We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from that beautiful place on Saturday after 3 weeks..I was with a very heavy heart that we left .We loved the place and the charming employees.We always travel to central America 2 or 3 times a year and we know quality in resort and the staff is fine from the porters to the pool boys,.the desk is always helpful . .The Wi-Fi is in public area only and sometimes it is slow but you eventually get it..during my stay I had 2 cards one for 15 days and another for 7 days anytime I had a problem I went to the front desk to get help .the Wi-Fi is public place is sometimes very slow but it is free and we are on vacations..
We had a lot of fun with the animation staff with their silly games and various activities .The animators are funny and very silly.but so friendly José,scoobidoo,carlos,victor,delphie,and the girls. thanks for the fun..they speak Spanish ,English and French.We went to the shows when we felt like it and we saw the Micheal Jackson revue twice and very nice dance shows .
.
.
The food at the buffet is good and varied ,with pasta at lunch and dinner with various sauces,several dishes were delicious and every night there was a big piece of meat like a turkey,roast beef,lamb,pork roast even suckling pig and gigantic fishes.the cakes and crème caramel are yummy. Every meals there is an assortment of tropical fruits.at some night they put on a side table fancy imported cheeses with assorted crackers and breads.I have never seen that at any resort before. on a buffet restaurant menu , . we went to the 3 A la CARTE restaurant ,the ocean gril is good but noisy and rushing you.the octopus and Italian restaurant are excellent with impeccable service and low noise level,.If I remember correctly on Wednesday it is chocolate night and the sweets table is full of delicious chocolate goodies.at the buffet.

W e had a room in Catalina building on the second floor with a partial sea view.The room is spacious with 2 beds,plenty of hot water and a frig with water,soft drinks and beer..the maid was very attentive and the room always cleaned..


We are 2 old ladies (70 and 93) and we enjoyed our vacation and can`t wait to go back
it is too bad for the people with disabilities who could not enjoy the facilities but it is true that the place is not organised to cater to their needs..

IT is a long revue but honest..We should be back in the very near future




.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback. It is just wonderful that you two continue to travel the globe and we are honored that you chose to stay with us. We do offer 4 disabled rooms and handicapped access to all restaurants (except the one on the 2nd floor). We very much look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,444
    1,104
    415
    167
    112
See reviews for
815
1186
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from our 2nd trip to VHGV and God willing we will go again and again. I'm so impressed with this resort.
On arrival we were given the rooms we requested earlier via email, along with rum and a fruit tray (for returning guests). Check in and delivery of our luggage was QUICK. As return guests we were also invited to a cocktail party, where they gave away 4 tickets to SeaWorld.
As usual, the food was excellent all week with lots of variety. We enjoyed the Seafood and Italian this time around... but found we also love the variety at the buffet.
All staff were very friendly and they go above and beyond the call of duty. My husband had a blast with the Animation Crew and played a LOT of games. A lot of them knew us by name by mid week and high fived us and shook our hands every time they passed by.
Talk about a CLEAN resort! I even spotted housekeepers polishing the balcony railings! Unbelievable.
Service was excellent all week - and it was a little busy too being March Break.
Even the beach is kept very clean, and all the grounds as well.
The beach is very nice with snorkeling within feet of the shore.
For an excellent beach massage - look for Amanda.
I only have good things to say about this resort.
If you are thinking of going to POP, check out this resort - you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 2107 and 2109 - both have 2 double beds and the 'newer' tv. These rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent the first week of march at the resort. This was our first trip to the Caribbean, so we were a little apprehensive. Upon arrival we were greated with drinks while waiting to check in. Our room was in the quiet building that was a very short walk past the tennis court, across the parking lot. This building is also where resevations were made for the alacart resturants. The beds were a bit hard but talking to others that have travelled it is quite common down there. The bedding was great though. There is a quiet pool and bar there also. The bartender Jackie said to us it wasn'the quiet bar when she was working, and she did her part to keep that up, always keeping patrons on there toes. The lobby and main pool were very nice. A short walk to the beach and miles of beautiful sand. Four of our seven days snorkelling was an option but the seas got rough near the end so we were unable to go again. There were a lot of vendors on the beach, but they were polite and not pushy. They are great people to talk to and they remember you everyday! The food was great, at the buffet and the alacart . Our favorite was the Itailian, but they were all good. Drinks were plentiful and the booze was good. If you got the attention of a waiter once they kept you filled. If you want a hut by the ocean you better be down there by 7am to stake your claim.
It was a great family experience for us and we are planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Can not understand why people are saying such bad things about this place! Its perfect, the staff are brilliant keeping you entertained, the waiters and waitress's are veryy good and as for the cleaners they did the best job ever! Just wish people would stop moaning, its such a beautiful place with amazing people! You guys must not be at the same hotel! And wish people would stop saying bad words about the vendors. One word for them, lovely! All they are doing is working thats there job to earn the money to keep a living and look after there families! They are so friendly you just have to give them abit of your time to get to know them, me and my mum are friends with some of them and we keep in touch and we cant wait to see them all again in November 2013!! That includes the hotel staff too!! Amazing people, amazing place, i wouldnt change them or the place for the world. I miss it so much, roll on November 2013 is all i can say!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I loved the resort. From the beginning we were greeted by there excellent desk service and the room assigned could not have been better. 2236 is facing the ocean and it's exactly what you would see in advertisements for tropical paradise. Perfect! We took many strolls on the beach and Gran Ventana has the cleanest of the mall. Every morning we would see the staff cleaning up the beach and every evening the chairs were reset. Tip: while they have a "no beach chair reservation policy", it's not enforced so go on the beach early if you want one of the umbrellas. The food is average at best but the selection is very good and every night they have a special night. During the fruits night I had the best mangoes ever. Also, avoid the Ocean Grill. The food there is terrible. You're better off eating at the other restaurants. I would return there any day... Thanks Gran Ventana! And thank you to Ramiro (barman at the quiet pool) and Jeffery (bellboy) who made our stay so delightful! .

Room Tip: If you want piece and quiet, choose building 1. If you want to be close to the ocean choose building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overall, a nice place. We went for the sand and sun and enjoyed it. Very courteous and friendly staff. Beach was always clean and ocean swimable. We tried the ala carte restaurants but found the main dining room buffet quite good. Plenty of variety and plenty of food. The resort was more on the quiet side. Lots of families with kids during the March break. There were several pools including smaller ones for kids. Staff put on shows in evening to keep children and adults occupied. Bars and clubs were a short walk down the road for those who wanted more lively nights. Plenty of day trips for those who want to take a break from tanning. Beaches are public so plenty of vendors. All in all, they were pretty good in that they didn't pester. This was our second trip to the DR (first was Punta Cana) and likely we will go back to the DR given the good experiences so far. Sue and Enzo

Room Tip: If you want quieter evenings, ask for a room in the main complex on far side of pool or in building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The resort was our 2nd visit and this time with friends who were also repeat customers and as the title suggests we knew what we were getting again this time around.We have been to other resorts in Cuba, Mexico and Dominican but the food and service does not compare to Gran Ventana.The food at the buffet was diverse and delicious and the fine dining restaurants were well staffed and they took pride in great presentation of the meals.The weather was so-so, but the resort can not control that, but for some reason people think they can or should.We heard people saying that the resort sucked because it was raining,REALLY,get a grip.The truth is no resort is 100% perfect, but this one really tries to make it memorable.We will be back.

Room Tip: If you want quiet or go to bed early because of kids do not get a room near the entertainment stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.