We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Costa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Luperon km 4 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My Family had a really nice Holiday at the Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada. The room was very nice but basic. Food was very good it had a good choice of food. Staff were very polite we had a nice fellow called Nelson serving us he could;nt do enough for us. The first few nights of entertainment were audience participation but got better as the week went on. It had a nice beach only one drawback it did'nt have a beach bar you had to walk back to get a drink. But overall a very nice Hotel i would go back again .

Room Tip: We had a room near the swimming pool it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your family holiday and also for taking time to write your review about your experience.
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we want to express how glad we are to read that you and your entire family have enjoyed a memorable experience due to the gastronomical variety, our nightly shows and the excellent service from our friendly staff. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please feel free to contact us before your visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,325
    991
    315
    133
    60
See reviews for
1025
1512
60
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our fourth consecutive family vacation to this resort, and, once again we were not disappointed.

The staff, grounds, and overall service were superlative once more, and the quality of the food was quite good, as well.

Our sole advice is that reservations be made at one of three restaurants when the weekend rolls around, since the buffet (which has a good variety of tasty foods) gets extremely busy, and a bit contentious, Friday and Saturday evenings. This is because locals visit the resort during weekends and the place becomes way too busy.

Additionally, we can't stress enough how amazing the massages are. The ladies are extremely professional and the place oozes tranquility. The only drawback is that it can create an expensive addiction. Our particular favorites were Aleida, Fior, and Carolina. They were tremendous.

Finally, before flying directly into Puerto Plata, consider flying into Santiago International. It may be a substantially cheaper option and is about an hour and a half away from the Resort. Of course, transportation needs to be arranged, but, even taking into consideration the cost of a ride from Santiago to the Resort, you will likely save a great deal of money.

In short, we are looking forward to returning next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we want to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada as your family holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your recent experience among us.
We are much honored to read that once again you and your family had a memorable experience at our hotel premises due to the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service from our entire team. As you have experienced four times, in Iberostar we are committed to ensure our guest to “enjoy being a Star” whilst their visit.
We are waiting for your next visit and please do not forget to contact us before your arrival for any request you may need.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really nice hotel. Large pool, spotlessly clean everywhere. Food was ok in general with a great beach BBQ with live music once a week. Great breakfast with freshly cooked eggs if required. Speciality restaurants weren't anything too special. Staff were generally very nice, helpful and cheery. Drinks on the AI were fine with some premium brands. Beach was very nice but spoiled only by the constant hassling by vendors selling everything from trips to hair braids to coconuts! I suppose they have to try and make a living but it is relentless and something the hotel really ought to look into. It was enough to make us avoid the hotel beach altogether. Although not really our thing the entertainment team worked tirelessly to provide a decent nightly show and daytime activities around the pool.

We had (I think), the best room in the hotel! Paid for a sea view upgrade, (about 140 US Dollars for 7 nights), and got room 1207. Pretty much unrestricted view of the sea and the closest to it in the whole hotel! Nice and quiet too as away from the pool/restaurants/bars etc. Highly recommended!

Highlight of the holiday had to be the Dressel Dive Centre onsite. Brilliant team and a great price for diving. Dive site at sosua was fantastic and great fun! Highly recommended!

All in all a good hotel and decent location 15mins walk from Playa Dorada with it's shops & golf course. We like to get out of the resort but not a great deal to do in the area so not the best type of holiday for us. If you like to laze in the sun and chill by the pool, this place is ideal!

