We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Front Desk Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was my first time in the Dominican Republic and I had read reviews, watched videos, etc. so when I arrived I was not surprised. I have not travelled much so I was not aware of certain questions to ask upon check-in and the front desk is definitely not going to offer advise. The resort building is tired looking but the rooms are clean, plenty of food, atmosphere in dining area pleasant as overlooks the ocean. However; upon arrival the front reception hands you an envelope with key, etc. and does not smile or explain anything. The staff everywhere else is friendly. Upon check-out the staff tried to find a way to squeeze a buck - I could get into details but it's not worth it. The fine print doesn't explain everything and the aggression when checking out is unbelievable and humiliating. As a woman travelling without a male I felt somewhat intimiated. I planned to come back with my family until I was checking out and I would not recommend this hotel because it left me with a sour taste and a feeling that the people can be very cruel at that resort. Again, it was front desk but they give the first and last impression. We were greeted with a nice cold drink when we arrived but it was NOT the employees behind the desk offering the drink. The two exceptional employees are Manny - who was always energetic, never slept, very friendly and another worker but I did not get his name - he was Manny's sidekick. The attitude at the front desk was disappointing and I was accommodating, tipping and smiling until I knew I was being scammed for more money!!!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet then select a room away from the pool. If you don't mind hearing the entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Charles_4_13,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are discouraged to know that your recent experience with us fell short of your expectations. We value your comments & observations regarding the attitude of the reception staff, as they are vital feedback to improve the services to better serve you and other customer.

New procedures are in place to avoid similar situations to affect other guests and of course yourself on your next visit. Please be sure that we will congratulate Manny for his great job.

We hope this experience does not deter your from returning and give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    545
    573
    370
    206
    189
See reviews for
397
551
76
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada was the first resort I have ever been too. My first impression on day one was that it was a very clean and friendly place. From the time we walked in everyone was very welcoming and hospitable. The resort is smaller than some of the other in Playa Dorada but the entertainment staff makes up for that. Our most exciting and memorable times were spent by the pool with Manny who made everyday more enjoyable than the last! In my opinion Manny and the entertainment staff made the resort what it was. The entertainment staff made us feel like we were royalty and they would even sit with us and talk about everything and nothing. The food is acceptable but personally I found it hard to eat the same food for 7 days. On the other hand the food service staff made up for that with impeccable service with that same feeling or gratitude for your business. I would recommend this resort to families and anyone looking for a clean and safe environment in paradise.

Room Tip: The stairs to the rooms on the third floor got quite annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Cullen M,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are truly thankful for your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay with us and also that you have had an enjoyable time with the company of our entertainment staff, we will be more than glad to share your comments with them and with staff from the restaurant.

We look forward your next vacations at GPD.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This resort is in a fantastic location. Beautiful beach, great for kids if it is not too windy. The staff are fantastic and friendly. The buffet is great, hot food, great taste but the variety could change during the week. Bars are awesome, staff is entertaining forsure! Only downfall is that the rooms, although spacious in a one or two bedroom suite, are ill equiped and stuff is broken or not working. The whole place has so much potential, but needs some help. Nevermind though because the most important is good food which it has, good beach which it has, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Nicole N,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit. We are honored to learn of your kind comments regarding the property and staff . We delighted that you have enjoyed stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great time at Grand pasadise , the service was great the food , and the people , we want to thanks to Mister Roberto Ramos for been the person who made our stay confartable in the Dominican Rep , we will recomend this Resort to friends and family and tell then to look for mister Ramos because he really does a great job with his team , thanks once agian for the great time ,.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear German,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you´ve enjoyed your vacations at our resort. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property.

We´ll congratulate Roberto Ramos for his great job and performance.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay, clean, nice beach, mixed bunch of people, food was always the same tho that could be a little better, Maybe a little bite more variety. Snorkeling was great. Bartenders were always fun and more then willing to tend to you. I didn't like that they only provided you with one room key, But getting another one was never a problem. Beach party is a must if ya wanna dance. Very close to shopping and off resort bars, witch are very safe. All in all the trip was great and as I said manny defiantly made my vacation more enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Tirimaco,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is very gratifying to know that you've had an amazing vacation at our resort. We truly appreciate your comments, be sure that we will take note about your remark regarding the variety of food. We will congratulate Manny for his excellent work and performance.

Thank you for sharing your opinion at this web site. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our second visit to this resort and we have enjoyed this trip as much as the year before. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you comfortable. We enjoyed the Entertainment crew, Chispa is a wonderful ambassador for the resort and some of the other animation crew could do well to follow his example.Every time we saw Chispa we talked and he always had a warm smile and gentle greeting for us. Ruth the evening greater at the buffet was a warm and charming hostess going out of her way to make things enjoyable. Osvaldo (Obie) and Jose and their team at the pool bar or the beach bar are a wonderful asset to the resort and we became good friends and feel like part of the family. I was disappointed by the fact that the resort was not using Brugel rum as the rum they used was ok, it was not as enjoyable. Mildred,our maid was very pleasant to talk to and she was very thorough and our fridge always had soft drinks and bottled water. The food at the buffet is always plentiful and managed well so you don't find empty serving trays on the buffet. The grilled food is tasty and hot. This year we got a surprise when roasted turkey was served and it was very well cooked, our complements go to the entire kitchen staff. I would like to see the menu changed at Edens so a few different items to chose from are available. The beach at this resort is incredible, in the mornings there is a crew that clean the area of fallen leaves and other items and the seaweed is cleaned up as well. I would like to see some newer loungers for the beach front as the chairs are starting to show their age. Over all we really enjoyed our trip and are looking forward to next years trip. We traveled from Feb.28 to March 14/13.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Four of us have just arrived home to snowy, cold Southern Ontario. We had read mixed reviews before going to this hotel so our expectations were to make the most out of whatever came our way and that we did. We had a blast! The food could be bland and repetitive but we never went hungry. The staff was friendly, helpful, prompt and courteous. We treated them well and they treated us well. The pool got dirty one very hot day after everyone swam in it with their sunscreen and oils still on. Oh well, we showered in the room before dinner and were clean. Imagine! We enjoyed the entertainers with special shout outs to HAPPY MAN, MANNY, CHISPA and DONKEY. We met some interesting people from near and far, learned about other countries and cultures. We saw beautiful sunsets and sunrises. We enjoyed our time together.

Room Tip: We didn't choose our room. I have bad arthritis so when we go back next year, I would ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Jbean_13,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit, on behalf of Grand Paradise, we sincerely appreciate it.

We're honored, that you took some of your valuable time to write you experience with us. We really appreciate that you recognize the hard work of our employees, be sure that we will congratulate Happy Man, Manny, Chispa, & Donkey for their excellent performance.

We all look forward for you next visit in our resort.

Best regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.