We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation-small resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort to your Saves list
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Rocky Point, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice vacation-small resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The property is not very large and after 2 days you feel like everyone is your neighbor because you've seen them so much. Good thing we came in with a rental car and spent the vast majority of our day away from the resort exploring. Food was adequate but not great. The Brugal rum factory is just a couple miles away as is the trolley to the top of the mountain. Both highly recommnded. Highlight of the trip was in Santiago (about 50 miles) at the La Aurora cigar factory. Being a cigar lover, we got a private tour (my wife and I). Ended up buying 3 boxes of cigars i used to smoke and haven't been able to find for 6-7 years in the states...lol While in Santiago, make sure you go to the top of the large monument in the city center. great views with a couple decent restaurants below that overlook the monument.

Room Tip: the pool area is a bit louder even if the pool closes at 9pm officially. as for something away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    1,140
    434
    170
    113
See reviews for
852
1,221
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The check in area is not organized, lines form at the drop of a dime with out any explanation. For a 4 star, rooms are very small and not well equipped. Entertainment is extremely limited, if you are looking for a resort with some night life, this is not the place to be. The food does not represent a 4 star resort, need more variety and more options of food during the day. The pool was dirty and the beach is terrible, you have to leave the resort to find a nice beach. Too expensive for what it has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This should be rated a 2.5 star hotel, the food was horrible and for all inclusive hotel it was very miss leading since you could only get food from the buffet or grill which was never open when you needed it, the best food was in town of course. And be prepared to bring your own iron because the rooms are not equipped with them. I have been to a lot of resorts but was highly upset with the low standards in the hotel. But on a bright note the beaches were gorgeous!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed on this resort from July 2nd -July 9th (we are still here) and have had nothing but positive experiences during our stay. The resort is clean, the staff is very friendly and make you feel welcome. The service is excellent and prompt. They include you in all the activities occurring around the pool and in the evening. The food is amazing, a lot of selection. You get 3 a la carte restaurant reservations for a 7 day stay and the restaurants are very delicious. The only complaint I have it that when you go to the beach local venders hound you to buy merchandise. Otherwise everything is excellent. Rooms are clean and air conditioned, water pressure is excellent in the room. Very beautiful resort. We will definitely be returning !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown,ont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This visit to Vh was even better then the first! This time I knew my way around the place and the routine of things. Also my daughter came along and it was her first visit to the Island! The first time was the 1st week of April 2012,this time it was last week. June 24th-July 1st. The resort is smaller then some others but thats whats nice about it, you don't have far to go to get to the Beach or the 2 Pools. The ala cartes are all close by as well as the Buffets. There is a handy Beach Bar and Ocean grill Restaurant right at the beach. The food is great as well as the drinks. The service is top notch with a smile. You really get to know the Resort Employees and become fast friends! The animation team, ( those who put on the shows and activities ) really work hard to involve visitors in there shows, programs and dancing. They are good at bringing you out of your shell to experience things you would'nt try at home. But that's what this is about new experiences and having the best time you can in a small amount of time! If you want to just lay back and watch thats cool too. The resort is kept nice and clean and the workers are up early working to clean the grounds before you even wake up the next morning. We had a great time with no complaints at all. The front desk was very helpfull everytime we had a question or needed help with a Taxi to town. They were very quick and easy to deal with and had a very postive attitude. Being my 2nd visit I was able to quailfy to become a member of there fidelity club which has some nice benefits. It's like VIP status. If you check out there website http://www.granventanahotel.com/ you can get more details. One perk is an upgrade to a Jr Suite which we recieved and were very satisfied. They have organized day trips which are safe and affordable. This is a very safe place to stay. they have a beautiful beach you can walk. If you head down the beach west you can shop at the Orange Market. If you go ask for Pablo , his son lives in Kingston ontario canada getting his Education and also ask for Cheapy cheapy, tell them the #1 Canadians sent ya! They love us Canadians! For a reall ygood deal bring Cheapy Cheapy a small bottle of polo colonge. They are good people and will make you a great deal. If you go plan on going into every shop. They have some beautiful oil paintings there for an incredible price. On the beach right in front of the Resort they usually have some wood carvings for sale. Halmarada has been there for years, he will make you a great deal! I have read some reviews that complained about locals staying at the resort over the weekends. This is true during slow seasons during the summer. But what is not true is that they are rude and have no respect. They are there to have a good time like everyone else. I never once experienced any negative effects of them being there. And the service we recieved from the Resort Staff was always upbeat. positive and prompt! They actually gave some added life to the place over the weekend, it was nice to see famlies and people having a great time. If this situation was back home everyone would be drunk and fighting! Never saw anyone that even looked or acted drunk or was causing any problems. We all just had a good time. If you wanted to get away from the Sounds of people playing volleyball or just having a good time you could go to the quiet pool for a more relaxing afternoon or the beach. This is a great resort with great people, food and drinks. It's also what you make it. If you have a positive attitude that will go a long way. Don't forget to tip the maids everyday they work hard for very little as well as the Bar and buffet/ restaurant workers. $2-3 a day is nothing for us and makes you feel good too! If your are asked to play a game go play it. It's alot of fun and the games are short 15-20 Minutes. If you email them the General Manager will get back to you ASAP. Overall just another great experience at Vh Gran Ventana! My friends, family and myself already have plans to come back next year. And one more thing, all our friends said we would bake to death, they were wrong, the weather was excellent. I was hot over 100-110 with the humidity but we never felt hot! It's an island remember! Perfect weather with perfect ocean breezes all week long! Thanks VH! See you next year!

