We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I came as part of a group of ~25 students post secondary, and we had a lovely time. The staff was generally very good (special thanks to Manuel Angel for being extremely helpful), and tried to make our stay enjoyable. I found the food to be better than I expected, with a few things at each meal that stood out.

Drink service was very hit and miss. We were generally limited to picking up two drinks at a time. It would have been nice to be able to grab 4 or 5 to help serve our tables so that we didn't need to swarm the bar, and the bartenders were sometimes quite abrasive.

The water in our room was cut off in the middle of the night, which unfortunately coincided with my roommate getting rather ill. The staff was fairly helpful in getting us into a new room, though we had to wait a rather long time for the house staff to let us in. The whole process took about an hour, which would not have been a big deal, except for the sickness. The rooms were generally very good, and the staff left us a fruit tray the next day, which was appreciated.

For a group of college kids looking to have a good time, without getting too wrecked, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 534RichardV

On behalf of Grand paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are thankful for your sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and that you have enjoyed with our friendly staff. We will take remark about the points that you've mentioned.

We look forward your next vacations at Grand Paradise.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    572
    370
    206
    187
See reviews for
395
549
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a great time in Grand paradise, the service was flawless, very professional and friendly. Mr Roberto Ramos made sure our stayed there was perfect, my wife and I do not normally go back to the same hotels but we will definitively will go back to grand paradise.

We Would recommend it to anyone, we didn't have the chance to thank Mr Ramos but hopefully he will read this. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Aldry_13,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you've enjoyed your vacations at GPD. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property. We will congratulate Roberto Ramos for his great job.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the 3rd time we've been at this resort, this time for 2 weeks. Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. Good food. The pool and area needs some major work, painting and repairs. The stools at the swim up bar are either broken and/or very rusty. Stick to the beach, which is lovely. Careful if u sit on the stools.. Alcohol is very watered down, so stick to beer. But all in all, we had a great time. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sandy B,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We feel more than proud to read your thoughtful comments about your 3th visit to your second home. It 's a honor to welcome you and your families every time. Be sure that we will take remark about the points that you mentioned..

We all look forward to see you in the nearest future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The best vac..in the dominican .because at restaurant the service was so good that i met a beautufull lady that today is my wife.abd so happy .cause we were a group of 10 person and Mister Roberto Ramos given us a very good service...we feel really amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Stevenmoore,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is very gratifying to know that you have had an amazing vacation at our resort. We truly appreciate your comments, be sure that we will congratulate Roberto Ramos for his hard work and performance.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were at Grand Paradise from March 18-25th. Lovely beach, beautiful grounds, clean and comfortable rooms. The resort has been around for awhile and is in need of some touch ups, but the staff were working on painting and repairs throughout the week.

I found the food very good, especially the chicken and fish. They had lots of fresh fruit and the homemade bread and rolls were fresh, made daily I expect. The staff were polite, competent and hardworking. I found the front desk very accommodating, we were originally assigned to a fourth floor room that was too much for my travelling companion who had asthma. They shifted us to a first floor room right away.

One thing that was annoying was their policy of only allowing one key per room. We believed it was to prevent people from running the air conditioner when they were not in the room. Another card with a magnitic strip would not work to keep the air running.

Overall we had a great time. Kudos to Manny and Donkey and the other entertainment staff for their efforts to make our visit more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms do not have a balcony, although they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Gardenewilson,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you've enjoyed your vacations at our hotel. It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay. We are thankful for writing your experience and for letting the community know about your great vacations. We will congratulate Manny & Donkey for their great performance.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This resort was fantastic , i enjoy my staying and the servise was Great thanks to Roberto Ramos that help us with everything we need!!. The stuff was pretty amaizing too , they were always ready in case we ask for something it was like if the knew we needed it something lol..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear HersonNunez,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit, we want to thank you for your kind comments regarding our property and services.

We will extend the congratulations to Roberto Ramos, for his great job.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was my first time in the Dominican Republic and I had read reviews, watched videos, etc. so when I arrived I was not surprised. I have not travelled much so I was not aware of certain questions to ask upon check-in and the front desk is definitely not going to offer advise. The resort building is tired looking but the rooms are clean, plenty of food, atmosphere in dining area pleasant as overlooks the ocean. However; upon arrival the front reception hands you an envelope with key, etc. and does not smile or explain anything. The staff everywhere else is friendly. Upon check-out the staff tried to find a way to squeeze a buck - I could get into details but it's not worth it. The fine print doesn't explain everything and the aggression when checking out is unbelievable and humiliating. As a woman travelling without a male I felt somewhat intimiated. I planned to come back with my family until I was checking out and I would not recommend this hotel because it left me with a sour taste and a feeling that the people can be very cruel at that resort. Again, it was front desk but they give the first and last impression. We were greeted with a nice cold drink when we arrived but it was NOT the employees behind the desk offering the drink. The two exceptional employees are Manny - who was always energetic, never slept, very friendly and another worker but I did not get his name - he was Manny's sidekick. The attitude at the front desk was disappointing and I was accommodating, tipping and smiling until I knew I was being scammed for more money!!!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet then select a room away from the pool. If you don't mind hearing the entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Charles_4_13,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are discouraged to know that your recent experience with us fell short of your expectations. We value your comments & observations regarding the attitude of the reception staff, as they are vital feedback to improve the services to better serve you and other customer.

New procedures are in place to avoid similar situations to affect other guests and of course yourself on your next visit. Please be sure that we will congratulate Manny for his great job.

We hope this experience does not deter your from returning and give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.