We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Wolfville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were at Grand Paradise from March 18-25th. Lovely beach, beautiful grounds, clean and comfortable rooms. The resort has been around for awhile and is in need of some touch ups, but the staff were working on painting and repairs throughout the week.

I found the food very good, especially the chicken and fish. They had lots of fresh fruit and the homemade bread and rolls were fresh, made daily I expect. The staff were polite, competent and hardworking. I found the front desk very accommodating, we were originally assigned to a fourth floor room that was too much for my travelling companion who had asthma. They shifted us to a first floor room right away.

One thing that was annoying was their policy of only allowing one key per room. We believed it was to prevent people from running the air conditioner when they were not in the room. Another card with a magnitic strip would not work to keep the air running.

Overall we had a great time. Kudos to Manny and Donkey and the other entertainment staff for their efforts to make our visit more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms do not have a balcony, although they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Gardenewilson,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you've enjoyed your vacations at our hotel. It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay. We are thankful for writing your experience and for letting the community know about your great vacations. We will congratulate Manny & Donkey for their great performance.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    620
    401
    221
    201
See reviews for
428
614
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This resort was fantastic , i enjoy my staying and the servise was Great thanks to Roberto Ramos that help us with everything we need!!. The stuff was pretty amaizing too , they were always ready in case we ask for something it was like if the knew we needed it something lol..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear HersonNunez,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit, we want to thank you for your kind comments regarding our property and services.

We will extend the congratulations to Roberto Ramos, for his great job.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was my first time in the Dominican Republic and I had read reviews, watched videos, etc. so when I arrived I was not surprised. I have not travelled much so I was not aware of certain questions to ask upon check-in and the front desk is definitely not going to offer advise. The resort building is tired looking but the rooms are clean, plenty of food, atmosphere in dining area pleasant as overlooks the ocean. However; upon arrival the front reception hands you an envelope with key, etc. and does not smile or explain anything. The staff everywhere else is friendly. Upon check-out the staff tried to find a way to squeeze a buck - I could get into details but it's not worth it. The fine print doesn't explain everything and the aggression when checking out is unbelievable and humiliating. As a woman travelling without a male I felt somewhat intimiated. I planned to come back with my family until I was checking out and I would not recommend this hotel because it left me with a sour taste and a feeling that the people can be very cruel at that resort. Again, it was front desk but they give the first and last impression. We were greeted with a nice cold drink when we arrived but it was NOT the employees behind the desk offering the drink. The two exceptional employees are Manny - who was always energetic, never slept, very friendly and another worker but I did not get his name - he was Manny's sidekick. The attitude at the front desk was disappointing and I was accommodating, tipping and smiling until I knew I was being scammed for more money!!!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet then select a room away from the pool. If you don't mind hearing the entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Charles_4_13,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are discouraged to know that your recent experience with us fell short of your expectations. We value your comments & observations regarding the attitude of the reception staff, as they are vital feedback to improve the services to better serve you and other customer.

New procedures are in place to avoid similar situations to affect other guests and of course yourself on your next visit. Please be sure that we will congratulate Manny for his great job.

We hope this experience does not deter your from returning and give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada was the first resort I have ever been too. My first impression on day one was that it was a very clean and friendly place. From the time we walked in everyone was very welcoming and hospitable. The resort is smaller than some of the other in Playa Dorada but the entertainment staff makes up for that. Our most exciting and memorable times were spent by the pool with Manny who made everyday more enjoyable than the last! In my opinion Manny and the entertainment staff made the resort what it was. The entertainment staff made us feel like we were royalty and they would even sit with us and talk about everything and nothing. The food is acceptable but personally I found it hard to eat the same food for 7 days. On the other hand the food service staff made up for that with impeccable service with that same feeling or gratitude for your business. I would recommend this resort to families and anyone looking for a clean and safe environment in paradise.

Room Tip: The stairs to the rooms on the third floor got quite annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Cullen M,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are truly thankful for your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay with us and also that you have had an enjoyable time with the company of our entertainment staff, we will be more than glad to share your comments with them and with staff from the restaurant.

We look forward your next vacations at GPD.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This resort is in a fantastic location. Beautiful beach, great for kids if it is not too windy. The staff are fantastic and friendly. The buffet is great, hot food, great taste but the variety could change during the week. Bars are awesome, staff is entertaining forsure! Only downfall is that the rooms, although spacious in a one or two bedroom suite, are ill equiped and stuff is broken or not working. The whole place has so much potential, but needs some help. Nevermind though because the most important is good food which it has, good beach which it has, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Nicole N,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit. We are honored to learn of your kind comments regarding the property and staff . We delighted that you have enjoyed stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great time at Grand pasadise , the service was great the food , and the people , we want to thanks to Mister Roberto Ramos for been the person who made our stay confartable in the Dominican Rep , we will recomend this Resort to friends and family and tell then to look for mister Ramos because he really does a great job with his team , thanks once agian for the great time ,.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear German,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you´ve enjoyed your vacations at our resort. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property.

We´ll congratulate Roberto Ramos for his great job and performance.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay, clean, nice beach, mixed bunch of people, food was always the same tho that could be a little better, Maybe a little bite more variety. Snorkeling was great. Bartenders were always fun and more then willing to tend to you. I didn't like that they only provided you with one room key, But getting another one was never a problem. Beach party is a must if ya wanna dance. Very close to shopping and off resort bars, witch are very safe. All in all the trip was great and as I said manny defiantly made my vacation more enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Tirimaco,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is very gratifying to know that you've had an amazing vacation at our resort. We truly appreciate your comments, be sure that we will take note about your remark regarding the variety of food. We will congratulate Manny for his excellent work and performance.

Thank you for sharing your opinion at this web site. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.