We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went to this resort with not high expectations and we were pleasantly surprised. We had read all the previous reviews so we knew that is a little long in the tooth and that it gets busy on weekends because the local populace will fill empty rooms - so we expected that. What we were happy about was how nice the staff were - they are very friendly and not imposing. They remembered what each of us in our party liked to drink and made sure we were happy. The recreation staff were funny and friendly. The rooms were clean and the food was tasty - it got a little boring towards the end of the week, but there was always lots of food and a good selection. The beach was beautiful and even the beach vendors didn't annoy us - they were easily turned away with a "No, Gracias".

Room Tip: We paid for an upgrade to a ocean view room and we were pleased with the view - it was a nice quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Myadran,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are thankful for your sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and we've exceeded yours expectations.

We look forward your next vacations at GPPD.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    571
    370
    206
    186
See reviews for
395
547
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Honestly, when we walked in we were a little disappointed since the resort is a little older than others in the area and than we have stayed at in the past. However, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - happy to transfer our room to an ocean view (everyone knows that can usually be a big argument), helpful in getting a taxi and explaining how much different trips to points of interest should cost, etc. and of COURSE a quick and talented bartending staff. The food was good enough and some nights were excellent. Try the passion fruit and fruit salad - they are DELICIOUS! Two mild complaints - the air conditioning in the room was weak and the pool constantly had cups and straws floating in it... but such is life with a swim up bar and an ocean breeze, I suppose. (As I write this from my desk, I'd happily pick up a few cups and straws to be back floating in that pool!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JToTheMurph,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We're thankful that you took some of valuable time to describe your experience with us. We appreciate your honestly about the resort. Your observations regarding the cups in the pool are very much appreciated, be sure that we will take care of it.

We all hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

so we went with a group of young friends and family. Lots of people who write reviews about this resort say all the good reviews are unreliable. I definitely disagree. Everything about this resort was perfect. Everyone should have a complaint but honestly there was nothing. The service here was better than any service in Canada. I wanna give a personal shout-out to my favourite waiter who went above and beyond Olalia. He made my stay as well as Donkey, Scooby and Janet Jackson. All the employees staff everyone is amazing but these four will definitely be the reason why i return as well as the food. i would give it a higher rating if i could. I am not writing this because the week i went there were a lot of young people, there wasnt any. The time i went last week it was families and elderly people but they gave you no choice but to love it. Thank you for the best week. See you probably in a week cause im still depressed i had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear susanblue2013,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We feel more than glad to know that you've had a wonderful experience in our propriety, it feel excellent to know, that we've provided the best in customer service for you and your family.

I will share your comments with our crew, to congratulate them for their great job.

Hope to welcome back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I want to sttart off by saying that i have nothing negative to say about my trip to grand paradise. The entertainment was phenomenal it was never a dull moment with Scooby, Donkey and Janet Jackson who were so full of energy and always kept our trip exciting. The hotel service was also unbelievable amazing, Olalia a server made sure that in the dining area we were always happy and i have never received such great service in my life. The hotel was always clean and it was the most amazing experience of my life. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Vijura K,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we really appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing GPPD for your recent visit, We're honored you took some of your valuable time to write your experience with us. It's pleasant to know that your experience was as you expected.

We will congratulate Scooby, Donkey, Janet Jackson & Oneida, for their great job.

We all hope to welcome back in the nearest future.

Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first experience both in the DR and at an all inclusive resort, although we have travelled extensively in the Carribbean. After reading some of the reviews on this site, we had a few apprehensions- fortunately unfounded.
The whole vacation was at a bargain basement price- but the level of comfort and service from start to finish was top class.
The flight (with Canjet) was on time, and started with complimentary champagne followed by a hot breakfast. Service was efficient and friendly throughout. Upon arrival in DR , the baggage appeared by the time we were through immigration (incidently tourist cards and exit taxes were included in the all inclusive!!) and the shuttle was waiting. twenty minutes later we were checking in. Small issue with our reservation- dealt with quickly by the efficient and multilingual staff.
We had two rooms, one in B14 and 1 in B15. There was an odd smell in the B15 room. I was able to switch as soon as another room became available. B14 is overlooking the beach- beautiful. The premises are clean and reasonably well cared for. We saw a maintenance team painting, repairing etc while we were there. The rooms are kept clean and the drinks (water and soft drinks) in the fridges well maintained. The maids don't speak much english, so getting a piece of soap or a towel requires a bit of Spanish or sign language or both, but always with smiles.
The food is great. Breakfast includes an omelet station, lots of fresh baked breads, rolls etc, oatmeal, cereals, tons of fresh fruit, and a hot buffet with sausages (great) eggs, fried salami, potatoes and DR specialities like green babana mash. Great choice and better service. Luch and dinner at the buffet always had at least three main choices and numerous side dishes. Dominican cookies and squares galore. Gorgeous and richly iced cakes too1
Can't say enough about the beach. Stunning! and to cap off the waves and sand there is snorkeling very close to shore as well as a reef further out!
Beach vendors were omnipresent but always pleasant and not pushy. For some good excursion prices look out for Jarinson on the beach. We took an all day horseback tour through him for 50 USD pp.
City tours are available by taxi at the front of the hotel. At 40 USD per taxi (up to 5 people) this was the most reasonable. Prices for rum are best at the rum factory.(free admission)
The shopping plaza has some good stores- we particularly like the Larimar J store on the second floor. Th proprietor was so helful and knowlegable we went back several times. You don't need to buy anything expensive- 3 USD for earrings gave us the same attention as more expensive pieces.
Entertainment... well its enthusiastic and fun- don't look for Las Vegas reviews, just enjoy.
Check out took 30 seconds. Shuttle was on time . Flight home was on time and included a hot meal.
All in all great value for money, great holiday, really nice people, and a beautiful venue- who could ask for more.

Room Tip: B 14 has a beautiful beach side view. B 15- odd smell in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Paradise hotel as are all the hotels in the north- beautiful. Sit on the beach soaking up the blue water and white sand for your breakfast buffet. Spacious pools, beach bars, entertainment it has it. The standards in the Dominican completely out perform the European hotels, not just in rooms, views and restaurants but you really feel like you are being specially treated. We had a lovely time at this hotel but I have also stayed at a few others in the complex and all have been fab. The north is beautiful as the mountains give contrast to the beaches. Lots to do, jeep safari, diving, horse riding which is my absolute favourite! there are some good markets, puerta platta is an experience to go back in time. The people are friendly, happy and always smiling and dancing. Get out of the hotel and see the place, take a taxi, rent a car but go out it is a lovely place to discover.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the beach it is lovely to wake up to and the rooms are hudge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

To start off, check in was quick and the staff was pleasant. The rooms were standard and very clean. As far as entertainment goes, Donkey, Scooby, Janet Jackson, Cherry, Manny and Bon Bon were always filled with energy and were the absolute highlight of our trip! They continued to get the guests involved at all times of the day. We give them a lot of credit for the long hours that they work and truly appreciated their efforts in making our stay at The Grand Paradise Playa Dorada an enjoyable experience. The bartenders were always happy to serve us. In particular, Hugo, Jose, Elvis and Hilaria were very friendly. Overall, we had an outstanding vacation and highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for an inexpensive getaway and are looking for a good time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.