We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday so far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Merengue to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Holiday so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed at the Riu dor 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. The rooms were clean and the mini bar was great! the staff were very friendly, the animation team are crazy! The food was nice, even if your a picky eater there is plenty to choose from. The weather was fantatsic i would go again in february. The Pool and beach were good aswell. What we liked the most was the fact you could use all 3 hotels, so you could do different things each day!
Overall it was brillant and we are going back next year!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,650
    1,197
    583
    274
    169
See reviews for
944
1,578
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We stayed at Riu Mambo for a week.it was the most enjoyable 7 days we spent anywhere.The staff was excellent,the rooms were so spotless.they have got the most friendliest staff you could ever meet.the food was also excellent,we are planning to go back there again in 2009. i think its the staff that is honestly bringing us back,they made us feel so at home,keep up the good work guys,ye guys are running a gold mine there, tyvm for making us feel so good,chicken leggs pineapple head janet jackson and bossy and the bar staff tyvm

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

My parents had organised this trip for me and a friend as a present for my 18th birthday and I couldnt have wished for a better gift. We had everything we wanted and could ever need during a 2 week stay.

I could not express in words how great the animacion team were, as we were 2 girls by ourselves they were always looking after us making sure we were ok and if we needed anything they were on teh case straight away. They are great fun and work so hard from 10am-11/12pm with only a 2 and a half hour break!!

The rooms were nice and clean with towel swans being left for us and our mini bar being filled every other day. Food is available 23 hours of the day! Hot food until 2am then sandwiches are available in the bachata 24 hour bar if you get peckish after going to Pachaa (the onsite disco!)

All in all an excellent holiday and I will be going back in the future!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Internet was down a lot
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

We have been back a few days from our stay at riu merengue, we have had a fabulous time here and cant wait to return.

We had a very good flight over to puerto plata on First choice airlines we arrived early which is always good, when we got off the plane the band were there playing the traditional merengue music which really does make you feel like you have arrived, plus a tip is always appriciated from the band.

Our transfer was pretty speedy about 35mins with just one other drop off on the way, check in was very efficiant also, we had our keys and towel cards handed out and we were off to our room,i was really pleased that i got the room i had requested via e-mail i know that they cant promise that you will get the selected room but we were lucky on this occasion to get ours. The bellboy (junior) brought up our luggage then it was quick change and straight down to the beach for a walk i said to my partner as we walked hand in hand through the waves 'this is what life should be about' !!

We spent the first couple off days relaxing on the beach, i got very sunburnt even though i had factor 30 on but i did'nt realise how hot it was a there was a nice breeze at the beach.

On the wednesday we decided to venture out into playa dorada, we took the bus from the main road which runs along the outside of the complex it cost us $2 to playa and then another $2 to the main hotel complex in playa dorada where we visited the shopping centre and bought gifts for our family, we took a taxi back as i was tired and it was really hot by mid-day.

Most evenings we watched the shows in the various hotels, Grease,Michael Jackson and new show named superstars were really good, we also went to the beach party at merengue where me and my partner were pulled out by the animation team to take part in one of there games!! I had to sit on a chair whilst my partner who had to go down on one knee, had to sing a romantic song to me!!! People reading this review may remeber this, we were the second couple to get up and i was the hysterical english woman , we did'nt win by the way but my partner was never one to hold a tune!!!

Then on the friday we went on the monster truck safari, when we left riu at 8.15 it was raining, but it soon cleared we went off right up into the country it was a fantastic trip our tour guide manny was a laugh a minute, the drinks were flowing and the sun was hot, we had a nice meal before swimming in the clearest, calmist river you have ever seen, but best of all we got to see the real dominican republic, we went to a local school, looked around a typical dominican stlye home, and went through many tiny villages, where the locals always smiled and waved as we passed, i would highly recommend this trip to everyone.

