We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort to your Saves list
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fantastic Hotel in all ways we stayed here in May and could not ask for any thing more everything about this place is a amazing,Our NHS could do with learning a thing or two about cleaning from the staff there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    1,176
    443
    170
    116
See reviews for
874
1,259
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a great time!! It was our first resort together. We were celebrating a birthday and the staff made it so easy for us. Dominican cake and balloons were waiting for us at our table at the Ocean Grill. Also, the sancocho and mero (sea bass) were delicious.

We can't wait to return!! The Gran Ventana has one of our favorite pools with a volley ball net and swim-up bar. Dios, we still miss the chinola margaritas.

Thank You,
Los Lokitos

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My fiance and I visited for two weeks last year in July.

Do not have anything bad to say about this hotel!
Good things:
- Food is amazing
- Staff were helpful, friendly and very welcoming
- The rooms are fantastic, very spacious
- Pool are is lovely
- Animation team is great
- Beach is gorgeous

Can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic place to stay, food very good, staff very good, we have been twice and can honestly say it was well worth the money. The first time we went, although a few years ago exceeded expectations after reading reviews on here. It really was very good. It was good enough for us to go again so I would say its worth a visit if considering the Dominican.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A group of 8 of us stayed here Easter week.Check in wasnt too bad considering the entire bus came to this resort.Our room was over by the quiet pool so we asked to be moved closer to the middle of the resort.No problem.We found the resort very clean and beautiful.The layout of the resort was well planned,everything is a short walk.The buffet was usually the same ,but a lot to choose from and very good.The other three resturants were ok but we liked the buffet.We didnt see the night shows,too tired.The beach was great.Lot of room and the beach vendors didnt bother us much if we said, no thanks. The snorkling was very good once you found the right area to snorkle. Parts of the water were rocky but there were areas that were sandy. There is a great bar and lunch resturant right at the beach.We definitely will be returning to the Gran Vantana . We met so many friendly people there and the employees treated us great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided a week before travelling that we wanted to go somewhere warm, with a fantastic beach and that was going to be an All Inclusive vacation. We decided to go to the Gran Ventana Resort in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. Without a doubt it was the best decision we made together, we vacationed from May 7th - May 14th, 2013. Perfect time to vacation because it's low season for most resorts. Not many people around at all, just the way we like it. We got a direct flight from Charlottetown, PE to the Dominican. We flew with Sungwing and the flight attendants were wonderful and friendly. We had the best room in the whole resort. My boyfriend wanted to be close to the beach and we certainly got lucky. Our room had the most amazing view and we were only 10 seconds from our beach. We went walking along the beach our first day, it was really beautiful. We relaxed on the beach the first couple of days and then decided to do 2 excursions. One was on the Catamaran, we went snorkeling, and the next day we went to Paradise Island. We were very pleased with both excursions, first time snorkeling for both of us. I would highly recommend it, what an amazing experience. The staff were very friendly, and accomodating. The food was so good, we ate a lot and so many things to choose from, we were very impressed. Our room was perfect.

It's the perfect spot to vacation for couples, just to get away from your busy hectic life and enjoy time with each other. Next year when we go on vacation we'll be going for 2 full weeks. We are so happy we went this year.

Room Tip: If you like the beach, this is the resort to go to. It's easier to get an ocean view room when i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed this all inclusive hotel for 2 nights.

1. King bed room is clean and spacious. But there is no fitted sheet in bed only a thin sheet which is pretty small also, so the bed is always in messy. Pillows are pretty poor quality.

2. AC works pretty good in room. Water in bath works good as well. There are water,code,sprite in the fridge which come handy.

3. Wifi is free near the lobby area. It costs US $5 or 150 peso (US 3.64) if you have local currency)per day if you want wifi in the room. The front desk told us it only counts when you log in - which is not true. It expires after 24 hours no matter log in or log out.

4. There is no elevator in the buildings and it takes a long walk from our room (in the corner near the beach side) to the lobby/cafe.

5. The buffet food is pretty good, better than I expected. There are plenty of choices, always keep us full. Those restaurants are joke, only one open per day and you cannot make reservation after 12pm. And the most important is the quality of the food is not impressing at all. Drink is also a joke, all alcohol taste same, watery and too sweet. A little bit disappointing for that.

6. Beach is pretty quite and calm. You only have to ignore those activities sell people.

6. Gym is open from 8am-7pm. All equipments are really old - like 80s. One of the two tradmills is not working on the second day, and there is no screen on another one.

7. Animation crews are never around the towels section in the morning. They show occasionally in the afternoon. Most of the free activities are not recommended and classes for scuba/windsurf/tennis are like once per couple days.


I booked the room from cheaptickets.com. It was a nice stay according to the cost. Don't have to worry about what you eat, what you drink, what you have to spend out of pockets. Just relax and rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.