We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Merengue to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Puerto Plata
blackpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed from 30th jan to 14 feb, sorry for late review, The hotel itself was of a good standard and the rooms were very large inside, the beds were very comfortable also and the bedding was changed frequently. We did have a couple of issues with the room and once reported to reception and the rep sylvia they were sorted that day so no real hardship. The food was of a good standard and hot compared to other all inclusives and there was always something to eat. the bar does serve selected international brands such like smirnoff all you have to do is request at the bar . the best part of the hotel is the team that run it they cannot do enough for you. yes the pool needs a lick of paint, yes the room furniture is dated and the drawers may not work like they used to, it is what you make of it whilst you are there. We met some fantastic people here so big shout out to the worksop possie !!! Would we go back ..... No but that is only as there are too many places to see. I would go to another riu if the standards are similar tho. We went on catamaran trip which was ok, but paradise island was amazing for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank telletubbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked with Sunwing 2 weeks from Feb 12 to 26.
Sunwing: We booked supersaver room. Is it why we were at the Village? We don't know, but a lot of people from our plane seem to be at the same place as us.
We book with Sunwing because the price is right. You have wine with your meal, which is quite good. The personnel on the way to Dom.Rep. was very cold. On the way out of the plane, we said thanks and goodbye but were ignored. On the way to Toronto, they were more friendly.
The rep at the hotel was ok. The orientation had more emphasis on the excursions, specially the ones with OPEN BAR...

Once at the airport, a rep directed us to our bus. We received our bracelet and were given some interesting facts along the way.

Check in: Personnel polite, drink while we wait, keys (room and safe, which is free). At noon, we had unpack and ready to go.

Room: Block 18. Rooms are big. Closet with lots of hangers. Free Safe. Bar with 4 bottles of alcohol, fridge with soft drinks, water, mix. A rack on the balcony to hang wet clothes, chairs and table.
The cleaning lady was awesome. The room was cleaned and she decorated it every day with flowers and towel animals.
2 3/4 beds together that are not too comfortable, lumpy pillows.
Air conditioning and fan worked, hot water all the time.

Grounds: Beautiful. Workers always cleaning. Different palm trees and flowers all over the place.

Public washrooms rare but very clean. A smiling lady is there all the time.

Food: We tried different places offered by the resort, the Merengue Garden and Bachata as well as the 2 a la carte. We preferred the buffet at the Village. We were with the same waitress CARMEN which was awesome. The food was delicious and we always found lots of dishes (too many) that we liked. The wine is so so, better at the a la carte restaurant.
Thee were a few BBQ for lunch near the pool. The Jerk chicken and the paella were super good.

Beach: Lots of loungers, shade, sun. The beach at the Village is the nicest. you can snorkel near the rocks towards the shops preferably with shoes. There are some stones to enter the water but there is sand after. You don't need shoes to swim. While we were there, it was very windy and lots of waves. Only 4 hours of rain during our 2 week stay.Sun and warmth the rest of the time. Workers raking the beach every morning. Waiter offering drinks during the day.

Pool; The grounds around the pool are beautiful. There too, lots of trees, sun or shade. This is where the animation is.

Animation/Shows: The animation team is very nice. they walk around and mingle with the guests. We did a few activities which were fun. The shows at the Village are only the interactive ones (people from the audience) which are not my piece of cake. But the Crazy Show, done by our animation team was funny, The final song, the famous Dirty Dancing one, was performed by 2 guys and was really good. The other shows are at the Garden and the Bachata, same group of dancers and same shows but different nights. You have to go check at each lobby to see the show of the day. The dancers were good and i enjoyed the 3 shows I saw.

THE PERSONNEL; We had a VIP happy hour where we were served champagne and they introduced a representative of each department:... maid, restaurant, cuisine, grounds, bar and management which was a very nice gesture. The personnel at this resort is the friendliest and nicest of all the resorts I have been. They really made the vacation....

Excursions. We booked 3 excursions. one with Tip Top, 2 with a taxi driver in the lobby. The taxi is worth it, specially if you share with another couple. Look for Daniel. He is very knowledgeable and interesting.

We had a great vacation and got our money's worth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loubuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Merengue for two weeks in February2013. We were fortunate to have amazing weather! The staff at the Merengue are welcoming and friendly. The bar staff recognized us quickly and knew the drinks we wanted and had them ready. The diningroom staff were helpful and attentive. Our glasses were always filled. The wine in the diningroom leaves a little to be desired; however, the wine at the Steak and Italian Restaurants is better. You need to book reservations for the Steak and Italian Restaurants eary morning (7 am) in order to get seats. There are two sittings, but seating is limited. Try the crepes at the Steak House, the sauce on them is amazing! The Beef Marsala is worth trying at the Italian Restaurant. The food is good and the choices varied. We took advantage of the other two diningrooms on the resort and enjoyed the food at all three.

The grounds of the resort are well maintained and staff are ever working to keep it beautiful.

The maid (Amporo) was wonderful. Her daily creations were beautiful and appreciated. She did a great job looking after our room.

We were able to snorkell when the water was not rough. The fish are beautiful and interesting. We snorkelled just off the beach near the rocky areas.

We took a day trip into Peurto Plata and enjoyed the local market, rum factory, and stopped to see how cigars are rolled. We also took the cable car trip and that was an experience alone. The gardens at the top of the mountain are beautiful. The guide we had, directly from the resort, (Daniel, with the green eyes, as he called himself) was very well versed about the local area, population and vegetation on the mountain.