Then we only had one and a half days left so we just spent time on the beach relaxing, all in all it was a wonderful break and the weather was fabulous, the hotel,food,drink,staff were outstanding as always and i cant wait to make trip number three, soon.

I would also like to say how hard the staff worked to keep the guests happy, the hotel and its grounds are spotless, the food is of a very high standard always something different everyday.

I think i have included everything i will post some photographs soon.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

Just got back from 8 days with my husband and 2 year old daughter - we had a WONDERFUL, relaxing time and feel totally refreshed. From start to finish (after a $50, 40 minute cab ride from the airport), everything was great...
CHECKIN- couldn't have been easier. Friendly front desk staff seemed to enjoy introducing us to the resort, and our bags were taken to our room instantly. Checkout was just as easy - literally just handed them my keys and got in a cab. The bellman were perfectly prompt as well.
ROOM: Beautiful! We had booked a 2 room suite (made our daughter's nap and early bedtime much more tolerable) not knowing all the suites are OCEANFRONT. We had a huge balcony with 2 loungechairs with great ocean- and people-watching. Had no problems with noise in the evenings after our daughter went to sleep.
HOUSEKEEPING: did a lovely job...turned over the room during the late morning everyday so it was done in time for our daughter's early afternoon nap...
FOOD: all in all, very good. Lots of choices, fresh - in many cases prepared in front of you - would recommend the local options (fish and seafood, grilled meats, rice and beans, fruits and vegetables) over other things (like pasta bolongnese - I didn't go to the DR to eat great Italian food); always something my daughter would eat. BUT eating buffet style at every meal did get a little old... There were 2 restaurants with full table service for dinner that we never made it to b/c the lines to get a reservation were too long.
SETTING: beautiful. The beach and the pools - especially the one at neighboring Bachata - were beautiful. Loved that all 3 Riu resorts were in walking distance of one another. DIscovered a tranquil, somewhat remote lagoon at Bachata the day before we left - was a perfect way to get our daughter into a calmer oceah given her fear of waves.
RECREATION OPTIONS: besides the watersports, there was always something available to do - beach volleyball, water aerobics, pool-side merengue lessons - led by friendly, multi-lingual, enthusiastic staff. Can't comment on the nighttime
activities - we didnt' go to any.
CONVENIENCES: there are several small shops in multiple locations throughout all 3 resorts that sell almost everything you would need - over-the-counter meds, sun screen, outlet adapters, beach toys, etc in addition to all the tourist schlock you could ever want.
WE DIDN'T EXPECT: such an international crowd - how friendly everyone - not just the staff, but the guests - would be;
All in all, a GREAT vacation for families with young children. Not sure if teenagers with more stringent entertainment requirements might be a little bored...

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

I enjoyed a 5 night stay at the Riu Mambo in Puerto Plata. The staff was very friendly and courteous. I was aware of the air conditioning problem so I wasn't surprised. Although the hotel had 110V outlets in the bathroom and bedroom, only 1 worked. I encountered gorgeous weather, found the food both tasty and abundant. My only surprise was the $10.00 entrance tourist charge at the airport. I will definitely return! I was able to book round trip transfer and was able to pay per trip at a reasonable price not per person.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston lincolnshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

just got back from a two week holiday from dominican stopped in club hotel riu merengue it is smashing, the weather is nice and hot, the staff are very friendly could'nt wish for anything better they all work very hard and there always there to help. The food is very nice the beach is smashing you dont have far to walk either as it is on the front. The entertainment is excellent day and night the animation team know how to make you laugh and keep you busy some are very sexy especially blacky, micky mouse, picachu and elvis. hoping to go back in the future so people if you want a perfect holiday go to dominican republic and stop in riu merengue hotel its not a holiday your going to forget in a hurry so people get booking If you do go enjoy i did. Kerry Boston Lincolnshire

  • Liked — everything was good
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1007
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Located in the Riu Resort, near ClubHotels Riu Bachata and Riu Mambo * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 15,000 m2 / 18,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 300 m / 990 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Merengue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.