Room Tip: Room 1207 facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay among us and for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays.
We want to express how happy we are to read your positives lines referring the beauty of our hotel, the kindness of our staff, the variety of our gastronomy and our entertainment options. In Iberostar those are part of our guiding principles to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We kindly invite you to visit us once again. Do not hesitate to contact us any time before your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed @ iberostar resort puerto plata weekend of 7/5-7/6 while visiting other cities in the Dominican Republic and was very impressed. 4-5 Star ,,,, Great Food... Good entainment for everyone during the day and evenings. The room i chose was beach front and recommended. Very spacious and clean. Cold A/C 32 inch flat screen TV with all cable channels. Very quiet and comfortable beds for sleep and relaxation. digital safe availble . The staff was very friendly and polite at all times. the pools were always clean and the beach was great....only down side was that the WI-FI only worked near the lobby and had a fee... but i diffinitely enjoyed my experience and stay and would return for a second visit....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
First at all, we would like to thank for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read that despite the length of your stay, your experience was memorable due to the friendliness of our staff members, the variety of our gastronomy and the beauty of our clean premises. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall this was an outstanding holiday. The hotel is really nice, staff are friendly and attentive, amenities are excellent, but there were a few bad points and things that really shouldn't happen in a supposed five star hotel.

We had an extra bed in our room when we arrived, which took FIVE days to have it removed! Our room was jinxed I think, our toilet broke, then it leaked all over the bathroom, we lost power one evening and it took nearly three quarters of an hour for someone to come and sort it out. The maid service was not that brilliant. Towels missed, bathroom not cleaned, supplies not replenished.

Having been on many holidays to Egypt where the beach is raked, sun beds put back where they should be, rubbished removed and left looking spotless, I expected the same here, but no, definitely not.

There are the local people who harrass you on the beach constantly, to the point we had to be quite rude before they would leave us alone. I realise they are trying to make a living, but if we wanted our hair braided, a massage, a boat trip or a visit to market, we would have asked!

Last, but not least, relating to bad points is the massive infestation of local people staying at the hotel over the weekends. HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!! you would not have minded but they were rude, loud, pushed in when queuing for food and completely over took the hotel. When talking to people in other hotels in the area, we were actually the lucking ones with only a couple of hundred over the weekend, but others had to endure over a thousand coming in!

Cannot fault the food, amazing and really good selection.

I cannot comment on the Spa and Gym as we did not attend, but heard from others that the facilities were very good.

We enjoyed all the trips arranged through Firstchoice and our Rep, Vicky, was absolutely brilliant!!!!! Outback Safari is a must and if you are travelling with Thomson or Firstchoice, please attend the Reps Night, which was the best evening ever!

Dominican Republic is a beautiful destination and we would return, but to a different area. Puerto Plata is a very WINDY!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
We are very happy to read despite the breakdown of some services (for which we apologize), the friendliness of our staff, the beauty of our premises and the variety of our gastronomy made you experienced “an outstanding holiday” as you stated in your publication. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers. We have forwarded your feedback to the corresponding departmental heads to ensure that situations as you mentioned in the review do not reoccur.
We look forward to welcome you again in the future, and feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great family resort that has a lot of entertainment for all ages. The entertainment team was fabulous and was able to keep everyone entertained throughout the day! The beach and pool are both wonderful and provide many places to find a seat. Will definitely be returning here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your family vacations and also for taking time to post a review about your stay.
We would like to express you how glad we are to read that our wide options for daily and nightly entertainment for all ages ensured you and your entire family a memorable holiday as we aim in Iberostar.
We are looking forward to see you in our premises again, please do not hesitate to contact us to help you enjoy your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Having just come back from 2 weeks in the Iberostar I would like to say I had a great holiday all the staff were pleasent and very helpfull great service, UNTILL the weekends where there was a mass invasion of what i have been told were the locals not only did they push & shove to get to the food, bars etc, they were loud and some just plain rude, which kinda spolit it a bit for me.

Room Tip: 2nd floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacations and also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we would like to express how glad we are to read how you highlighted out the excellent service of our friendly staff. In Iberostar we want our guest to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are waiting for your next visit; please do not hesitate contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Address: Carretera Luperon km 4 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach location. Approximately 5 minutes drive from Puerto Plata. Elegant Caribbean atmosphere. 2 km from the golf course. Top 5-star luxury. Water sports galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Costa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.