We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertainment equipment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Costa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Costa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Luperon km 4 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“entertainment equipment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

youth working in Iberostar are very sympathetic attention is excellent.
they work all day with different sports and actividses and end of the day they have a very very good and funny show after that come the dancers and disco afterwards.
I commend you made me spend an excellent stay............

Room Tip: I i was in room 6103 and was with garden view. Very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacation and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.
We are pleased to acknowledge your positive valuation about our daily and nightly entertainment options and the friendliness of our staff, especially our Star Friends. In Iberostar we want our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star” as our entertainers made you feel during your stay.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; we will be pleased to welcome you back.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,241
    913
    287
    127
    56
See reviews for
963
1415
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Staff is great, not too far from airport, casino next door, accomodations comfortable. The resort is spacious and well maintained.The food is not gourmet but still very good and varied, you have to find something you enjoy. Mexican restaurant was fun, get the beef kabob tacos you won't be dissappointed, the Seafood restaurant was also good, enjoyed the white wine. No sports bar, no 24 bar so work around that. Pool is kept clean, algae develops but is cleaned off daily. The activities are plentiful, take advantage of something you normally would not do (archery, yes I won). See Elvin at the pool bar, Nelson at the buffet, ask Lorenzo for a special omlette, Popie, Dee Dee and GG like to get you involved. Tipping is included, BUT a few US$ go a long way.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more of a view and more privacy on the balcony.Bldg 5 is more isolated and near p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We want to express how happy we are to read that you had a memorable stay at our hotel premises and facilities. We appreciate your positive valuation about the service provided by our staff members and the beauty and cleanness of our hotel premises. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service and an exquisite gastronomy to our beloved “stars”. We have congratulated Elvin, Nelson, Lorenzo, Popeye, GG and DD for making your holidays especial.
We look forward to welcome you again; please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We (my GF & I, *GAY FRIENDLY) stayed at the Iberostar (Costa Dorado) Feb.14-19, 2013 and we had a wonderful time. No complaints. Thefood was great, the service was excellent, the entertainment was non-stop, the grounds were clean, the gym/spa was up to date, the pool was enourmous with plenty of activities going on all day, the beach was beautiful, and the staff were extremely helpful. The food: was offered 24 hrs a day, from Brazillian cuisine to local dishes; outstanding. The entertainment: every night, gave us no reason to leave the resort. Everynight was a 'theme', with live music, and lot's of dancing, we had a great time! Plus there's a disco that opens @ 11pm everynight, so the party continues into the early morning. The entertainment crew, work their butts off! The grounds: were very clean, take notice of the tropical scent while walking to your room. The room is a little damp, given that it is a tropical island, it kind of comes with territory. The staff: most speak multiple languages and all speak English. Whatever we needed, the staff was very helpful in providing. From a taxi to information, very helpful. The gym/spa: the gym has treadmills, elipticals, bicycles, nautilus, and weights. The spa offers a full menu of services. The beach: we're from Boston, we have seaweed and red tide up here. The water is refreshing but, rough. There is some seaweed but, that comes with the territory. There was a wonderful seabreeze and plenty of chairs. The pool: very big and a section for kids. Much hotter by the pool, no seabreeze! Plenty of chairs around the pool. We went and ventured out to Carnival, Damajagua, and to the Casino next door. The Carnival was a bit interesting. Glad we got to experience it. Damajagua was incredible. This was very exhausting and energtic! We hiked for approx. 6 miles on the day, slid down waterfalls, and jumped off cliffs! The Casino's small but, right next door to the hotel. It was good to experience it. Couple of tips before you go: TIP! The entertainment team (GG, Kerling, Joselito, Aris, Beanie, & Babyface)work their BUTTS OFF! Get to know them when you first arrive, take notice of how hard they work, & TIP THEM! The bartenders, work hard, TIP THEM! The maids, will keep your fridge stocked everyday as long as you TIP THEM everyday! No tip, no spring water, it's simple! Bring dollar bills for tips. We brought used baseballs, Crayola markers, & notebooks to pass out to the local children. When I gave a kid a baseball, it was like giving them gold! My GF & I, were completely accepted & comfortable. We never ran into any type of difficulties. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you and your friend were very satisfied with your experience during your stay due to the excellent service provided by our staff, our varied gastronomy, the wide options for daily and nightly entertainment and the beauty of our premises. In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts those are part of our guiding principles to ensure our valuable costumers memorable holidays. We have congratulated GG, Kerling, Joselito, Aris, Beanie, and Babyface whose service made a difference during your visit.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I spent a week here in Feb. The resort is nicely designed and beautiful, but not as nice as others where we have stayed. Since this was on the Atlantic side of the island, the wind was often strong enough that sitting on the beach was not pleasant. However, there were plenty of lounge chairs in places where one could still see the ocean. The pool is unusually large. The room was fine and the food was fresh and usually very good. (We missed out on the special restaurants due to my illness.) I appreciated having a doctor on site since on the fourth day I got very sick and eventually was transferred to the clinic in town. The on-site doctor was very nice as were all the front desk staff. Considering the reasonable price this was a good value, but if I were to go back to the DR, it would probably be to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holiday and for taking time to write a review about your experience.
We are very pleased to read that you have had an excellent experience during your visit despite the medical issue. We are thankful for your motivating words about the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our beloved guests.
We are already willing to welcome you back, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I traveled to this resort last year with a group of four and was not overly impressed with the staff or attention to details on most items. However while a bit hesitant of returning my wife and I returned due to good flight times and great pricing. All I can say is this year was a complete opposite experience. Our flight through Sunwing was 5 hours late leaving us to arrive at the hotel around 3:30 am. The staff at reception were quite speedy with check in and also offering a bell hop with golf cart to take guest directly to their rooms. From the very first encounter with the staff the next day until our time of check out the staff was more than friendly and helpful. The staff all work incredibly hard for the guests from the grounds crew keeping the property in magnificent condition to the bartenders looking after all customers in a quick time frame. Weather for the last week of February was perfect 7 days of sun and no rain at all. I cannot wait to go back to this resort next year and highly recommend this resort to all.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your second experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and for your loyalty when choosing our hotel for your holidays.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we are glad to hear that the friendliness of our staff members not only surpassed your expectations based on your first visit to our hotel but also ensured you a pleasant holiday as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A holiday well worth the money, My wife and I got married here in may 2004, all I can say is go, the lion king show is fantastic our children were in it and they are still doing the show today, everything is first class, I know people who stayed last year and they agree it is the best, the food I so good, the staff are so friendly, our children loved the kids club which used to be run by big mama and jessy, book it and go you will love it. Go on a trip to ocean world you will be amazed. we did not go in may 2012 it was 2004, you cant change the when did you travel section.

