We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort to your Saves list
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Atherton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Do not take on board to much of the negative comments posted mostly by our friends in the USA. This hotel is well run, staff are friendly, it is clean and confortable and the food is of a high standard, always served with a smile and there are plently of selections.
The rooms, public places and gardens are kept immaculately and are always being cleaned.
In fact I would say that it provides excellent value for money. I'm not sure why some people expect 5 star accomodation but do not pay 5 star $. If you want 5 star get your wallet out and pay for it.
The best thing about this hotel are the staff, they have a smile and a word for everyone. The only negative thing I would comment on are the annoying vendors on the beach ( which is beautiful so its a shame) . They are spoiling it for everyone. This is not particular to this hotel but is widespread in DR in general.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room ask for one. We did and got exactly that . A lovely room near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    1,178
    443
    170
    117
See reviews for
875
1,262
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I read all the reviews before chosing GV and it seemed to be a good choice but I was little disappointed.


Reception: NOT helpful, NOT friendly and definately need customer service training as these people are the first impression of the hotel.

Bellboy: Excellent, friendly and I always went to him with any questions rather than dealing with the rude staff at the front desk. I think his name was Alijandro.

Grounds: Not as big as expected but was kept clean.

Rooms: Do need upgraded, beds hard, pillows small and no where to place suitcases therefore stepping and tripping over them, but very thankful to our housekeeper Maria who also did an excellent job.

Food: We always had a great breakfast, and the lunch and dinner were not too bad but seemed to be the same everyday. Thanks to Freddie for great service!

Bars: You can't get a drink in the lobby until after 4pm threfore spent most of the time at the beach bar and Jackie was great!

Beach: I was impressed when I witnessed the seaweed being cleaned everyday but the annoying vendors became to much to bear for relaxation and I was forced off the beach just to get away from their harrassment.

Pool: We were given a notice upon arrival that saving chairs is NOT tollerated and all towels would be removed by the management but this was not enforced so whats the point?

Entertainment: The nightly entertainment was very poor and there was no daytime animation.

Don't try to go to bed early as the music is very loud and the quiet area (Beata Block) was closed (maybe because of the season)

The best part of Gran Ventana would have to be the staff (besides reception) but I would not return and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments about your recent visit to Gran Ventana. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy all the aspects of your holiday, but we will certainly share your kind words with the staff and we will look into what might have happened with the reception team. We do our best to discourage the saving of pool chairs and to provide entertainment that all of our guests enjoy, but we do realize that this is not for everyone. Each year we continue to make improvements and upgrades throughout the resort, so we hope the next time you visit us you will see even more enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have just come back on Friday from this hotel. For a start our original flight was delayed due to some bright spark interfering with the emergency shute, which legally passengers could not travel until another shute was installed. Therefore instead of flying at 5.30 we had to stay overnight in another hotel and go the followig morning. Anyway, after all that I must say the staff are amongst the friendliest I've known. The food wasn't bad, dinner being the better out the two - breakfast not being that great. The hotel needs a lot of up-grading, especially the bedrooms. No.1 on the list should be softer mattresses and larger pillows. They supply tiny little pillows, which after using them a couple of times, plays havoc with your neck. I never saw much cleaning being done, apart from the rooms and sweeping up. Tables dotted around the place were never cleaned, only cleared of the contents. If you want to avoid kids like the plague then this place is not for you. I nearly booked the Blue Bay Villas, but decided to book the Ventana because I thought it was nearer the shops. However, there wasn't much difference as there were only 3/4 hotels there. Most of the shopping plaza shops were closed and only a handfull open.

Room Tip: If you can and do get a 3rd floor room, try and stick to it because if you change to a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Since this was our first trip out of Canada we did not fully know what to expect. We had heard lots of stories and read a few reviews on trip advisor but the pictures don't tell the whole story. Getting through customs was a new experience for us as well as our first ride on a big jet. The ride to the hotel was quite an experience in itself but pleasant nevertheless. Checking in was a very slow process that could have been better with more staff. It is not like they didn't know when we were coming or how many. The rooms were nice and clean. The beds and the pillows were firm. The staff were great everywhere we went. There was a great variety of food but at times it was lacking flavour. I guess they leave out the salt and spices for a reason. With the pool closing at seven every night it gave little chance to cool down after or activity for children but without lighting or life guards it would be too risky where alcohol is free. Although there was nightly entertainment of sorts it started to late in my opinion. I enjoyed the Karaoke but once again with so many singers and starting at 9:30 not much chance for a good rotation. By the time we get wound up it is over. The magic act was great but with a late start many children would have missed it. The fact that it gets dark earlier should be considered when programming there entertainment. The beach was super clean compared to the resorts around us but the pedlars were annoying to say the least. This is of course no fault of the resort and the security was good in that respect. Every one of the staff including the grounds crew kept busy in spite of the heat and did not stop for the rain. I was impressed by the bartenders and chefs and all staff in general. The front office staff however could be more helpful I think with breaking down bigger bills. The banks at the mall are pathetic so unless you go there with ones and fives you are stuck with far too many pesos to keep track off or get stuck with. Although tipping is not required it is fully expected and appreciated but strangely not in pesos. lol Although the money thing is not a direct reflection on the hotel it is a customer service advice. Maybe trip advisor can advise travellers to take smaller bills. The excursions have no reflection on the resort either so I would only say they are grossly misleading as advertised with many truths omitted although educational and informative. The excursions were costly enough without the high pressure sales pitches along the way tugging at our hearts and wallets. I will go back for sure but will happily stay on the resort. All inclusive with no hidden extras.