Room Tip: Saona/Catalina buildings to be near the pool/ Buffet and main part of the resort, Beta Building to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Overall, the reviews on here are pretty accurate. I traveled here with my boyfriend for a 5 day stay Wednesday to Monday. By friday the locals start taking over the place and it gets very rowdy and crowded. I recommend not going during the weekend if you can help it. The buffet food was great for every meal with tons of variety. The bar drinks were decent. You can ask for them to make them stronger. The staff was pretty friendly and the place was clean. The beach is nice and pretty quiet.

We did the 12 Waterfalls tour and Paradise Island and I would recommend both. The bus rides there are a pain but both were very beautiful and memorable. The tour guides like to take you to extra stops so you can spend more money in their country.

A nice vacation for a good price but if you are expecting a 5 star resort you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This resort has seen better days but the staff are extremely friendly and the food is good. The buffet restaurant is the best as the A La Carte ones are'nt up to much. I was left wondering if there is a discount to be had if you had several tattoos as it was a game of trying to spot someone that didn't look like a Chav or a "gangsta" such was the array of body art on display. Call me a snob but it gave the place a certain image when everyone you saw was adorned with tattoos that would make a Maurii envious! Entertainment breaks the advertising mis- descriptions act. Beautiful beaches on your doorstep and snorkeling was good even though the reef is mainly dead. Still plenty of fish to see. We went in the middle of June for 2 weeks and the wind on the beach is constant and makes it a bit difficult for watersports.
If you are doing tours, save yourself a fortune and book direct. We did horse riding with lorilar ranch and it was a faultless, highly enjoyable tour. We also did the Puerto Plata tour of the cable car ride, the rum factory, cigar and amber factory ourselves and the taxi from Gran Ventana cost $40 with tickets for the cable car over and above this.
The 27 waterfall tour was quoted at $75 each with First Choice but we got a taxi ourselves from the hotel for $50 for four people and the price for the waterfall tickets are between 8 and 12 dollars each. Best place to buy souvenirs is the flea market on the beach about 15 minute walk to the left from Gran Ventana beach. Volcanic rock Necklace for 100 pesos compared to the original asking price of up to 1250pesos. Avoid booking the dune buggies with James in the playa dorado complex as this was the only tour we did through a middle man who was a really nice guy but the outfit that ran the buggies are a shambles. Our buggy broke down after the gear drive literally fell off, we than were given another buggy which broke down three times and all the buggies had tyres with punctures repaired with wadding stuffed in the holes. Very few steered very well because of warped tyres and axles. You can buy a video of this tour for$30 -don't waste your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.