am not there for the room anyhow

Lobby and Grounds...Very nice. The main lobby is quite stunning, There are some issues with tiles and concrete around the place but the pools,main areas clean and easy to access. The walk to the beach is not as "smelly and horrible" as other suggest, It is simply an ecosystem fed by the ocean that they are preserving... or have to preserve...

Beach: Nice. Enough umbrellas and waves for anyone... it is not powder sand and crystal blue... that can disappoint...vendors are there but if you want nothing ignore them, say no or pretend to sleep. It felt safe and I fell asleep for hours at a time there.

Food and Drinks- Good, plentiful and available at any time... I liked breakfasts at the Buffet and Dinner there as well... beach bar was great for lunch ... It was fine. You can ask for any liquor you want any time and they get it for you...

Entertainment- They had an amazing shin dig for New Years Eve- great music, party hats noise makers food, champagne and even fireworks.... It was great. Other nights had entertainment but I wasn't fussy for watching as my day job involves watching mediocre live performances endlessly so I had a great time at the 24 hr bar, reading in the lobby or hanging with my man in the room...

Time Shares- Saw the men in the yellow shirts, avoided them and was never approached once... lack of eye contact helps.

Staff and Service- Fine... great friendly service from all who waited on us, except for the lady at the reservation table who seemed to not want to accept our spa certificates... but she could have been having a bad day.

Spa- loved it, A good massage was had, The spa pool is where we spent time after the beach in the afternoon before dinner...

Biggest drawbacks- The guests... they were a bunch of entitled bratty idiots who felt they could yell and scream all the time, drink until they were beyond obnoxious and complain about everything to everyone,.. at check in there was a young lady, maybe 20 who was telling the manager that this was "a very strange check in" that "she had never had a check in like this before" and " it was really weird" and said " I just want you to know...this is very peculiar". Her party of 8 ( gran parents, brothers and a sister) complained the whole time...about everything.
We didn't get to chat and meet people because they were usually snobs, drunk or hungover.

One cannot blame the hotel for that. I am impressed they were so patient.

It is a good get away if you can get it cheap and like a pool more than a beach... we are trying Cuba this year and hope we vacation with less obnoxious folks.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room- ants if you left sugar out... the bungalows look cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked Bluebay Villas on a last minute deal, just 2 weeks before departure, on impulse. When we got home from the agents we logged on to TripAdvisor and was concerned to see some of the poor write ups. But, taking heart from the positive comments and knowing how opinions can vary, we decided to make our own minds up. We were glad we did.

The hotel itself is in a lovely location, right on the beach, about 20 mins transfer time from the airport. There are 3 pools, 4 restaurants, bars and the staff are extremely nice. The communal areas are clean and pleasant. The rooms themselves are fairly typical for the caribbean - standard and basic, but importantly clean! And they come with tea and coffee, TV, iron and board, hairdryer, air con etc....so all you need really. The hotel was probably no more than 25% full when we stayed, but threr was masses of really friendly staff who all knew their roles and kept the hotel in ship shape condition.

The food quality is good. The bars are well stocked. Security is excellent right around the hotel with 24 hour presence on all the entrances and exits. We felt totally safe, even at 6.30 every morning when we ventured down to the beach in the dark to watch the beautiful sunrises over a coffee at the beach bar (which is open 24 hours).

One good tip is to take a small umbrella with you. The weather, especially at this time of year, is hot and sunny during the day, but it always clouds over late afternoon and most days it rains during the evening and through the night. Quite heavy tropical type rains too. Most guests had a small umbrella to use to get back to their rooms after dinner or drinks.

The only negatives I can say were that the entertainment was fairly cheesy, typical all inclusive type stuff. The 3 al a carte restuarants only open 3 nights per week (once each per week and you need a voucher to go). So you have to go on a set night. This seemed rather strange and a bit pointless to us. And the service was poor inb the al a carte restaurants, especially in the oriental restaurant. However, the food and drinks service in the buffet restaurant was excellent. We couldn't fault it.

All in all a nice relaxing holiday. Nice hotel and if we ever went back to the Dom Rep, we would quite happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room. Its an adults only hotel so pool view rooms are still quiet at all times. Non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On our 1st day of arrival we had a torrential rain and had to wait in the reception for at least 1 long hour with no assistance at all from the porter to take our luggage to the bedroom, so we had to walk literally under the rain and get ourselves the suitcases. Once we got to the room we found out poor the quality of the room was (4 star hotel? not at all), very uncomfortable bed and the furniture even worst. Food wise not very impress after seen the room amenities very repetitive buffets and the "a la carte" restaurants also disappointing ,I had in the fish restaurant the same dish that I had in the main buffet! what is the point of that?.
Despite all this issues the staff was totally, absolutely and amazingly 5 star! from the omelettes chef to the bar tenders and the best team: the entertainment crew.. what a people! they made our holidays..

Room Tip: Rooms by the spa and gym are pretty much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Calle principal, 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., T4B, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.