Room Tip: I was told to avoid the pool side because of noise but not from the pool itself but the nightly ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Gran Ventana Resort. We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with our hotel, especially as your international trip! We will share your kind comments with the staff, and we will pass along your feedback to our team. Your comments are valuable to us so that we can continue to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We decided to try this hotel, since it's a partner of the 5 star Casa Colonial non-all inclusive hotel nearby, which we loved. VH, however, was a huge disappointment.
~Rooms are really outdated and beds were so hard, we had to ask for an extra cushion comforter just to bear it. Shower didn't work well, low pressure.
~Food - buffet was super limited, especially if you don't eat junk food all the time. We do not eat meat, so we had almost nothing to eat. We complained and the kitchen chef was nice enough to modify some dishes for us and provide more veggie options thereafter. Octopus restaurant had delicious seafood entries, however, hotel has a ridiculous rule that you can't go two nights in a row there. It would be ok if the other two restaurants were open, but they were not. We had to go talk to management again to get a seat. They only let you RSVP in person at the buffet every morning and by 9AM all seats were taken.
~Drinks - yucky slushy drinks and cheap liquor. Only thing that was ok was local President beer.
~Service - when we complained about food and rooms, buffet and restaurant's lack of open seats, they tried to accommodate us, but a guest should not have to do that to get proper service.
~Beach - lounge chair typical woven plastic, not very comfy, beach has some stony and seaweed parts right in front of this hotel, so you may need to walk to the sides beaches.

Overall, we will not return to this property unless they drastically make over their rooms, food and drinks. We stayed at Barcelo next door last year and for a similar cost in their VIP rooms, got much better rooms and a much better buffet selection.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool facing rooms. This hotel's entertainment is near it and is super loud and ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. We are so sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent visit to Gran Ventana. Our sister hotel, Casa Colonial, is a luxury vacation experience, whereas our goal is to offer an affordable vacation for a fun family holiday. The once per week of stay rule in the a la carte restaurants is something that was established many years ago as a way to help us service all of our guests clients. We do our best to inform visitors what our resort is all about on our website, but we do apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a American Thanksgiving getaway and picked Puerta Plata as our destination. Originally booked Be Live hotel, but changed last minute due to the reviews. Hotel was very clean and well kept and staffed. The location is really great, located within a hotel/ condo complex area with a common mall in the middle as well as PizzaHut. We did several trips and was close distance to the center of town (unlike the Rio which is in the middle of nowhere). Beach was well kept with workers cleaning it every morning. Drinks were good, brought our own Bubba Kegs and never had a problem. Negatives: Since we went in November, they only had one restaurant open a night so if you didn't book 4 days in advance you were stuck with the buffet which was not so awesome and lacked variety. Thank goodness for the Pizza Hut down the road. Unfortunately, the beach was ok, if you walked down to the right you would think the ocean was a landfill with tons of trashed washed up and several hotels that lacked upkeep. I've been to Punta Cana and I am used to the beach sellers but Puerta Plata were obnoxious. Every 5 minutes someone would try and sell you everything from jewelry to adventure trips. They even set up seats right next to the entrance to the beach so you had to pass by them. We often did the pool for some peace and quite and walked to the flee market down the beach for our shopping. Nightly entertaining was AWEFUL. Both my boyfriend and I in our 20's and found lots of other guest around the same age and all had similar feelings. They often did Mr. and Mrs Gran Ventana which was degrading and just cheap. Day entertainment was also very stale and did the same thing everyday, bingo, pool volleyball and pool tournament/ ping pong tournament. We had mostly cloudy weather and the entertainment crew did not help guests not want to simply run back to their rooms. Overall, save your money and go with the Iberostar, thought by picking the #3 rated hotel was good enough but would have spent the extra money after all.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite, they don't tell you that the suites are the only rooms that have a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i have just got back from here, and oh my god it is such an amazing place! i can not understand why people are complaining about it, its lovely! all the staff are amazing and very very hard working! the entertainment staff are excellent, they defo make your holiday!! Even the vendors on the beach were friendly, yeah they ask you to buy things, but thats there job! Thats how they make a living, get money to look after there families, youve just gotta understand there life and where they are coming from! all in all everything was perfect, and i am proud to say i will be returning with my mum next year in November and this time were going for 3weeks instead of 2, this is because we enjoyed it that much! i defo reccomend this hotel!
Thinking about visiting the Dominican? GRAN VENTANA is your answer! You will not be let down! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.