We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Merengue to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel you can use facility's of all 3 hotels set right on the beautiful beach lovely to wake and here the sea food good steak house good Italian average entertainment did not watch much so can not rate it seemed ok though would go back at the right price

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    1,331
    670
    302
    189
See reviews for
1,037
1,743
59
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had been to this resort a few years back, which my kids remembered as being a great positive experience.
We had switched to the Bahia Principe chain because of their friendly environment for the kids, but this year budget was tight and decided to book a more affordable option. So back we went to Puerto Plata and here is what we found.

Check in process:
A complete caos, even thought I think there were relatively more employees in the reception area than clients to check in; about 4 girls and and 2 gentleman. No one, literally, no one would talk to us for more than a millisecond, "one moment please" they would say as they passed us by. They looked confused, agitated and anxious. I was just hungry and light headed after a long trip. Anyhow, somehow we started talking to a tour operator of those who are at the lobby, after 30-40 minutes or so he talked to an older man who calmly checked us in.

Thank you unnamed grayed haired fellow!!

The grounds and beach.
As we were walking toward our room, I noticed how well maintained de gardens were, I'll tell you, those guys do a magnificent job, everything is clean and neat it was almost artistic how the trees and bushes were cut..‎

Even thought I expected to see quite a bit of seaweed washed ashore, that was not the case, it looks like that phenomenon ‎has not got to the bay yet. The beach is absolutely beautiful, calmed and uncrowded, the sunset and sunrise there are within the most celestial I have seen, it is just breath taking, absolutely amazing..!!

Dining:
The food is not bad for the price, actually I would say it is of great value. The catch is the service at the buffet, the personnel there is seemingly indifferent to your needs, they would put some water on the table and from then on, they would pretend you are not longer there.. And that is fine with me, I am not royal and would never like to be one, as long as I an allowed to serve myself some drinks.
But they won't look to happy when you get up and get your own drinks.

They have food fixed for lunch around the pools, so if you can get by with that, I did a few times, the guys there are great, you would not have to bother with the merengue buffet. Another alternative is to go to the Bachata for dinner, waiters there are a bit more attentive.

‎‎
Animation:

The animation team is absolutely hilarious, they do everything on their power to take away any frustration.
I never went to the disco but heard comments from other guests about having a great time there, as well as at the casino.

‎In summary, the resort had amazing natural resources and the personnel in charged of maintaining it does a great service to the ecosystem. That part there could easily seduce anyone to keep going back.

The logistics used at the front desk, and the management approach at dealing with the clients at the main restaurant, have a lot to improve. If the poor service is tight to price, it will be fair to raise prices and improve the customer service. I would definitely pay a bit more to have a complete enjoyment of such blessing from nature.

Room Tip: pay a bit more and an ocean view, the sunset and rise are just celestial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a tip if you want to avoid the bad experience with the locals, goggle "holidays in Dominican republic" it will give you the dates for the year when the locals observe holidays, that is when the invade this resort. We have travelled to this resort 5 times and only go when there is no public holidays for the locals.Pick your travel times around them and you won't have any problems. enjoy this is a great resort.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bad experience with the staff .. Besides the noise level..
One of the ladies who changed my towels saw my daughter's phone she just take and her purse . When we contact the staff in charge .. They only says you need to report it .. When we asked about the ladie.. Why we can not ask her in person ,, what they said in very bad mood was ,, no she wasn't .... Without making a little effort to ask her .. Very bad business if their employees take the tourist belonging !!!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I hate to say this because my mother is from the Dominican Republic and I have visited and enjoyed my visits many, many times before. This time however was HORRIBLE, to say the least, all due to Riu Merengue. First of all, the hotel was filled and I mean FILLED with locals. Now, this wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing if they knew how to act but they were all extremely rude and obnoxious. They would push and cut the lines at the buffet at all times. The pool was always dirty as the kids would throw in their cups filled with drinks in the pool and the men are extremely aggressive with women. We couldnt walk anywhere without being harrassed & on our first night there a man was viciously beating on a woman and the hotel security did nothing about it! Then to top it all off, when we get to our room we see TWO huge roaches in our bedroom! The next day we spoke to our representative and insisted to be moved to the hotel next door (Riu Bachata). She said that we would experience the same type of behavior with the locals there as there is currently a sale going on for locals. We settled and tried to make the best of it because although we were staying at Riu Merengue, we had full access to Riu Bachata and it was a lot better there. We later came to find out (after spending so much time at bachata and seeing no rude locals) that the locals aren't even allowed there! I was furious. 4 days into our trip we see 3 more roaches and about 10 tiny slugs on our bed. I immediately went to reception and demanded to speak to management. He tried to justify for the locals behavior and made excuses for the cleanliness of the room. We were moved to another building but it wasn't much better. I suggest you stay FAR, FAR away from this resort as they don't care about their foreign guests. This is a beautiful island, don't waste it on such such a horrible hotel!.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Young couple from Montréal. Price : 1250ish CAD$ from Jan 2nd 2015 to 9th Jan 2015.

If you want a nice beach : You might want to consider another hotel or you'll be disappointed.

If you want a clean, safe, nice resort with good food, at a relatively cheap price in the Dominican : THIS IS YOUR PLACE.

Pros : Food (a lot of shimps, fish, mussles)
Clean resort, clean rooms.
The drinks were ok
Tennis court !!
No bed bugs :)
Entertainment

Cons : ROOM SERVICE (we came back to our room to take a shower and there were no towels. We had to look for a made and get some. It happened twice during a week).
The room wasn't ready when we arrived. Although we were a young couple, we got a room with 3 small separated beds in the farest building of the resort which was not even a little villa and which was next to some noisy street...
!!BEACH!! Although the beach is large, from what I heard, it is a artificial beach and it def. feels like one. Forget seeing your toes in the water. Forget turquoise water.... forget the nice sand...
TOWELS AGAIN. Maybe the hotel was really busy, but we didn't get to have beach towels during all our stay.


FRIENDLY ADVICE : if you can, take the vaccine (DUCORAL).
both of us were really sick the last two days we were there (diarrhea). Most probably the water/ice and we didn't take the vaccine back home ....

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are lovely with a terrace or balcony. All are located away from the main building in what look like little houses.
Room drinks also included 5 or 6 Optics.

Food was excellent, good quality and loads of variety. (only wime food is not available is between around 2am and 6am)
Drinks, plenty of variety and staff who come round and drop them off to you.

Very clean hotel/reception/restaurant.
Staff very good too.

We went around April and never saw any locals? Pehaps they only come in at certain times of the year?

Would go again, just need to waiti for a nice deal!

Entertainment is excellent, if you miss one you can always pop to the hotel next door on a different night.
With where the hotel is, you have access to the two other RIU hotels next door.

Room Tip: All rooms here are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.6 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#1 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#7 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 3,315 reviews
8.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#15 of 44 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,057 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#4 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 4,544 reviews
9.4 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Plata
Barcelo Puerto Plata
#17 of 44 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1007
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Located in the Riu Resort, near ClubHotels Riu Bachata and Riu Mambo * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 15,000 m2 / 18,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 300 m / 990 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Merengue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.