Room Tip: get a room opposite the pool if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel to celebrate your wedding.
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we want to express how glad we are to know that you had a memorable holiday among us due to the fact it was on May 2004. In Iberostar we are to ensure unforgettable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit and remain at your disposition for further assistance before your arrival.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth, mn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our trip to the Iberostar Costa Dorada was our second all-inclusive type of vacation. We did our first two years ago at the Barcello Puerta Vallarta, Mexico. The room at the Bacello was a suite (a fantastic one at that). Our room at the Costa Dorada was a room, although a very nice and comfortable room. Comparisons: FOOD: excellent at both. Great baked goods at the Iberostar. Tasty well prepared meals at the buffets and a la carte restaurants on both properties. POOLS: Nice pools at both although I'd give the edge to the Barcello, which had a swim up bar and for a hot climate location, the pool at the Iberostar was rather cool - not a big deal though. ENTERTAINMENT: I'm amazed that these resorts are able to keep the bands/orchestras that they have; the talent is recording studio excellent. I would give the edge to the Barcello for the shows themselves as being more consistently excellent. BOOZE: if name brand, top shelf booze is a deal breaker, the nod would go to Barcello; it's not found at the Iberostar, otherwise the tropical drinks were great at both of them. STAFF: attentive and friendly at both. GROUNDS: both resorts well kept and beautiful. The beach barkers have apparently learned to stay at a respectful distance on the beach at the Iberostar. The Bacello apparently allows a chosen few on the beach. This review is somewhat of a Gala apple to Delicious apple comparison. We had a deal we couldn't refuse at the Barcello; The deal we got on VacationsToGo for the Iberostar was very reasonable and competitive.
Final Grade: Barcello Puerto Valarta = A. Iberostar Costa Dorada, DR = A-

Room Tip: At the Iberostar, you might want to ask for a room closer to the beach if that is important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays and for sharing your feedback with us and the online community through Tripadvisor.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we would like to express you our satisfaction to acknowledge your positive lines about our varied gastronomy, our daily and nightly entertainment options, the beauty and maintenance of our premises and the excellent service of our staff. All those aspects are part of our guiding principles to ensure memorable stays to our beloved “Stars” on vacation.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance before your next visit to any of our more than one hundred Iberostar hotels worldwide.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata
Address: Carretera Luperon km 4 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach location. Approximately 5 minutes drive from Puerto Plata. Elegant Caribbean atmosphere. 2 km from the golf course. Top 5-star luxury. Water sports galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Costa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.