We did a day trip on the Tip Top Catamaran; not a great snorkelling day, but a nice ride.

All in all, a great vacation!

We want to thank all the staff at the resort.

Room Tip: 1800 block is close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Merengue for two weeks at the end of July 12, we initially booked for the Riu Mambu but was told the we had to stay in the Merengue as they where doing up the Mambu not a problem and for the inconvenience we were upgraded to a suite. We booked the Dominican to celebrate my partners birthday and took our two children 14 & 15, reading the reviews on the trip adviser were people had put on the rooms that where the best i emailed the Merengue prior to going and asked if we could have a room with a view and boy we were not disappointed room 1086 right on the beach and very very spacious, the complex is large and you can use all three of the Riu hotels, the entertainment, food and cleanliness was spot on, The staff are friendly and work very hard the entertainment crew where a laugh and kept us entertained all day long, say hello to cheeky monkey, there is something for everyone if you want a quiet day on the beach or whether you want fun in the sun it can all be had here, we booked a couple of trips and paradise island is a must so unique and a little taste of a dessert island, i can honestly say that i could find nothing critical to say and i would recommend this hotel, and we will so definitely be coming back ,so much good things to say but what an experience and a fantastic holiday a credit to Riu hotels.

Room Tip: E mail hotel and let them know if you are celebrating anything room 1086 fab room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Recently Feb. 5-12,2013, my husband and I stayed at the Riu Merengue Garden Resort. The transition to our bus and then to the resort was seamless. We had a short wait and then a 35 min. ride through a very scenic route to our resort. We received a lovely cool drink on arrival and even though we arrived before 3 p.m. everything required to register was waiting in pre-prepared envelopes and handed to us when we got off the bus. We were escorted to our room and within minutes were unpacked and sitting by the beautiful pool, sipping on a cool refreshment. We ate great food, we participated in beach and pool activities daily, and enjoyed the fabulous staff and weather all week long. Our room was cleaned fabulously and we got everything we asked for. Anyone who complains about this place needs to stay home, as we had a great vacation!!!!

Room Tip: We were assigned our room which was a good walk from the main lobby, but very quiet for sleeping at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dottie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Merengue (Garden section -- specifically asked for this) vs the village so we could be close to Bachata where friends were staying. Overall we had a good stay, I'm not sure I'd go back given the isolation of the place but if the price was right definitely would.

The Good

1) Grounds, rooms, common areas were very clean and staff worked very hired to keep it that way
2) Entertainment staff worked tirelessly - if you like to be doing on resort activities there was not a shortage of things to do -- A for effort. Shows at night are dated like most places but they give 150% in their effort
3) Friendly staff
4) ability to move between the three resorts for everything with the exception of dinner
5) scenery beautiful
6) rooms satisfactory, water pressure good
7) Food -- i was very impressed, this is not 5 star luxury but food was good, pleantiful and surely you can find something (main buffet at Bachata was the best buffet spot for all meals)
8) Ate also at both restaurants multiple times at Merengue - enjoyed ourselves - just get up early to book.
9) isolation meant no hounding by vendors or timeshare people

The Mediocre
1) Beach -- this 3 resort complex is very very isolated so there is not a long expanse of beach to walk for hours like you'll find in Punta Cana -- one end to the other 10 minutes or so . Rocky at Bachata end, nice and expansive at Village/Mambo end.
2) the chair game.... Beach has lots of loungers. Pools on the other hand are quite small and crowded -- up by 7:15 and place your towel meant a chair otherwise good luck.
3) pools are small - only one swim up at Bachata
4) showing a bit of age with the above comments but for just relax still had a great time.
5) Drinks..... mediocre at best... never found one that stood out... watery, little alcohol
6) gym needs a big of sprucing up but the basics for equipment were there


The Ugly and that is a strong word
1) hair dryers are are 1960 ish
2) no irons or boards in room
3) wine....need I say more but that is the norm I've found most places....
4) smoking............good lord..felt like everyone and their proverbial cat smoked .......

On the whole as I said we really enjoyed ourselves and for pure relaxation and some fun it was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank devils67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beautiful grounds. This resort was truly a nice place. The people were so friendly. The food was really good. The resort has 3 hotels, multiple pools, food and drinks all day long. The housekeeping people were wonderful. They cleaned the rooms, hallways, stairs & patios every day. Everyone we encountered was helpful and would do anything we asked. Great time. The beach was very nice, pools very clean. We were always able to find chairs at both the beach and the pool......We took a snorkle tour to Paradise Island....magnificent. We booked it right in our hotel. It was an hour and a half bus ride, but it was great. Lobster (extra) lunch included. All the people were wonderful. My husband and I were in the video of the trip....we had a blast! I would definitely recommend the Hotel Riu Mambo. Oh and the weather was PERFECT! High 80's everyday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the area right off the beach, across from one of the bars and restaurant. Perfect loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank memaa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
9.6 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#1 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#9 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,137 reviews
8.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#13 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#3 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 5,091 reviews
9.4 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,404 reviews
9.5 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1007
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Located in the Riu Resort, near ClubHotels Riu Bachata and Riu Mambo * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 15,000 m2 / 18,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 300 m / 990 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing