We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Muskoka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our second visit to this resort and we have enjoyed this trip as much as the year before. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you comfortable. We enjoyed the Entertainment crew, Chispa is a wonderful ambassador for the resort and some of the other animation crew could do well to follow his example.Every time we saw Chispa we talked and he always had a warm smile and gentle greeting for us. Ruth the evening greater at the buffet was a warm and charming hostess going out of her way to make things enjoyable. Osvaldo (Obie) and Jose and their team at the pool bar or the beach bar are a wonderful asset to the resort and we became good friends and feel like part of the family. I was disappointed by the fact that the resort was not using Brugel rum as the rum they used was ok, it was not as enjoyable. Mildred,our maid was very pleasant to talk to and she was very thorough and our fridge always had soft drinks and bottled water. The food at the buffet is always plentiful and managed well so you don't find empty serving trays on the buffet. The grilled food is tasty and hot. This year we got a surprise when roasted turkey was served and it was very well cooked, our complements go to the entire kitchen staff. I would like to see the menu changed at Edens so a few different items to chose from are available. The beach at this resort is incredible, in the mornings there is a crew that clean the area of fallen leaves and other items and the seaweed is cleaned up as well. I would like to see some newer loungers for the beach front as the chairs are starting to show their age. Over all we really enjoyed our trip and are looking forward to next years trip. We traveled from Feb.28 to March 14/13.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    599
    379
    210
    196
See reviews for
414
576
80
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Four of us have just arrived home to snowy, cold Southern Ontario. We had read mixed reviews before going to this hotel so our expectations were to make the most out of whatever came our way and that we did. We had a blast! The food could be bland and repetitive but we never went hungry. The staff was friendly, helpful, prompt and courteous. We treated them well and they treated us well. The pool got dirty one very hot day after everyone swam in it with their sunscreen and oils still on. Oh well, we showered in the room before dinner and were clean. Imagine! We enjoyed the entertainers with special shout outs to HAPPY MAN, MANNY, CHISPA and DONKEY. We met some interesting people from near and far, learned about other countries and cultures. We saw beautiful sunsets and sunrises. We enjoyed our time together.

Room Tip: We didn't choose our room. I have bad arthritis so when we go back next year, I would ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Jbean_13,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit, on behalf of Grand Paradise, we sincerely appreciate it.

We're honored, that you took some of your valuable time to write you experience with us. We really appreciate that you recognize the hard work of our employees, be sure that we will congratulate Happy Man, Manny, Chispa, & Donkey for their excellent performance.

We all look forward for you next visit in our resort.

Best regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The beach was beautiful! The "resort" was out of date. They "upgraded" us (4 women) to an "apartment". Which was 2 rooms, with 2 beds (total), 1 bathroom, and a small kitchenette. 1 bathroom and 4 women! 2 of whom got sick from the food and occupied the 1 bathroom. There was little selection for food. We had 2 a la cartes, they were terrible. It smelled. The resorts along the beach are absolutely worth their ratings. The phone didn't work in the room. We had to keep going down to front desk. Staff randomly walked into our room. Housekeeping came twice in one day. They are very unorganized and nobody knows what another person has told you. The people on the beach selling stuff are extremely pushy. Our "apartment" was right in front of the nightly karaoke, music, dancing, etc. Overall: spend the extra money and go to a nicer resort. NOT WORTH 4 STARS!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We returned from Grand Paradise on March 5th after a wonderful week of sun, sand and surf and relaxation.

We knew when we booked that we would not be staying in the lap of luxury and that we should not expect all the fancy things that very high end, 5+ star resorts offer - NO ONE SHOULD at the price that this resort is offered at.

What we received was a nice and comfortable room (the bed was truly very comfortable- often resort beds are no better than a plank of wood with a little bit of stuffing over top and dated bed linens) with decent food (the buffet was quite good - better than the a la cartes), ample alcohol (not premium brands but certainly it does what alcohol is meant to do), warm water (the pool was just fine and the ocean was lovely) and sunshine (6 of 7 days were AMAZING, 1 day of rain).

Each of us has our own preferences but we were very pleased and feel that the resort and all of its offerings was exceptional value for our money and that the vacation was exactly what it was intended to be.

We'd go back, if asked, but we really do plan on doing a bit more exploring of other tropical destinations so it won't be our next trip.

Happy holidays to all.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view suite - room 1616.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have always read reviews and have always been skeptical, but this resort has definitely caused me to write a review, as honestly as possible.

There were some very unfortunate instances. For example, our room was supposed to be OCEANVIEW. However, the only view we received was of the trees that lay before the ocean. That wasn't as bad as the other things to follow. We had NO AIR CONDITIONING for two nights, it was irreparable, so we had to wait for the second night or move to another SUPERIOR OCEANVIEW room. We went to check out the room and it was smaller than the one that we had, we tried to rationalize with them that it didn't make sense for us to move to a smaller room, and their rationale was "ITS LABELLED AS OCEANVIEW". Nonetheless, we slept in that room that one night until our air conditioner was fixed.

When we were staying there we noticed BUGS, very tiny bugs that collected in the bathroom, particularly around the sink. I hadn't noticed them at first because once the light is on they scurry. One our third day we received a notice under the door for fumigation within the next couple of days. However, there was NO FUMIGATION because the bugs multiplied, and by our last day, I was finding 20-30 every morning and evening. They were out of rooms for the majority of the time, it was so extreme that people who had booked this resort had been moved to a two star because of the over capacity. Nonetheless we had to stay in our room.

Food was terrible, a la carte service was terrible. We had to ask for our soup during a la carte 3 times and we waited for our plates to be collected for maybe one hour after we were done. The Buffet always had the same food, SAME PASTA, SAME SAUCE, EVERYDAY! There was supposed to be a theme in the buffet but the food rarely changed, and the quality was not average, it was certainly below.

The Beach was good though, the pool was sometimes dirty, but tolerable. Some staff was very helpful and nice but others not so much. Certainly NOT a FOUR STAR. I would say it is a two. I am not usually picky but this has certainly left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I found every single worker to be so helpful and friendly, you would even get "hola's" and smiles from even the gardeners and maids. The entertainment/bartenders were also constantly energetic and fun. The resort itself was well-maintained and clean. A particular worker that stood out was Many, who was a bartender/entertainment, and seemed very friendly, energetic, and willing to converse with the guests. Overall i had a FANTASTIC time, and owe it to the amazing services of this resort. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at this resort with my 2 teenage boys from Mar 1-8/13. Its a great resort, the entire staff is very friendly, and not in an overbearing way. From the moment we got there when our bellman Diomidee took our luggage to our room, showing us where everything was on the resort. And he was so helpfull every time we ran into him which was everyday. The food is good, and is what you should expect from a resort, much of the same foods every day, but they do try to do something different on the grill every day. Its not what we are used to here, but neither is their culture. The rooms were kept clean everyday, and our fridge was re-stocked as needed. The entertainment staff is like none other that I have seen. This group of guys are hilarious, and so friendly...and entertaining! Happy Man kept us laughing constantly, and Manny is one of the nicest guys I've ever met, always smiling and never too busy to stop to say hello. Hope to see them both again when we visit next year.
Had a great time! - Sonia

Room Tip: Being friendly with the staff, and handing out tips periodically will always go a long way for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.